referendum http://wkar.org en Report: Electricity Will Cost More if Proposal 3 Passes http://wkar.org/post/report-electricity-will-cost-more-if-proposal-3-passes <p>The campaigns squaring off against each other over Proposal 3 on the November ballot are arguing the economic merits of renewable energy. Mon, 10 Sep 2012 22:56:27 +0000 Rick Pluta 23689 at http://wkar.org Report: Electricity Will Cost More if Proposal 3 Passes MI Supreme Court Orders Three Questions onto Ballot http://wkar.org/post/mi-supreme-court-orders-three-questions-ballot <p>The Michigan Supreme Court has ordered three additional questions onto the statewide November ballot. But it blocked a proposal to allow eight new non-tribal casinos. Wed, 05 Sep 2012 22:28:43 +0000 Rick Pluta 23445 at http://wkar.org MI Supreme Court Orders Three Questions onto Ballot November Ballot Waiting on Word from State Supreme Court http://wkar.org/post/november-ballot-waiting-word-state-supreme-court <p>The Michigan Supreme Court is expected to rule early this week on which questions will appear on the November ballot. The court has to rule this week if the state is going to meet state and federal elections deadlines. Mon, 03 Sep 2012 14:11:26 +0000 Rick Pluta 23304 at http://wkar.org November Ballot Waiting on Word from State Supreme Court Marijuana Ranks High in 2012 Local Ballot Initiatives http://wkar.org/post/marijuana-ranks-high-2012-local-ballot-initiatives <p>The city of Detroit this week officially joined three other cities in Michigan that already placed marijuana questions on their November ballots.</p> Fri, 31 Aug 2012 22:15:31 +0000 Rick Pluta 23232 at http://wkar.org Marijuana Ranks High in 2012 Local Ballot Initiatives MI Supreme Court Rulings on Ballot Expected http://wkar.org/post/mi-supreme-court-rulings-ballot-expected <p>The Michigan Supreme Court is expected to rule Friday on challenges to four questions proposed for the statewide November ballot following a three-hour hearing Thursday.</p> Thu, 30 Aug 2012 22:34:51 +0000 Rick Pluta 23167 at http://wkar.org MI Supreme Court Rulings on Ballot Expected MI Supreme Court Hearing Will Zero in on Ballot Controversies http://wkar.org/post/mi-supreme-court-hearing-will-zero-ballot-controversies <p>The Michigan Supreme Court will hold a hearing Thursday on whether four questions should appear on the statewide November ballot.</p> Wed, 29 Aug 2012 22:38:31 +0000 Rick Pluta 23098 at http://wkar.org MI Supreme Court Hearing Will Zero in on Ballot Controversies Court Orders Collective Bargaining Proposal onto Ballot; Challenge Expected http://wkar.org/post/court-orders-collective-bargaining-proposal-ballot-challenge-expected <p>The Michigan Court of Appeals has ordered the proposal to protect collective bargaining rights in the state constitution onto the November ballot.</p> Mon, 27 Aug 2012 22:41:36 +0000 Rick Pluta 22955 at http://wkar.org Court Orders Collective Bargaining Proposal onto Ballot; Challenge Expected Casino Question Blocked from Ballot http://wkar.org/post/casino-question-blocked-ballot <p>The campaign to allow eight new non-tribal casinos will have to go back to court to get a spot on the November ballot.</p> Mon, 27 Aug 2012 22:38:46 +0000 Rick Pluta 22953 at http://wkar.org Casino Question Blocked from Ballot Supreme Court Decision Helps Pro-Casino Campaign http://wkar.org/post/supreme-court-decision-helps-pro-casino-campaign <p>A group seeking to expand the number of casinos in Michigan has won a big victory at the state Supreme Court.</p> Fri, 24 Aug 2012 22:17:19 +0000 The Associated Press 22835 at http://wkar.org Supreme Court Decision Helps Pro-Casino Campaign Quick Action Ordered on Labor-Backed Ballot Issue http://wkar.org/post/quick-action-ordered-labor-backed-ballot-issue <p>The Michigan Supreme Court has ordered the state appeals court to decide by Monday whether a union-supported referendum gets on the November ballot.</p> Wed, 22 Aug 2012 22:22:10 +0000 The Associated Press 22712 at http://wkar.org Quick Action Ordered on Labor-Backed Ballot Issue Snyder Tries to Scuttle Worker Rights Proposal http://wkar.org/post/snyder-tries-scuttle-worker-rights-proposal <p>Gov. Rick Snyder and Attorney General Bill Schuette are trying to block a statewide ballot initiative aimed at protecting collective bargaining rights for workers.<br>&nbsp;<br>Snyder and Schuette filed court papers on Monday that would scuttle the Protect Our Jobs ballot proposal. The plan would write collective bargaining rights into the Michigan Constitution by placing the issue before voters in the November general election.<br>&nbsp;<br>An appeal was made after the Board of State Canvassers deadlocked 2-2 last week on the ballot proposal by sponsors of Protect Our Jobs.<br>&nbsp; Tue, 21 Aug 2012 22:19:12 +0000 The Associated Press 22651 at http://wkar.org Snyder Tries to Scuttle Worker Rights Proposal Board of State Canvassers Deadlocks on Whether Referendum Goes to Ballot http://wkar.org/post/board-state-canvassers-deadlocks-whether-referendum-goes-ballot <p>The state Court of Appeals appears to be next stop for the petition campaign to reverse Michigan’s emergency manager law.</p> Thu, 26 Apr 2012 22:29:13 +0000 Rick Pluta 16411 at http://wkar.org Board of State Canvassers Deadlocks on Whether Referendum Goes to Ballot Michigan Voters Could Face Long Ballot This Fall http://wkar.org/post/michigan-voters-could-face-long-ballot-fall <p>Eight proposals may be on Michigan's November ballot, bringing a deluge of money and ads over issues ranging from protecting collective bargaining rights to requiring utilities to use more renewable energy.</p> Thu, 26 Apr 2012 22:26:12 +0000 The Associated Press 16410 at http://wkar.org Michigan Voters Could Face Long Ballot This Fall Elections Bureau: Referendum Drive Has Enough Signatures http://wkar.org/post/elections-bureau-referendum-drive-has-enough-signatures <p>State elections officials say the campaign to reverse Michigan’s emergency manager law appears to have gathered enough signatures to qualify for the November ballot.</p> Wed, 25 Apr 2012 22:36:30 +0000 Rick Pluta 16343 at http://wkar.org Elections Bureau: Referendum Drive Has Enough Signatures