Jeanie Croope http://wkar.org en From Jeanie Croope: I’ll be seeing you... http://wkar.org/post/jeanie-croope-i-ll-be-seeing-you <p>As I wrap up editing this month’s issue of <em>Stay Tuned</em>, I am also saying farewell to many of my friends and associates at WKAR. After more than 32 amazing years here, I am retiring from WKAR and MSU. Mon, 23 Sep 2013 16:54:44 +0000 Jeanie Croope 42718 at http://wkar.org From Jeanie Croope: I’ll be seeing you... QuizBusters Host Reflects on 25 Years http://wkar.org/post/quizbusters-host-reflects-25-years <p>WKAR’s weekly series <strong>QuizBusters</strong> kicks off its 25<sup>th</sup> season with a <strong>Special Edition</strong> airing in prime time on Wednesday, October 2, at 9 and 9:30 p.m. The <strong>Special Edition</strong> will feature local personalities who play for bragging rights in the academic game show.</p><p>On Saturday, October 12, the 25<sup>th</sup> season of weekly high school competition will begin. Host Matt Ottinger will welcome teams from 64 mid-Michigan high schools who will compete for scholarships to Michigan State University.</p> Wed, 04 Sep 2013 18:40:04 +0000 Jeanie Croope 41772 at http://wkar.org QuizBusters Host Reflects on 25 Years Free Fun for Families! http://wkar.org/post/free-fun-families <p><strong>WKAR PBS Kids Day | Sunday, Sept. 22, 1-4 p.m. | Capital Area District Library in Downtown Lansing</strong></p><p> Wed, 04 Sep 2013 14:27:19 +0000 Jeanie Croope 41755 at http://wkar.org Free Fun for Families! Be in the Audience for 'Current Sports' TV Premiere http://wkar.org/post/be-audience-current-sports-tv-premiere <p></p><p>Join host Al Martin and special guest Greg “Special K” Kelser in the WKAR-TV studios as part of the live audience for the new television series <strong>Current Sports</strong>. | 6:30pm Thursday <a href="http://bit.ly/wkartix">RESERVE FREE TICKETS HERE</a></p><p> Mon, 12 Aug 2013 18:27:52 +0000 Jeanie Croope 40635 at http://wkar.org Be in the Audience for 'Current Sports' TV Premiere PBS Announces New Programming During Summer Press Tour http://wkar.org/post/pbs-announces-new-programming-during-summer-press-tour <p>Today at the Television Critics Association meeting, PBS announced a new slate of programs to air in the fall of 2013 and beyond.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p> Tue, 06 Aug 2013 17:35:00 +0000 Jeanie Croope 40307 at http://wkar.org PBS Announces New Programming During Summer Press Tour Inside Foyle's War http://wkar.org/post/inside-foyles-war <p><strong>Sunday, August 11, 9 p.m., WKAR | Watch and call or <a href="https://support.wkar.org/allegpublic/WebModuleV862/Donate.aspx?P=WTVMAIN&amp;PAGETYPE=PLG&amp;CHECK=qaJgp2lRA0iB30noQ8KlKezWDeZ%2beA1M">Give Now</a> for special DVD offers.</strong></p><p> Mon, 05 Aug 2013 19:36:16 +0000 Jeanie Croope 40227 at http://wkar.org Inside Foyle's War A Farm Story with Jerry Apps http://wkar.org/post/farm-story-jerry-apps <p><strong>Thursday, August 8, 9 p.m., WKAR | Watch and call or <a href="https://support.wkar.org/allegpublic/WebModuleV862/Donate.aspx?P=WTVMAIN&amp;PAGETYPE=PLG&amp;CHECK=qaJgp2lRA0iB30noQ8KlKezWDeZ%2beA1M">Give Now</a> for special DVD offers.</strong></p><p> Mon, 05 Aug 2013 19:23:05 +0000 Jeanie Croope 40226 at http://wkar.org A Farm Story with Jerry Apps Great Performances: Tony Bennett's Duets II http://wkar.org/post/great-performances-tony-bennetts-duets-ii <div class="left"><p>Tuesday, August 6, 8 p.m. on WKAR | Watch and call or <a href="https://support.wkar.org/allegpublic/WebModuleV862/Donate.aspx?P=WTVMAIN&amp;PAGETYPE=PLG&amp;CHECK=qaJgp2lRA0iB30noQ8KlKezWDeZ%2beA1M">Give Now</a> for special DVD offers.</p><p> Mon, 05 Aug 2013 19:15:11 +0000 Jeanie Croope 40223 at http://wkar.org Great Performances: Tony Bennett's Duets II Hugh Laurie: Live on the Queen Mary http://wkar.org/post/hugh-laurie-live-queen-mary <p><strong>Saturday, August 3, 4 pm WKAR-TV | </strong>Watch and call or <a href="https://support.wkar.org/allegpublic/WebModuleV862/Donate.aspx?P=WTVMAIN&amp;PAGETYPE=PLG&amp;CHECK=qaJgp2lRA0iB30noQ8KlKezWDeZ%2beA1M">Give Now</a> for special DVD offers.</p><p> Fri, 02 Aug 2013 12:46:57 +0000 Jeanie Croope 39872 at http://wkar.org Hugh Laurie: Live on the Queen Mary '60s Girl Grooves http://wkar.org/post/60s-girl-grooves <p><strong>Friday, August 9 at 8 pm WKAR-TV | </strong>Watch and call or <a href="https://support.wkar.org/allegpublic/WebModuleV862/Donate.aspx?P=WTVMAIN&amp;PAGETYPE=PLG&amp;CHECK=qaJgp2lRA0iB30noQ8KlKezWDeZ%2beA1M">Give Now</a> for special DVD offers.</p><p></p><p> Fri, 02 Aug 2013 12:45:51 +0000 Jeanie Croope 39875 at http://wkar.org '60s Girl Grooves Rick Steves' Travel Skills Special http://wkar.org/post/rick-steves-travel-skills-special <p><strong>Wednesday, August 7, 8 pm WKAR-TV | </strong>Beautifully filmed on location along his favorite 'Best of Europe' loop, Rick shares his most up-to-date travel tips. Watch and call or <a href="https://support.wkar.org/allegpublic/WebModuleV862/Donate.aspx?P=WTVMAIN&amp;PAGETYPE=PLG&amp;CHECK=qaJgp2lRA0iB30noQ8KlKezWDeZ%2beA1M">Give Now to WKAR-TV </a> Fri, 02 Aug 2013 12:44:40 +0000 Jeanie Croope 31340 at http://wkar.org Rick Steves' Travel Skills Special Andrea Bocelli: Love in Portofino http://wkar.org/post/andrea-bocelli-love-portofino <p><strong>Monday, August 5, 8 pm WKAR-TV | </strong>Watch and call or <a href="https://support.wkar.org/allegpublic/WebModuleV862/Donate.aspx?P=WTVMAIN&amp;PAGETYPE=PLG&amp;CHECK=qaJgp2lRA0iB30noQ8KlKezWDeZ%2beA1M">Give Now</a> for special DVD offers.</p><p></p><p> Fri, 02 Aug 2013 12:42:56 +0000 Jeanie Croope 39876 at http://wkar.org Andrea Bocelli: Love in Portofino The Jimmy Dean Show: Country Classics http://wkar.org/post/jimmy-dean-show-country-classics <p><strong>Sat., Aug. 3, 10 pm, WKAR | </strong>Watch and call or <a href="https://support.wkar.org/allegpublic/WebModuleV862/Donate.aspx?P=WTVMAIN&amp;PAGETYPE=PLG&amp;CHECK=qaJgp2lRA0iB30noQ8KlKezWDeZ%2beA1M">Give Now</a> for special DVD offers.</p><p></p><p> Tue, 30 Jul 2013 15:01:34 +0000 Jeanie Croope 39871 at http://wkar.org The Jimmy Dean Show: Country Classics Volunteer at WKAR! http://wkar.org/post/volunteer-wkar <p>Our August pledge drive is coming up, and you can help make it a success.</p><p><strong>August 2-12: WKAR-TV's August Pledge Drive</strong></p><p><br>Answer call-in pledges of support from the WKAR-TV Volunteer Center.<br><a _fcksavedurl="https://docs.google.com/forms/d/1uD4xCSYqHYHi9BChcvXq_bFmL5GSvYXmXzkIFa9ZwTc/viewform#" href="https://docs.google.com/forms/d/1uD4xCSYqHYHi9BChcvXq_bFmL5GSvYXmXzkIFa9ZwTc/viewform#">See the schedule and sign up here</a></p> Wed, 17 Jul 2013 14:40:28 +0000 Jeanie Croope 39274 at http://wkar.org Volunteer at WKAR! Rick Steves' Travel Skills Special http://wkar.org/post/rick-steves-travel-skills-special-0 <p><strong>8pm Monday, June 15 | WKAR Create | </strong>Watch and call or <a href="https://support.wkar.org/allegpublic/WebModuleV862/Donate.aspx?P=WTVMAIN&amp;PAGETYPE=PLG&amp;CHECK=qaJgp2lRA0iB30noQ8KlKezWDeZ%2beA1M">Give Now</a> for special DVD offers. Mon, 17 Jun 2013 12:17:36 +0000 Jeanie Croope 37464 at http://wkar.org Rick Steves' Travel Skills Special Eat, Fast & Live Longer with Dr. Michael Mosley http://wkar.org/post/eat-fast-live-longer-dr-michael-mosley-0 <p><strong>Saturday, June 15, Noon | WKAR | </strong>Watch and call or <a href="https://support.wkar.org/allegpublic/WebModuleV862/Donate.aspx?P=WTVMAIN&amp;PAGETYPE=PLG&amp;CHECK=qaJgp2lRA0iB30noQ8KlKezWDeZ%2beA1M">Give Now</a> for special DVD offers.</p><p></p><p> Fri, 14 Jun 2013 13:23:48 +0000 Jeanie Croope 37469 at http://wkar.org Eat, Fast & Live Longer with Dr. Michael Mosley Woody Guthrie at 100: Live at Kennedy Center http://wkar.org/post/woody-guthrie-100-live-kennedy-center <p><strong>8pm Tuesday, June 11 | WKAR-TV</strong></p><p></p><p> Thu, 13 Jun 2013 11:47:17 +0000 Jeanie Croope 37057 at http://wkar.org Woody Guthrie at 100: Live at Kennedy Center Motown: Big Hits and More! http://wkar.org/post/motown-big-hits-and-more <p><strong>8pm Friday, June 14 | WKAR-TV | </strong>Watch and call or <a href="https://support.wkar.org/allegpublic/WebModuleV862/Donate.aspx?P=WTVMAIN&amp;PAGETYPE=PLG&amp;CHECK=qaJgp2lRA0iB30noQ8KlKezWDeZ%2beA1M">Give Now</a> for special DVD offers. Wed, 12 Jun 2013 19:13:45 +0000 Jeanie Croope 37466 at http://wkar.org Motown: Big Hits and More! '70s & '80s Soul Rewind http://wkar.org/post/70s-80s-soul-rewind <p><strong>&nbsp;9pm Sunday, June 16 | WKAR-TV </strong>Watch and call or <a href="https://support.wkar.org/allegpublic/WebModuleV862/Donate.aspx?P=WTVMAIN&amp;PAGETYPE=PLG&amp;CHECK=qaJgp2lRA0iB30noQ8KlKezWDeZ%2beA1M">Give Now</a> for special DVD offers. Wed, 05 Jun 2013 16:44:37 +0000 Jeanie Croope 37055 at http://wkar.org '70s & '80s Soul Rewind Ed Sullivan Comedy Special http://wkar.org/post/ed-sullivan-comedy-special <p><strong>Saturday, June 15, 5 p.m. | WKAR-TV </strong>Watch and call or <a href="https://support.wkar.org/allegpublic/WebModuleV862/Donate.aspx?P=WTVMAIN&amp;PAGETYPE=PLG&amp;CHECK=qaJgp2lRA0iB30noQ8KlKezWDeZ%2beA1M">Give Now</a> for special DVD offers.</p><p> Wed, 05 Jun 2013 16:36:15 +0000 Jeanie Croope 37054 at http://wkar.org Ed Sullivan Comedy Special Matthew Morrison: Where It All Began http://wkar.org/post/matthew-morrison-where-it-all-began <p><strong>Friday, June 7, 10pm | Saturday, June 8, 3pm | Monday, June 10, 10pm | WKAR-TV | </strong>Watch and call or <a href="https://support.wkar.org/allegpublic/WebModuleV862/Donate.aspx?P=WTVMAIN&amp;PAGETYPE=PLG&amp;CHECK=qaJgp2lRA0iB30noQ8KlKezWDeZ%2beA1M">Give Now Online Wed, 05 Jun 2013 16:28:50 +0000 Jeanie Croope 37053 at http://wkar.org Matthew Morrison: Where It All Began Community Cinema Guests Engage in 'Love Free or Die' Conversation http://wkar.org/post/community-cinema-guests-engage-love-free-or-die-conversation <p>A nearly full house packed WKAR's auditorium for a <strong>Community Cinema </strong>preview of <strong>Love Free or Die, </strong>airing Monday, June 3, at 10 p.m. on WKAR. The event was the last this spring for the popular screening/discussion series at WKAR.</p><p> Thu, 30 May 2013 19:34:10 +0000 Jeanie Croope 36656 at http://wkar.org Community Cinema Guests Engage in 'Love Free or Die' Conversation Radio Reader May Update http://wkar.org/post/radio-reader-may-update <p>Dick Estell is reading "The Cove," by Ron Rash through May 21.</p><p>"Mile Marker Zero" by WIlliam McKeen will begin May 22.</p><p>For more on <strong>The Radio Reader</strong>, visit Dick Estell's <a href="http://radioreader.net/">Website.</a></p> Thu, 23 May 2013 19:46:33 +0000 Jeanie Croope 36347 at http://wkar.org 'Wonder Women' Guests Appreciate Community Cinema Events http://wkar.org/post/wonder-women-guests-appreciate-community-cinema-events <p>Guests at WKAR's April 25 Community Cinema screening of <strong>Wonder Women: The Story of America's Superheroines </strong>were not only able to see a segment of the film but hear from speakers Gary Hoppenstand and Jess Knott.</p><p></p><p> Wed, 22 May 2013 17:19:52 +0000 Jeanie Croope 35402 at http://wkar.org 'Wonder Women' Guests Appreciate Community Cinema Events Please Help Us Keep WKAR Radio Pledge Free! http://wkar.org/post/please-help-us-keep-wkar-radio-pledge-free <p></p><p>Here at WKAR Radio we are grateful to you and others like you for the pledges received this April.&nbsp; It’s due to member support that we can bring you the classical music you love and the news programs that keep you informed every day of the week.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 21 May 2013 15:03:20 +0000 Jeanie Croope 36197 at http://wkar.org Please Help Us Keep WKAR Radio Pledge Free! QuizBusters Championship Series! http://wkar.org/post/quizbusters-championship-series-0 <p><strong>Wednesday, May 22, 8 p.m.</strong></p><p></p><p> Mon, 20 May 2013 13:49:17 +0000 Jeanie Croope 36130 at http://wkar.org QuizBusters Championship Series! WKAR Receives Michigan Emmy Award Nominations http://wkar.org/post/wkar-receives-michigan-emmy-award-nominations <p>WKAR is pleased to announce that three programs produced and one presented by WKAR have been nominated for Michigan Emmy Awards. Nominees for the 35th Michigan Emmys were announced Wednesday, May 15. Wed, 15 May 2013 19:18:40 +0000 Jeanie Croope 35894 at http://wkar.org WKAR Receives Michigan Emmy Award Nominations "QuizBusters" Semi-Finals Continue on WKAR http://wkar.org/post/quizbusters-semi-finals-continue-wkar-1 <p>Youth from mid-Michigan continue their quest for tuition scholarships to Michigan State University in the second week of the <strong>QuizBusters </strong>semi-finals on Saturday, May 18, at 6 and 6:30 p.m.</p><p></p><p> Mon, 13 May 2013 18:13:11 +0000 Jeanie Croope 35760 at http://wkar.org "QuizBusters" Semi-Finals Continue on WKAR "QuizBusters" Semi-Finals Continue on WKAR http://wkar.org/post/quizbusters-semi-finals-continue-wkar <p>Youth from mid-Michigan continue their quest for tuition scholarships to Michigan State University in the second week of the <strong>QuizBusters </strong>semi-finals on Saturday, May 18 at 6 and 6:30 p.m.</p><p></p><p> Mon, 13 May 2013 05:00:00 +0000 Jeanie Croope 35658 at http://wkar.org "QuizBusters" Semi-Finals Continue on WKAR “Off the Record” Continues Discussion on Legislation to Change No-Fault Insurance Law http://wkar.org/post/record-continues-discussion-legislation-change-no-fault-insurance-law <p>On May 3, Oakland County Executive L. Brooks Patterson made headlines on “Off the Record,” taking Michigan’s GOP Speaker of the House, Jase Bolger, to task for his tactics to pass legislation that would change Michigan’s No-Fault Insurance law (House Bill 4612). Patterson opposes the legislation, which would cap the lifetime benefits for catastrophic auto injuries at $1 million.</p><p></p> Wed, 08 May 2013 17:23:15 +0000 Jeanie Croope 35520 at http://wkar.org “Off the Record” Continues Discussion on Legislation to Change No-Fault Insurance Law