emergency manager http://wkar.org en After objections, Detroit bankruptcy process continues at capitol http://wkar.org/post/after-objections-detroit-bankruptcy-process-continues-capitol <p></p><p></p><p>Yesterday marked the deadline for objections to Detroit’s plan of adjustment to be filed. Over a dozen criticisms were registered by residents, creditors and even the federal government. Tue, 13 May 2014 15:14:49 +0000 Emanuele Berry & Mark Bashore 53610 at http://wkar.org After objections, Detroit bankruptcy process continues at capitol Group Protests Inside Detroit City Hall Lobby http://wkar.org/post/group-protests-inside-detroit-city-hall-lobby <p>A building official says a crowd of people who held a protest in the Detroit City Hall lobby temporarily disrupted services.</p><p></p><p> Thu, 28 Mar 2013 20:14:35 +0000 The Associated Press 33448 at http://wkar.org Group Protests Inside Detroit City Hall Lobby Nominee: Detroit Fix 'Olympics Of Restructuring' http://wkar.org/post/nominee-detroit-fix-olympics-restructuring <p>The governor's nominee to become Detroit's emergency financial manager says the job is the "Olympics of restructuring" but he feels compelled to take it on.</p><p></p><p> Thu, 14 Mar 2013 19:32:56 +0000 The Associated Press 32704 at http://wkar.org Nominee: Detroit Fix 'Olympics Of Restructuring' Detroit Council Makes Last-Ditch Arguments To Avoid Takeover http://wkar.org/post/detroit-council-makes-last-ditch-arguments-avoid-takeover <p>Detroit city officials were at a hearing in Lansing Tuesday pleading for more time to fix the city’s finances before Governor Rick Snyder names an emergency manager.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Tue, 12 Mar 2013 19:33:20 +0000 Rick Pluta 32564 at http://wkar.org Detroit Council Makes Last-Ditch Arguments To Avoid Takeover Detroit's financial woes may lead to drastic action http://wkar.org/post/detroits-financial-woes-may-lead-drastic-action <p></p><p></p><p><br />State officials and many in southeast Michigan have been keeping a very close eye on financial reports coming out of Detroit. &nbsp;Sunday's <em>Detroit Free Press</em> reported that an emergency financial report completed late Friday suggests an emergency manager is inevitable. &nbsp;The report found the city’s deficit continues to grow even after some degree of state oversight for more than 10 months. &nbsp;</p><p><em>Free Press</em> reporter and columnist Nancy Kaffer joins us to explain one of the biggest, ongoing stories in Michigan<strong>.</strong></p> Mon, 18 Feb 2013 20:14:03 +0000 Mark Bashore 31335 at http://wkar.org Detroit's financial woes may lead to drastic action Court: Detroit Schools' Emergency Chief Can Stay http://wkar.org/post/court-detroit-schools-emergency-chief-can-stay <p>The Michigan Supreme Court has rejected a lawsuit seeking to remove the state-appointed emergency financial manager for Detroit Public Schools.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Fri, 18 Jan 2013 22:26:47 +0000 The Associated Press 29820 at http://wkar.org Court: Detroit Schools' Emergency Chief Can Stay Gov. Snyder Plans To Sign Emergency Manager Bill http://wkar.org/post/gov-snyder-plans-sign-emergency-manager-bill <p>Michigan Gov. Rick Snyder says he plans to sign a revised emergency manager bill that replaces a similar law rejected last month by voters. Mon, 17 Dec 2012 23:13:44 +0000 The Associated Press 28413 at http://wkar.org Gov. Snyder Plans To Sign Emergency Manager Bill Supporters Will Unveil New Emergency Manager Bill http://wkar.org/post/supporters-will-unveil-new-emergency-manager-bill <p>A new version of a local government emergency manager bill will be rolled out Thursday at the state Capitol. Thu, 06 Dec 2012 00:00:16 +0000 Rick Pluta 27898 at http://wkar.org Supporters Will Unveil New Emergency Manager Bill Lawsuit Says No Emergency Managers Until After The Election http://wkar.org/post/lawsuit-says-no-emergency-managers-until-after-election <p>A lawsuit claims no state-appointed managers should be running Michigan cities or school districts until after voters determine the fate of the emergency manager law in November.</p> Thu, 27 Sep 2012 22:22:03 +0000 Rick Pluta 24604 at http://wkar.org Lawsuit Says No Emergency Managers Until After The Election EM Law Suspended as Referendum Goes on November Ballot http://wkar.org/post/em-law-suspended-referendum-goes-november-ballot <p>The referendum to challenge Michigan’s emergency manager law is officially on the November ballot, and the law is suspended until after the election. Now, there’s a new fight brewing over whether the old emergency financial manager law now takes over.</p> Wed, 08 Aug 2012 22:23:01 +0000 Rick Pluta 21916 at http://wkar.org EM Law Suspended as Referendum Goes on November Ballot Schuette: Old Law Takes Over If Referendum Succeeds http://wkar.org/post/schuette-old-law-takes-over-if-referendum-succeeds <p>Attorney General Bill Schuette says if Michigan’s emergency manager law is rejected by voters in November then the old law takes over – and that still allows the governor to name a financial manager to run a city or school district.</p> Mon, 06 Aug 2012 22:33:53 +0000 Rick Pluta 21765 at http://wkar.org Schuette: Old Law Takes Over If Referendum Succeeds MI Supreme Court Orders Referendum Onto November Ballot http://wkar.org/post/mi-supreme-court-orders-referendum-november-ballot <p>The Michigan Supreme Court has ordered the referendum on the state's emergency manager law onto the November ballot.</p> Fri, 03 Aug 2012 22:51:39 +0000 Rick Pluta 21621 at http://wkar.org MI Supreme Court Orders Referendum Onto November Ballot Treasurer: Emergency Managers To Be Re-Appointed http://wkar.org/post/treasurer-emergency-managers-be-re-appointed <p>State Treasurer Andy Dillon says the emergency managers running four cities in Michigan will be quickly re-appointed to serve as emergency financial managers under the former law – with one exception.</p> Fri, 03 Aug 2012 22:43:54 +0000 Rick Pluta 21620 at http://wkar.org Treasurer: Emergency Managers To Be Re-Appointed Groups Waiting For MI Supreme Court Ruling http://wkar.org/post/groups-waiting-mi-supreme-court-ruling <p>The Michigan Supreme Court will decide the fate of a referendum on the state’s emergency manager law after spending more than an hour and half listening to arguments Monday morning. The case also brought a few hundred demonstrators to Lansing.</p> Wed, 25 Jul 2012 22:32:58 +0000 Rick Pluta 21128 at http://wkar.org Groups Waiting For MI Supreme Court Ruling Emergency Manager Case Goes to Michigan Supreme Court http://wkar.org/post/emergency-manager-case-goes-michigan-supreme-court <p>The group that’s trying to keep a referendum on Michigan’s emergency manager law off the November ballot has taken its case to the state Supreme Court.</p> Fri, 29 Jun 2012 22:22:39 +0000 Rick Pluta 19831 at http://wkar.org Emergency Manager Case Goes to Michigan Supreme Court Court of Appeals Punts on Emergency Law Decision http://wkar.org/post/court-appeals-punts-emergency-law-decision <p>A special seven-judge panel of the Michigan Court of Appeals will decide whether a referendum challenging Michigan’s emergency manager law will appear on the November ballot.</p> Fri, 08 Jun 2012 22:25:34 +0000 Rick Pluta 18671 at http://wkar.org Court of Appeals Punts on Emergency Law Decision Embattled Samaritan: Lansing’s Michael Brown Leads Flint During Emergency http://wkar.org/post/embattled-samaritan-lansing-s-michael-brown-leads-flint-during-emergency <p>After a career spent addressing some notable emergencies, Lansing's Michael K. Brown has tackled the fire that is Flint.</p> Tue, 05 Jun 2012 04:00:00 +0000 Mark Bashore 18361 at http://wkar.org Embattled Samaritan: Lansing’s Michael Brown Leads Flint During Emergency Haslett Resident Speaks Out on Controversial EM Role http://wkar.org/post/haslett-resident-speaks-out-controversial-em-role <p>As controversy swirls around Michigan's Emergency Managers, WKAR's Mark Bashore spoke with a Haslett resident who is one of seven such appointees across the state.</p> Tue, 29 May 2012 04:00:00 +0000 Mark Bashore 17930 at http://wkar.org Haslett Resident Speaks Out on Controversial EM Role Court Rules Review Teams Can Meet in Secret http://wkar.org/post/court-rules-review-teams-can-meet-secret <p>Review teams that recommend whether a city or school district should be taken over by a state-appointed emergency manager don’t have to meet in public.</p> Tue, 22 May 2012 22:29:26 +0000 Rick Pluta 17760 at http://wkar.org Court Rules Review Teams Can Meet in Secret Court of Appeals to Rule on EM Referendum http://wkar.org/post/court-appeals-rule-em-referendum <p>It’s up to the Michigan Court of Appeals now to determine whether voters will get to approve or reject the state’s emergency manager law.</p> Thu, 17 May 2012 22:17:55 +0000 Rick Pluta 17523 at http://wkar.org Court of Appeals to Rule on EM Referendum EM Law Repeal Effort Goes to Court http://wkar.org/post/em-law-repeal-effort-goes-court <p>The campaign to repeal Michigan’s emergency manager law is in court trying to force the state to put the referendum on the November ballot.</p> Fri, 04 May 2012 22:16:47 +0000 Rick Pluta 16833 at http://wkar.org EM Law Repeal Effort Goes to Court Court of Appeals Hears Open Meetings Lawsuit http://wkar.org/post/court-appeals-hears-open-meetings-lawsuit <p>It is now up to the Michigan Court of Appeals to decide whether state financial review teams must meet in public.</p> Thu, 03 May 2012 22:51:26 +0000 Rick Pluta 16777 at http://wkar.org Court of Appeals Hears Open Meetings Lawsuit Board of State Canvassers Deadlocks on Whether Referendum Goes to Ballot http://wkar.org/post/board-state-canvassers-deadlocks-whether-referendum-goes-ballot <p>The state Court of Appeals appears to be next stop for the petition campaign to reverse Michigan’s emergency manager law.</p> Thu, 26 Apr 2012 22:29:13 +0000 Rick Pluta 16411 at http://wkar.org Board of State Canvassers Deadlocks on Whether Referendum Goes to Ballot Elections Bureau: Referendum Drive Has Enough Signatures http://wkar.org/post/elections-bureau-referendum-drive-has-enough-signatures <p>State elections officials say the campaign to reverse Michigan’s emergency manager law appears to have gathered enough signatures to qualify for the November ballot.</p> Wed, 25 Apr 2012 22:36:30 +0000 Rick Pluta 16343 at http://wkar.org Elections Bureau: Referendum Drive Has Enough Signatures Highland Park Teachers Could Be Asked to Work through Payless Payday http://wkar.org/post/highland-park-teachers-could-be-asked-work-through-payless-payday <p>Teachers in Highland Park schools could be asked to work without pay while a standoff between the state and the school board is resolved.&nbsp;&nbsp; Wed, 22 Feb 2012 23:53:47 +0000 Rick Pluta 12961 at http://wkar.org Highland Park Teachers Could Be Asked to Work through Payless Payday Snyder: Highland Park School District Could Close by Monday http://wkar.org/post/snyder-highland-park-school-district-could-close-monday <p>Governor Rick Snyder says he is forced by a court decision to &ldquo;de-activate&rdquo; the emergency manager running the Highland Park school district. Tue, 21 Feb 2012 23:34:47 +0000 Rick Pluta 12890 at http://wkar.org Snyder: Highland Park School District Could Close by Monday Judge Says Local Review Teams Violated Open Meetings Law http://wkar.org/post/judge-says-local-review-teams-violated-open-meetings-law <p>An Ingham County judge has ruled that state-appointed review teams looking into the finances of the city if Detroit and the Highland Park school district broke Michigan’s open meetings law.</p> Wed, 15 Feb 2012 22:23:25 +0000 Rick Pluta 12580 at http://wkar.org Judge Says Local Review Teams Violated Open Meetings Law