voting http://wkar.org en State Elections Director: Online registration, absentee balloting could be improved http://wkar.org/post/state-elections-director-online-registration-absentee-balloting-could-be-improved <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">In his 2012 reelection speech, President Barack Obama vowed to make voting easier for millions of Americans. This came after reports that many had to wait in line for hours at polling places to cast their votes.</span></p><p> Mon, 10 Feb 2014 21:50:08 +0000 Current State 49157 at http://wkar.org State Elections Director: Online registration, absentee balloting could be improved Democratic Rep. McCann calls for change to redistricting laws http://wkar.org/post/democratic-rep-mccann-calls-change-redistricting-laws <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Michigan’s state legislative districts are redrawn after every U.S. Census. &nbsp;The last time around the process turned contentious and led many Democrats to allege gerrymandering by the GOP majority. &nbsp;They point to what they say are contorted district lines drawn to ensure a political advantage. &nbsp;</span></p> Tue, 11 Jun 2013 17:41:31 +0000 Current State 37376 at http://wkar.org New Bill Requires Voters To Affirm US Citizenship http://wkar.org/post/new-bill-requires-voters-affirm-us-citizenship <p>A bill awaiting Gov. Rick Snyder's signature would require voters to declare their citizenship before getting a ballot.</p><p></p><p> Fri, 14 Dec 2012 23:22:23 +0000 The Associated Press 28320 at http://wkar.org New Bill Requires Voters To Affirm US Citizenship Ruth Johnson: Citizenship Question Will Not Be on November Ballot Applications http://wkar.org/post/ruth-johnson-citizenship-question-will-not-be-november-ballot-applications <p>Secretary of State Ruth Johnson says she will not contest a federal judge’s ruling that a citizenship question may not be on the ballot applications people will fill out at the polls in November.</p> Wed, 10 Oct 2012 23:07:01 +0000 Rick Pluta 25206 at http://wkar.org Ruth Johnson: Citizenship Question Will Not Be on November Ballot Applications League of Women Voters Helps Public with Issues, Candidates http://wkar.org/post/league-women-voters-helps-public-issues-candidates <p>For close to a century, the League of Women Voters has aimed to inform voters objectively about political issues and candidates. With the 2012 election now four weeks away, WKAR’s Mark Bashore checked in with the organization’s Michigan President, Susan Smith.</p> Tue, 09 Oct 2012 04:00:00 +0000 Mark Bashore 24611 at http://wkar.org League of Women Voters Helps Public with Issues, Candidates Ruth Johnson Sued Over Citizenship Box on Voter Forms http://wkar.org/post/ruth-johnson-sued-over-citizenship-box-voter-forms <p>A coalition of unions, voters, county clerks and civil rights groups is suing Secretary of State Ruth Johnson in federal court.</p> Mon, 17 Sep 2012 22:33:55 +0000 Rick Pluta 24050 at http://wkar.org Ruth Johnson Sued Over Citizenship Box on Voter Forms Voters Have Until Monday to Register for Primary http://wkar.org/post/voters-have-until-monday-register-primary <p>Michigan residents who want to vote in the August 7 primary election have only a few days left to register.</p> Thu, 05 Jul 2012 22:30:54 +0000 The Associated Press 20100 at http://wkar.org Voters Have Until Monday to Register for Primary Voters Rights Groups Oppose Election Law Changeup http://wkar.org/post/voters-rights-groups-oppose-election-law-changeup <p>The state Senate has approved some prospective changes in Michigan voting laws.</p> Tue, 14 Feb 2012 23:31:12 +0000 Rick Pluta 12517 at http://wkar.org Voters Rights Groups Oppose Election Law Changeup