Morning eNews http://wkar.org en Michigan Nurses Demand Mandatory Staffing Ratios http://wkar.org/post/michigan-nurses-demand-mandatory-staffing-ratios <p>The Michigan Nurses Association is supporting legislation that would require minimum nurse to patient staffing ratios.&nbsp; Nurses say the measure will save lives and help avoid costly mistakes.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>The Safe Patient Care Act would require a one-to-one nurse to patient ratio in critical care and surgical units, one to three for non-trauma units and one to four in pediatrics.&nbsp; Supporters say hospitals often purposely fail to meet adequate staffing levels to save money, instead imposing mandatory overtime on their nurses. &nbsp;</p> Mon, 04 Mar 2013 21:53:05 +0000 Kevin Lavery 32113 at http://wkar.org Michigan Nurses Demand Mandatory Staffing Ratios Gov. Snyder Declares Financial Emergency in Detroit http://wkar.org/post/gov-snyder-declares-financial-emergency-detroit <p>Governor Rick Snyder is a step closer to appointing an emergency financial manager for Detroit. He announced today that he agrees with a financial review team’s finding that the city faces a financial emergency.</p><p></p><p>The Detroit City Council now has 10 days to get a financial plan in place and ask the governor to change his mind.</p><p>Snyder expects to appoint someone soon after that.</p> Fri, 01 Mar 2013 20:54:29 +0000 Jake Neher 32007 at http://wkar.org Gov. Snyder Declares Financial Emergency in Detroit Friday Fish Fry: A Lenten Tradition http://wkar.org/post/friday-fish-fry-lenten-tradition <p>During the season of Lent, selling fish is big business. It seems that every restaurant with a sign out front promotes fish meals on Fridays, when many Roman Catholics avoid eating meat. Fri, 01 Mar 2013 05:00:01 +0000 Scott Pohl 31923 at http://wkar.org Friday Fish Fry: A Lenten Tradition LSO Plays Music Of New World http://wkar.org/post/lso-plays-music-new-world <p>The Lansing Symphony Orchestra’s MasterWorks 5 concert is Saturday night at Wharton Center. Music of Barber and Dvorak is on the program, as well as a piece called “Ancestral Waters” by Brian Gaber. WKAR’s Melissa Benmark checked in with LSO conductor Timothy Muffitt for a preview of the concert.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Fri, 01 Mar 2013 05:00:01 +0000 Melissa Benmark 31909 at http://wkar.org LSO Plays Music Of New World MSU Press: Book Details Tense Relationship Between U.S. Military, Tribes http://wkar.org/post/msu-press-book-details-tense-relationship-between-us-military-tribes <p>Forty years ago, 200 members of the American Indian Movement took over the town of Wounded Knee, South Dakota.&nbsp; The group was protesting the federal government’s failure to honor various treaties with native tribes.&nbsp; The location was symbolic.&nbsp; In 1890, as many as 300 Lakota Indians were killed at Wounded Knee by the U.S. Army.&nbsp; The standoff lasted 73 days, and claimed three lives.</p> Wed, 27 Feb 2013 05:00:01 +0000 Kevin Lavery 31798 at http://wkar.org MSU Press: Book Details Tense Relationship Between U.S. Military, Tribes Renee Fleming Sings At MSU's Wharton Center http://wkar.org/post/renee-fleming-sings-msus-wharton-center <p>Concerts, Grammys, performing all over the world...opera star <a href="http://knowledgenetwork.alumni.msu.edu/wkar/reneefleming.html">Renee Fleming</a> has done it all. Wed, 27 Feb 2013 05:00:01 +0000 Scott Pohl 31765 at http://wkar.org Renee Fleming Sings At MSU's Wharton Center Under The Radar: Raphael Reviews "Savage Continent" http://wkar.org/post/under-radar-raphael-reviews-savage-continent <p>Book reviewer Lev Raphael has been reading a book about the aftermath of World War II in Europe. It's called <em>Savage Continent</em> by Keith Lowe. He talked about it with WKAR's Melissa Benmark.</p><p></p> Fri, 22 Feb 2013 05:00:01 +0000 Melissa Benmark 31452 at http://wkar.org Under The Radar: Raphael Reviews "Savage Continent" Motown Museum Exhibition Features Girl Groups http://wkar.org/post/motown-museum-exhibition-features-girl-groups <p>At the iconic Motown Museum in Detroit, a new exhibit honors the "girl groups" of the 1960's. It's called "Girl Groups: The Grit, The Glamour, The Glory".</p><p>Included are records, photos and memorabilia from all of the groups you remember…and one you probably never heard of.</p><p>The exhibition remembers The Supremes, The Marvelettes, the Vandellas, and a proficient group of background singers known as The Andantes.</p> Wed, 20 Feb 2013 05:00:01 +0000 Scott Pohl 31399 at http://wkar.org Motown Museum Exhibition Features Girl Groups Ladysmith Black Mambazo Coming To Wharton Center http://wkar.org/post/ladysmith-black-mambazo-coming-wharton-center <p>Ladysmith Black Mambazo is coming to Wharton Center Wednesday to perform their signature South African Zulu-style choral music. They began singing in competitions in the 1970s, and rose to world-wide fame when they appeared on Paul Simon’s album “Graceland” in 1986. They’ve recorded over 50 albums, and their latest tour has a stop in East Lansing. WKAR’s Melissa Benmark spoke to one of the longest-singing members, Albert Mazibuko, about the music his group performs.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p> Tue, 19 Feb 2013 05:00:01 +0000 Melissa Benmark 31324 at http://wkar.org Ladysmith Black Mambazo Coming To Wharton Center Video Crew Documents MSU’s Global Footprint http://wkar.org/post/video-crew-documents-msu-s-global-footprint <p>A team of video storytellers from Michigan State University is wrapping up a two-month journey around the world. &nbsp;The crew is documenting the work of MSU researchers in countries such as China, Brazil and Malawi as they tackle challenges ranging from malnutrition and disease to human organ trafficking. &nbsp;The project is called <a href="http://www.report.president.msu.edu/360/#/360/map/">Spartans Will.360</a>.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p>WKAR’s Kevin Lavery caught up with team leader Jim Peck by phone in Dhaka, Bangladesh a few days ago to learn more.</p> Mon, 18 Feb 2013 00:57:37 +0000 Kevin Lavery 31295 at http://wkar.org Video Crew Documents MSU’s Global Footprint Travel Trend For Parents To Be: Babymoons http://wkar.org/post/travel-trend-parents-be-babymoons <p>Many couples take a trip after their wedding. That trip, of course, is called a honeymoon. But have you ever heard of a trip called a babymoon? Fri, 15 Feb 2013 05:00:01 +0000 Scott Pohl 31000 at http://wkar.org Travel Trend For Parents To Be: Babymoons Lansing Hosts First in Series of Energy Forums http://wkar.org/post/lansing-hosts-first-series-energy-forums <p>The Michigan Public Service Commission is holding a series of public forums around the state to gather input on Michigan’s future energy policy.&nbsp; Lansing was the first stop on that tour.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>The public service commission regulates the state’s utilities.&nbsp; It wants to hear the public’s suggestions and concerns about the direction of Michigan’s energy policy.&nbsp; The commission says its main focus areas are renewables, energy efficiency and electric power choice.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 14 Feb 2013 19:15:21 +0000 Kevin Lavery 31175 at http://wkar.org Lansing Hosts First in Series of Energy Forums Lansing City, Township Open to Talks on Waverly Site http://wkar.org/post/lansing-city-township-open-talks-waverly-site <p>The Lansing City Council has approved putting the former Waverly golf course up for sale.&nbsp; The focus now moves to how the city and Lansing Township will work together on any future redevelopment.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 12 Feb 2013 19:23:22 +0000 Kevin Lavery 31035 at http://wkar.org Lansing City, Township Open to Talks on Waverly Site Museum Exhibit Showcases the Fascination of 3D http://wkar.org/post/museum-exhibit-showcases-fascination-3d <p>Long before movies were invented, people living in the 19<sup>th</sup> century were fascinated with a simple device that brought photographs to life.&nbsp; The stereoscope allowed two images to be viewed as one three-dimensional portrait.&nbsp; Photos from that era depicted nearly every aspect of life, from the familiar to the exotic.</p> Fri, 08 Feb 2013 03:41:32 +0000 Kevin Lavery 30798 at http://wkar.org Museum Exhibit Showcases the Fascination of 3D Environmentalists Demand Action on MSU Coal Ash http://wkar.org/post/environmentalists-demand-action-msu-coal-ash <p>Environmental advocates are calling on Michigan State University to properly dispose of large deposits of coal ash buried for years beneath the campus.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>The group Clean Energy Now says tons of residual toxic ash produced by MSU’s coal-fired power plant were found during a 2007 excavation.&nbsp; Some ash was sent to a landfill, but the group asserts more than 90,000 cubic yards of ash were improperly relocated on university property.&nbsp;</p><p>Clean Energy Now’s Nick Clark says buried coal ash poses an immediate public health hazard.</p> Wed, 06 Feb 2013 21:27:35 +0000 Kevin Lavery 30713 at http://wkar.org Environmentalists Demand Action on MSU Coal Ash MSU Presents Play About Michigan's Upper Peninsula http://wkar.org/post/msu-presents-play-about-michigans-upper-peninsula <p>The Michigan State University Department of Theatre will stage eight performances of a new play called "U.P." starting tonight. Tue, 05 Feb 2013 05:00:01 +0000 Scott Pohl 30569 at http://wkar.org MSU Presents Play About Michigan's Upper Peninsula The Henry Ford Observes Rosa Parks Centennial http://wkar.org/post/henry-ford-observes-rosa-parks-centennial <p>Today marks the centennial of the birth of civil rights pioneer Rosa Parks. Mon, 04 Feb 2013 05:00:01 +0000 Scott Pohl 30467 at http://wkar.org The Henry Ford Observes Rosa Parks Centennial Shatner Brings His World To Wharton http://wkar.org/post/shatner-brings-his-world-wharton <P>William Shatner brings his one-man show to MSU's Wharton Center on January 24th. It's called "Shatner's World: We Just Live In It." WKAR's Melissa Benmark speaks with William Shatner via phone from California, about the show, what he's done in his 60-year career, and what projects he still hopes to do.</P> <P></P> <P></P> <P></P> Tue, 29 Jan 2013 14:44:12 +0000 Melissa Benmark 29684 at http://wkar.org Shatner Brings His World To Wharton Bernero Says Lansing is Strong but Promises More Cuts http://wkar.org/post/bernero-says-lansing-strong-promises-more-cuts <p>Lansing Mayor Virg Bernero will deliver his eighth State of the City address Monday night.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Bernero will speak at the historic Grand Trunk Western Railroad train depot, a century-old landmark that’s undergoing a major refurbishment by the Lansing Board of Water and Light.&nbsp; The mayor will tout the progress of the co-generation power plant that’s rising to life nearby in Lansing’s REO Town neighborhood, as well as other successes. &nbsp;</p> Mon, 28 Jan 2013 21:24:35 +0000 Kevin Lavery 30228 at http://wkar.org Bernero Says Lansing is Strong but Promises More Cuts Senator Wants To Allow Concealed Guns In MI Schools http://wkar.org/post/senator-wants-allow-concealed-guns-mi-schools <p>A Republican state lawmaker says he’ll soon make another attempt soon to relax restrictions on concealed guns in schools. That’s after Governor Rick Snyder vetoed a measure last year that would have allowed teachers, parents and visitors to carry concealed weapons in schools.</p><p> Mon, 28 Jan 2013 14:49:16 +0000 Rick Pluta 30201 at http://wkar.org Senator Wants To Allow Concealed Guns In MI Schools Raphael Talks About Alain de Botton's Newest Book http://wkar.org/post/raphael-talks-about-alain-de-bottons-newest-book <p>In our Under the Radar segment this month, something completely different. Reviewer Lev Raphael and WKAR’s Melissa Benmark talk about sex. In a G-rated kind of way.</p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 25 Jan 2013 05:00:01 +0000 Melissa Benmark 30041 at http://wkar.org Raphael Talks About Alain de Botton's Newest Book Michigan Senate Passes Firearms Dealer Bill http://wkar.org/post/michigan-senate-passes-firearms-dealer-bill <p>The first bill to pass a chamber of the state Legislature this year is one of several dealing with firearms.&nbsp; The Michigan Senate approved the legislation Thursday.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>The bill would change the state’s definition of a “federally-licensed firearms dealer.”</p><p>It's a technical fix, according to supporters of the measure. They say state law isn’t in sync with federal regulations. That means some gun dealers can’t sell certain weapons because of a technicality.</p> Thu, 24 Jan 2013 23:01:36 +0000 Jake Neher 30077 at http://wkar.org Michigan Senate Passes Firearms Dealer Bill Three Gun Bills Move to Michigan Senate http://wkar.org/post/three-gun-bills-move-michigan-senate <p>A bill that would shield some guns in Michigan from federal regulations is going to the floor of the state Senate. A panel of state lawmakers Wednesday passed the bill along with other gun-related measures.</p><p></p><p>The federal government would not be able to regulate guns made and sold in Michigan, as long as they don’t cross state lines. It’s a response to recent Obama administration gun control recommendations.</p><p>Republican state Senator Phil Pavlov says the federal proposals could threaten both the Second Amendment and states’ rights.</p> Wed, 23 Jan 2013 23:16:50 +0000 Jake Neher 30022 at http://wkar.org Bernero Will Seek Re-election http://wkar.org/post/bernero-will-seek-re-election <p>Lansing mayor Virg Bernero says he will run for another term in office this year. Wed, 23 Jan 2013 18:43:43 +0000 Scott Pohl 30001 at http://wkar.org Bernero Will Seek Re-election The War of 1812: Battle At The River Raisin http://wkar.org/post/war-1812-battle-river-raisin <p>MSU historian Roger Rosentreter returns today to help us remember an important battle in the War of 1812: the Battle at the River Raisin, 200 years ago this week. Wed, 23 Jan 2013 05:00:01 +0000 Scott Pohl 29943 at http://wkar.org The War of 1812: Battle At The River Raisin Inauguration Parade Includes Military Spouses From Michigan http://wkar.org/post/inauguration-parade-includes-military-spouses-michigan <p>It's Inauguration Day in Washington. Mon, 21 Jan 2013 05:00:01 +0000 Scott Pohl 29806 at http://wkar.org Inauguration Parade Includes Military Spouses From Michigan Hundreds Of Vehicles Displayed At 2013 Detroit Auto Show http://wkar.org/post/hundreds-vehicles-displayed-2013-detroit-auto-show <p>The <a href="http://www.naias.com/home.aspx">North American International Auto Show</a> returns to Detroit's Cobo Center with a Charity Preview tonight. The show opens to the public tomorrow. Fri, 18 Jan 2013 05:00:01 +0000 Scott Pohl 29683 at http://wkar.org Hundreds Of Vehicles Displayed At 2013 Detroit Auto Show MSU Unveils $1.4-million Renovation Of MSU Union http://wkar.org/post/msu-unveils-14-million-renovation-msu-union <p>The MSU Union Building opened in 1924, and over the years there have been several renovations.</p><p>A $1.4-million dollar project will be dedicated today, sprucing the Union up for another generation of MSU students.</p><p>Dedication events at the renovated MSU Union are from 4 to 7 p-m today. <a href="http://new.livestream.com/msuaalive/unionparty">There will be a live webcast of the ceremonies.</a></p> Tue, 15 Jan 2013 05:00:01 +0000 Scott Pohl 29477 at http://wkar.org MSU Unveils $1.4-million Renovation Of MSU Union Mayors Put Feds Under the Gun for Weapons Reform http://wkar.org/post/mayors-put-feds-under-gun-weapons-reform <p>A coalition of mayors, law enforcement officials and faith leaders is demanding Congress enact three specific gun control measures.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p></p><p>Lansing mayor Virg Bernero and Flint mayor Dayne Walling are part of a national campaign to end gun violence.&nbsp; They want Congress to require criminal background checks for all gun sales, a ban on assault weapons and high capacity magazines and a federal ban on gun trafficking.&nbsp; Mayor Walling says Flint has seen the counter argument to the assertion that guns don’t kill.</p> Mon, 14 Jan 2013 20:18:59 +0000 Kevin Lavery 29579 at http://wkar.org Mayors Put Feds Under the Gun for Weapons Reform Legislature Begins Session With Tension, Protests http://wkar.org/post/legislature-begins-session-tension-protests <p>The 97<sup>th</sup> session of the Legislature opened Wednesday at the state Capitol. The formality of swearing in new lawmakers, choosing leaders, and picking seats played out as protesters picketed outside.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p></p><p> Wed, 09 Jan 2013 23:25:52 +0000 RICK pLUTA 29390 at http://wkar.org Legislature Begins Session With Tension, Protests