bridge http://wkar.org en Bridge Magazine assesses Detroit's Duggan at six months http://wkar.org/post/bridge-magazine-assesses-detroits-duggan-six-months <p></p><p>Among <a href="http://www.detroitmi.gov/" target="_blank">Detroit’s </a>many challenges, one painful reality is the decreasing population.&nbsp;The city’s become known for surreal, sparsely settled ‘urban prairies’ that thousands of residents used to call home.&nbsp; Thu, 26 Jun 2014 17:42:34 +0000 Mark Bashore 55820 at http://wkar.org Bridge Magazine assesses Detroit's Duggan at six months Canadian Consul: new Detroit bridge a priority http://wkar.org/post/canadian-consul-new-detroit-bridge-priority <p></p><p>Canada has a new Consul General in Detroit.<a href="http://can-am.gc.ca/detroit/offices-bureaux/hom_message_cdm.aspx?lang=eng" target="_blank"> Douglas George</a> has more than 30 years of experience in Canada’s foreign service, including working on the creation of the World Trade Organization and representing his country in places like Jamaica and Kuwait. Thu, 26 Jun 2014 17:32:25 +0000 Scott Pohl 55828 at http://wkar.org Canadian Consul: new Detroit bridge a priority Snyder Says New International Bridge Should Open By 2020 http://wkar.org/post/snyder-says-new-international-bridge-should-open-2020 <P>A presidential permit will allow the state of Michigan to wrap up a deal with Canada to build a new international bridge connecting Detroit and Windsor-Ontario.</P> <P></P> <P></P> <P> Fri, 12 Apr 2013 21:44:05 +0000 Rick Pluta 34214 at http://wkar.org Snyder Says New International Bridge Should Open By 2020 Gov. Snyder Asks International Business Leaders To Support New Bridge To Canada http://wkar.org/post/gov-snyder-asks-international-business-leaders-support-new-bridge-canada <p>Governor Rick Snyder is worried Proposal Six on the November ballot would spark a lengthy court battle if it’s passed.</p> Mon, 22 Oct 2012 22:16:53 +0000 Jake Neher 25787 at http://wkar.org Gov. Snyder Asks International Business Leaders To Support New Bridge To Canada Report: If Passed, Bridge Proposal Could Cost Taxpayers Big http://wkar.org/post/report-if-passed-bridge-proposal-could-cost-taxpayers-big <p>If passed, a ballot proposal meant to stall a new international bridge in Detroit could cost Michigan taxpayers tens of millions of dollars. That’s according to a report from the Senate Fiscal Agency.</p> Mon, 15 Oct 2012 22:18:14 +0000 Jake Neher 25426 at http://wkar.org Report: If Passed, Bridge Proposal Could Cost Taxpayers Big LG: Ballot Question Would Not Stop Bridge Project http://wkar.org/post/lg-ballot-question-would-not-stop-bridge-project <p>Lieutenant Governor Brian Calley says a ballot question to require a public vote on a new international bridge won’t stop the project.</p> Fri, 10 Aug 2012 22:39:10 +0000 Rick Pluta 22068 at http://wkar.org LG: Ballot Question Would Not Stop Bridge Project Michigan, Canada Sign International Bridge Span Agreement http://wkar.org/post/michigan-canada-sign-international-bridge-span-agreement <p>Governor Rick Snyder and Canadian Prime Minister Stephen Harper have officially signed a deal to build a second bridge crossing between Detroit and Windsor, Ontario.</p><p>&nbsp;The deal comes after years of battling over creating a second bridge with the owners of the existing Ambassador Bridge pushing to build a second span near their site. &nbsp;The state legislature forbade Snyder from using Michigan taxpayer&rsquo;s money to build a new bridge without legislator&rsquo;s approval. &nbsp;</p><p>But Snyder says Canada will cover the cost of construction.</p> Fri, 15 Jun 2012 21:57:39 +0000 Rick Pluta 19033 at http://wkar.org Michigan, Canada Sign International Bridge Span Agreement Report: Governor Has Plan to Bypass Legislature on Bridge http://wkar.org/post/report-governor-has-plan-bypass-legislature-bridge <p>A published report says Governor Rick Snyder is ready to bypass a reluctant Legislature and move ahead with a new international border crossing in Detroit.</p> Mon, 04 Jun 2012 23:23:59 +0000 Rick Pluta 18403 at http://wkar.org Report: Governor Has Plan to Bypass Legislature on Bridge