BackStage Pass http://wkar.org en Having a Ball on BackStage Pass http://wkar.org/post/having-ball-backstage-pass <p><strong>Fri. May 16 - 9pm - WKAR HD</strong> | Highlights from season 5 of the television series featuring music made in Michigan and the Great Lakes region. Wed, 14 May 2014 14:05:24 +0000 Bill Richards 53665 at http://wkar.org Having a Ball on BackStage Pass Funktion on BackStage Pass http://wkar.org/post/funktion-backstage-pass <p>Funk powerhouse from Kalamazoo. Recorded live at Albert White Auditorium in East Lansing. <strong>WATCH NOW</strong><br /> Sun, 04 May 2014 16:33:37 +0000 Bill Richards 53173 at http://wkar.org Funktion on BackStage Pass Kevin Nichols and Blue Tuesday on BackStage Pass http://wkar.org/post/kevin-nichols-and-blue-tuesday-backstage-pass <p>Hard-driving blues from Jackson, Michigan. Recorded live at BluesFest 2013 in Lansing's Oldtown district.<br /> Mon, 28 Apr 2014 04:00:00 +0000 Bill Richards 52849 at http://wkar.org Kevin Nichols and Blue Tuesday on BackStage Pass Lowdown Brass Band on BackStage Pass http://wkar.org/post/lowdown-brass-band-backstage-pass <p>Second line New Orleans sound meets hip-hop, reggae and funk. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 17:48:56 +0000 Bill Richards 52331 at http://wkar.org Lowdown Brass Band on BackStage Pass Big LLou and the Bluesville Revue on BackStage Pass http://wkar.org/post/big-llou-and-bluesville-revue-backstage-pass <p>South Chicago blues hosted by the voice of BB King's Bluesville. WATCH NOW Mon, 14 Apr 2014 12:39:55 +0000 Bill Richards 52150 at http://wkar.org Big LLou and the Bluesville Revue on BackStage Pass WATCH NOW: Phil Denny on BackStage Pass http://wkar.org/post/watch-now-phil-denny-backstage-pass-0 <p>Contemporary urban jazz led by blazing sax from Lansing native Phil Denny. Sun, 06 Apr 2014 04:00:00 +0000 Bill Richards 51761 at http://wkar.org WATCH NOW: Phil Denny on BackStage Pass WATCH NOW: Simien the Whale on BackStage Pass http://wkar.org/post/watch-now-simien-whale-backstage-pass <p class="p1">Fri. April 4 at 9pm on WKAR-HD | Break-beat rock and indie-pop.<br /><br /> Sat, 05 Apr 2014 01:00:00 +0000 Jason Thomson 51657 at http://wkar.org WATCH NOW: Simien the Whale on BackStage Pass WATCH NOW: Maurice Davis Quartet http://wkar.org/post/watch-now-maurice-davis-quartet <div>Party blues from Flint, Michigan. Recorded live at BluesFest 2013 in Lansing's Oldtown district.&nbsp;</div><div> Mon, 31 Mar 2014 15:07:52 +0000 Jason Thomson 51460 at http://wkar.org WATCH NOW: Maurice Davis Quartet Simien the Whale on BackStage Pass http://wkar.org/post/simien-whale-backstage-pass <p><strong>Fri. April 4 at 9pm on WKAR-HD</strong> | Break-beat rock and indie-pop. Sun, 30 Mar 2014 04:00:00 +0000 Bill Richards 51427 at http://wkar.org Simien the Whale on BackStage Pass Maurice Davis Quartet on BackStage Pass http://wkar.org/post/maurice-davis-quartet-backstage-pass <p><strong>Fri. March 28, 9 pm on WKAR-TV</strong> | Party blues from Flint, Michigan. Recorded live at BluesFest 2013 in Lansing's Oldtown district. AVAILABLE ONLINE SOON. Fri, 28 Mar 2014 10:16:42 +0000 Bill Richards 51343 at http://wkar.org Maurice Davis Quartet on BackStage Pass WATCH NOW: The Hard Lessons on BackStage Pass http://wkar.org/post/watch-now-hard-lessons-backstage-pass <p>High-energy indie-rock from Detroit. <a href="http://video.wkar.org/video/2365203885/">WATCH NOW</a> Sat, 22 Mar 2014 01:00:00 +0000 Bill Richards 50952 at http://wkar.org WATCH NOW: The Hard Lessons on BackStage Pass WATCH NOW: Rodney Whitaker Quartet on BackStage Pass http://wkar.org/post/watch-now-rodney-whitaker-quartet-backstage-pass-0 <p>Jazz from a true master of the double bass, with some of the best players in the land and featured guests Rockelle Fortin and Terrell Stafford. <a href="http://video.wkar.org/video/2365189947/">WATCH NOW</a><br /> Sat, 01 Mar 2014 03:00:00 +0000 Bill Richards 49792 at http://wkar.org WATCH NOW: Rodney Whitaker Quartet on BackStage Pass WATCH NOW: Sugar Ray and the Bluetones on BackStage Pass http://wkar.org/post/watch-now-sugar-ray-and-bluetones-backstage-pass-0 <p>Sizzling blues harp from the legendary Sugar Ray. Recorded live at Lansing BluesFest 2013 in historic Old Town Lansing. <a href="http://video.wkar.org/video/2365172971/">WATCH NOW</a></p><p> Sun, 16 Feb 2014 14:33:00 +0000 Bill Richards 48962 at http://wkar.org WATCH NOW: Sugar Ray and the Bluetones on BackStage Pass WATCH NOW: Mustard Plug on BackStage Pass http://wkar.org/post/watch-now-mustard-plug-backstage-pass-0 <p>Ska-punk dance party music from Grand Rapids. Recorded live in performance at Albert White Auditorium in East Lansing. <a href="http://video.wkar.org/video/2365184890/">WATCH NOW</a></p><p> Sun, 16 Feb 2014 14:22:28 +0000 Bill Richards 49453 at http://wkar.org WATCH NOW: Mustard Plug on BackStage Pass WATCH NOW: Mardra and Reggie Thomas on BackStage Pass http://wkar.org/post/watch-now-mardra-and-reggie-thomas-backstage-pass <p>Billie Holiday-inspired jazz vocals from Mardra Thomas, with the soulful, hard-swinging piano of Reggie Thomas and the Rodney Whitaker Quartet. |<a href="http://video.wkar.org/video/2365172878/"> WATCH NOW</a> Mon, 03 Feb 2014 05:00:00 +0000 Bill Richards 48810 at http://wkar.org WATCH NOW: Mardra and Reggie Thomas on BackStage Pass WATCH NOW: Elliot Street Lunatic on Backstage Pass http://wkar.org/post/watch-now-elliot-street-lunatic-backstage-pass <p>Indie rock from Michigan's capital city. Elliot Street Lunatic features selections from their latest CD, "Ghost Town Lullabies."&nbsp; | <a href="http://video.wkar.org/video/2365166654/">WATCH NOW</a> Sat, 01 Feb 2014 08:55:23 +0000 Bill Richards 48469 at http://wkar.org WATCH NOW: Elliot Street Lunatic on Backstage Pass WKAR and PBS Now on Xbox 360 http://wkar.org/post/wkar-and-pbs-now-xbox-360 <p>New PBS App provides on-demand access to WKAR originals <strong>QuizBusters</strong>, <strong>Off the Record</strong> and <strong>BackStage Pass</strong> and PBS favorites including <strong>Austin City Limits</strong>, <strong>Frontline</strong> and <strong>Masterpiece</strong>.</p><p> Wed, 23 Oct 2013 04:20:09 +0000 editor 44175 at http://wkar.org WKAR and PBS Now on Xbox 360 WKAR's BackStage Pass at 2013 BluesFest this Weekend http://wkar.org/post/wkars-backstage-pass-2013-bluesfest-weekend <p>The WKAR production team heads to 2013 BluesFest in Old Town this weekend to capture acts live onstage for the next broadcast season of BackStage Pass, the TV series featuring music made in Michigan and the Great Lakes region. Thu, 19 Sep 2013 21:56:08 +0000 42585 at http://wkar.org WKAR's BackStage Pass at 2013 BluesFest this Weekend This Week! BackStage Pass Concert Recordings http://wkar.org/post/week-backstage-pass-concert-recordings <p>BackStage Pass Concert recordings are this week! Tue, 18 Jun 2013 13:10:47 +0000 37775 at http://wkar.org This Week! BackStage Pass Concert Recordings BackStage Pass Tickets Around Town http://wkar.org/post/backstage-pass-tickets-around-town <p>FREE Tickets for a chance to be in the TV audience for the June 18-20 BackStage Pass Concert recordings are available at these area businesses and locations. While they last! Wed, 12 Jun 2013 21:28:18 +0000 37478 at http://wkar.org BackStage Pass Tickets Around Town June 18-20 | BackStage Pass FREE Concert TV Recordings http://wkar.org/post/june-18-20-backstage-pass-free-concert-tv-recordings <p>It's more than a festival. More than a concert. It's your chance to <strong>be in the TV audience</strong> for live recording of great music, June 18-20 at East Lansing Hannah Community Center. Mon, 03 Jun 2013 13:05:42 +0000 36215 at http://wkar.org June 18-20 | BackStage Pass FREE Concert TV Recordings WATCH: BackStage Pass - Them Changes http://wkar.org/post/watch-backstage-pass-them-changes <p>Season four highlights featuring Howling Diablos, Silent Lapse, Domestic Problems and more. | <strong>7pm Sunday May 12</strong> Wed, 08 May 2013 15:17:03 +0000 35500 at http://wkar.org WATCH: BackStage Pass - Them Changes WATCH: Howling Diablos on BackStage Pass http://wkar.org/post/watch-howling-diablos-backstage-pass <p>Rocking, funky, blues jams from Detroit musical legends. | <a href="http://video.wkar.org/video/2327072900/">WATCH ONLINE NOW</a> Thu, 02 May 2013 13:45:30 +0000 35194 at http://wkar.org WATCH: Howling Diablos on BackStage Pass WATCH: Brian Lorente and the Usual Suspects on BackStage Pass http://wkar.org/post/watch-brian-lorente-and-usual-suspects-backstage-pass <p>Original country rock from the dynamic Brian Lorente. | <a href="http://video.wkar.org/video/2327071786">WATCH ONLINE NOW</a> Sun, 28 Apr 2013 22:40:00 +0000 34993 at http://wkar.org WATCH: Brian Lorente and the Usual Suspects on BackStage Pass WATCH: Eyde Evans Hyde on BackStage Pass http://wkar.org/post/watch-eyde-evans-hyde-backstage-pass <p>West Michigan's Eyde Evans Hyde delivers swanky, classic jazz and upbeat blues that make you stand up and move. | <a href="http://video.wkar.org/video/2327071250/">Watch Online Now</a> Mon, 22 Apr 2013 12:52:44 +0000 34647 at http://wkar.org WATCH: Eyde Evans Hyde on BackStage Pass WATCH: Bryan Michael Fischer Band on BackStage Pass http://wkar.org/post/watch-bryan-michael-fischer-band-backstage-pass <p>Powerful vocals from seasoned blues performer Bryan Michael Fischer from West Michigan. | Sunday at 7 on WKAR-TV | <a href="http://video.wkar.org/video/2326701596/">Watch Online Now</a> Sun, 14 Apr 2013 12:16:48 +0000 34253 at http://wkar.org WATCH: Bryan Michael Fischer Band on BackStage Pass WATCH: Home Again on BackStage Pass http://wkar.org/post/watch-home-again-backstage-pass <p>Toe-tapping alt-country collaboration by veteran performers Andy Holtgreive and Bill Kenny. |&nbsp; <a href="http://video.wkar.org/video/2327070274/">Watch Online Now</a></p> Mon, 08 Apr 2013 03:05:41 +0000 33910 at http://wkar.org WATCH: Home Again on BackStage Pass WATCH: Heather Jones and Jones'n on BackStage Pass http://wkar.org/post/watch-heather-jones-and-jonesn-backstage-pass <p>Soulful swingers bring blues, rock and funk led by Heather Jones' soaring vocals. | <a href="http://video.wkar.org/video/2326709978">WATCH online now</a> Fri, 29 Mar 2013 12:26:25 +0000 33487 at http://wkar.org WATCH: Heather Jones and Jones'n on BackStage Pass WATCH: Evidence Jazz Group on BackStage Pass http://wkar.org/post/watch-evidence-jazz-group-backstage-pass <p>Hard bop from Grand Rapids-based saxophonist Michael Doyle and some of the finest jazz players in Michigan. | <a href="http://video.wkar.org/video/2327069438/">WATCH ONLINE NOW</a></p><p><a href="http://video.wkar.org/video/2327069438/"> Mon, 25 Mar 2013 10:54:17 +0000 33210 at http://wkar.org WATCH: Evidence Jazz Group on BackStage Pass Evidence Jazz Group - Interview for BackStage Pass http://wkar.org/post/evidence-jazz-group-interview-backstage-pass <p>Evidence Jazz Group on BackStage Pass debuts Sunday, March 24, at 7 p.m. on WKAR-TV. Here’s an extended excerpt from the BackStage Pass Interview. Wed, 13 Mar 2013 17:44:51 +0000 32619 at http://wkar.org Evidence Jazz Group - Interview for BackStage Pass