jobs http://wkar.org en The risks and rewards of unpaid internships http://wkar.org/post/risks-and-rewards-unpaid-internships <p></p><p></p><p>As the university school year winds down, many students are preparing for summer unpaid internships, hoping to improve their employability.The practice of not paying interns has become increasingly widespread. Fri, 09 May 2014 14:56:38 +0000 Melissa Benmark 53433 at http://wkar.org The risks and rewards of unpaid internships Michigan Jobless Rate Hits 9% http://wkar.org/post/michigan-jobless-rate-hits-9 <p>Michigan’s unemployment rate has edged upward for the third month in a row, hitting 9 percent.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Wed, 18 Sep 2013 19:53:08 +0000 Rick Pluta 42510 at http://wkar.org Michigan Jobless Rate Hits 9% Sequestration's potential impact on Michigan workers http://wkar.org/post/sequestrations-potential-impact-michigan-workers <p>In a recent opinion piece in the Lansing State Journal CEO of <a href="http://camw.org/">Capital Area Michigan Works</a> Doug Stites wrote that the 20%&nbsp; funding cuts to his agency come at a critical time when efforts to retrain Michigan workers for in-demand jobs is extremely important.&nbsp; At the same time, a number of taxpayers are skeptical of the publicly funded agency's work. Tue, 06 Aug 2013 16:43:25 +0000 Current State 40306 at http://wkar.org Sequestration's potential impact on Michigan workers Michigan Jobless Rate Jumps As More People Look For Work http://wkar.org/post/michigan-jobless-rate-jumps-more-people-look-work <p>Michigan’s monthly unemployment rate jumped slightly to 8.7% as more people are competing for jobs.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Wed, 17 Jul 2013 21:15:47 +0000 Rick Pluta 39306 at http://wkar.org Michigan Jobless Rate Jumps As More People Look For Work Michigan Monthly Jobless Rate Remains At 8.4% In May http://wkar.org/post/michigan-monthly-jobless-rate-remains-84-may <p>Michigan’s monthly jobless rate remained unchanged from April to May at eight-point-four percent.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Wed, 19 Jun 2013 20:12:23 +0000 Rick Pluta 37867 at http://wkar.org Michigan Monthly Jobless Rate Remains At 8.4% In May MI Jobless Rate Dips In October http://wkar.org/post/mi-jobless-rate-dips-october <p>Michigan’s monthly unemployment rate dipped slightly in October, and is down almost a full point from where it was at this time last year. It’s still higher than the national average.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p> Wed, 14 Nov 2012 22:47:10 +0000 Rick Pluta 26939 at http://wkar.org MI Jobless Rate Dips In October Careers In Sight, 'Millennial' Students Explore Lansing http://wkar.org/post/careers-sight-millennial-students-explore-lansing <p>Some Michigan college students with doubts about staying in the state are reconsidering Lansing.</p> Tue, 16 Oct 2012 18:30:12 +0000 Mark Bashore 25476 at http://wkar.org Careers In Sight, 'Millennial' Students Explore Lansing Snyder: Michigan Needs to Educate More People for Skilled Trades http://wkar.org/post/snyder-michigan-needs-educate-more-people-skilled-trades <p>Governor Rick Snyder says Michigan and the rest of the country lost sight of the value of vocational training as young people were encouraged to get four-year college degrees.</p> Thu, 13 Sep 2012 22:17:38 +0000 Rick Pluta 23891 at http://wkar.org Snyder: Michigan Needs to Educate More People for Skilled Trades New Order Helps Young Undocumented Immigrants http://wkar.org/post/new-order-helps-young-undocumented-immigrants <p>A new presidential order is giving many young, undocumented immigrants in mid-Michigan a shot at legal temporary employment.</p><p>The &quot;DACA&quot; program, or &quot;&lsquo;Delayed Action for Childhood Arrivals,&quot; took effect Wednesday. The Obama Administration order applies to young undocumented immigrants who arrived here before the age of 16.</p><p>Ramiro Estrada arrived in Lansing as a 12-year old.&nbsp; He would like a job to continue his college education in nursing.<strong><em>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; </em></strong></p> Wed, 15 Aug 2012 18:07:52 +0000 Mark Bashore 22326 at http://wkar.org New Order Helps Young Undocumented Immigrants Enviro Group: MSU Study Shows Economic Benefits of More Renewable http://wkar.org/post/enviro-group-msu-study-shows-economic-benefits-more-renewable <p>An environmental group says Michigan's economy would get a boost if it relied more on renewable energy sources.</p> Fri, 10 Aug 2012 22:32:30 +0000 Mark Bashore 22067 at http://wkar.org Enviro Group: MSU Study Shows Economic Benefits of More Renewable Recent College Grads Hope to Acquire Critical Skills in Detroit http://wkar.org/post/recent-college-grads-hope-acquire-critical-skills-detroit <p>A new program called ‘Venture for America’ is offering talented college grads the chance to learn entrepreneurialism on the front lines. It also aims to help perk up job creation in some of America’s most economically challenged cities, including Detroit.</p> Tue, 07 Aug 2012 04:00:00 +0000 Mark Bashore 21597 at http://wkar.org Recent College Grads Hope to Acquire Critical Skills in Detroit State Figures: Mich. Retains More Veteran Teachers http://wkar.org/post/state-figures-mich-retains-more-veteran-teachers <p>State figures say Michigan schools are retaining more of their veteran K-12 educators, leaving fewer job openings for newcomers.</p> Thu, 26 Jul 2012 22:17:37 +0000 The Associated Press 21193 at http://wkar.org State Figures: Mich. Retains More Veteran Teachers ‘E-Pathways’ Designed to Close Lansing Area I-T Workforce Gap http://wkar.org/post/e-pathways-designed-close-lansing-area-i-t-workforce-gap <p>Despite the noticeable strengths of Lansing’s economy, a number of employers struggle with a shortage of qualified I-T workers. Employers and job-seekers alike are hoping a new, multi-million dollar skills initiative—E-Pathways--will help close the gap.</p> Tue, 10 Apr 2012 04:00:00 +0000 Mark Bashore 15492 at http://wkar.org ‘E-Pathways’ Designed to Close Lansing Area I-T Workforce Gap Turkey Visit Sparks Unexpected Activity at EL’s Prima Civitas http://wkar.org/post/turkey-visit-sparks-unexpected-activity-el%E2%80%99s-prima-civitas <p>A delegation of East Lansing-based economic developers recently returned from an encouraging visit to Istanbul. Prima Civitas personnel were exploring ways to connect Michigan garment designers and manufacturers with similar interests in Turkey for the benefit of both.</p> Tue, 06 Mar 2012 05:00:00 +0000 Mark Bashore 13119 at http://wkar.org Turkey Visit Sparks Unexpected Activity at EL’s Prima Civitas