Book Review

Arts & Culture
1:16 pm
Thu July 10, 2014

Book Review: 'Forgiving the Angel'

We all leave a legacy after we shuffle off this mortal coil, but its size and influence isn’t decided by us. That power is in the hands of those we leave behind. Few writers have made as great an impact in literature as Franz Kafka.

Read more
Arts & Culture
1:31 pm
Thu June 26, 2014

Book Review: 'Love in the Time of Cholera' by Gabriel García Márquez

“It was inevitable: the scent of bitter almonds always reminded him of the fate of unrequited love.” And with that poignant line, Gabriel Garcia Marquez begins his masterpiece “Love in the Time of Cholera.”

Read more
Arts & Culture
1:32 pm
Thu May 15, 2014

Book Review: Matthew Bell's latest novel

Credit http://www.mdbell.com/inthehouse/

Sometimes the literary world can suffer from a case of The Emperor’s New Clothes. We all know this story made famous by Hans Christian Andersen, of the ridiculous Emperor tricked into wearing nothing and the underlings around him too afraid to point out that he is only in his underwear. In the mind of the Emperor he is adorned in the greatest attire, but in reality there isn’t much left for the imagination.

Read more
Arts & Culture
1:33 pm
Thu May 1, 2014

Book Review: Kurt Vonnegut: Novels 1976-1985

Credit Courtesy - Library of America

Listen: One of my writing heroes is Kurt Vonnegut and for four years I had his home phone number sitting on my desk. That blessed number was a present from a friend of mine and every day it taunted me, teased me. When Vonnegut died in 2007, I threw the number away. I never had the guts to call it. So it goes.

Read more
Arts & Culture
12:46 pm
Thu April 17, 2014

Book Review: 'The Way North' edited by Ron Riekki

Credit Wayne State University Press

Reviewing a literary collection can feel a lot like reviewing a local talent show.

It can be hard to sum up the entire experience, since every act is unique, and it is unfair to compare the performers to each other; even though we all do it, no matter what the focus of the talent show is or the age of those involved. And like that talent show, literary collections tend to have their writers who take your breath away and make you lean forward in your chair, as well as the ones who make you wonder what you’re missing on TV. "The Way North" is a collection showcasing some of the leading voices in the Upper Peninsula literary movement.

Read more
Arts & Culture
12:32 pm
Thu April 3, 2014

Book Review: Matthew Quick's 'The Good Luck of Right Now'

Credit HarperCollins

Believing in a destiny can be very addicting. It can add security, and maybe even help the world feel like less of a harsh place. But how do you tell the difference between destiny, luck and just the pure happenstance of living? In Matthew Quick’s new novel “The Good Luck of Right Now” he takes on this question through the character of Bartholomew Neil.

Read more
Arts & Culture
1:35 pm
Fri March 14, 2014

Book review: Donald Lystra’s “Something That Feels Like Truth”

Scott Southard states that the collection of stories portrays relationships on the cusp of disaster, or just past it.
Credit Donald Lystra

Traditionally, short stories are birthed out of what-ifs.

What if you go to Mars and find dead relatives? What if a sea monster confuses a fog horn with a mating call? Both of those examples, by the way, are from master short story writer Ray Bradbury.

In Donald Lystra’s latest story collection “Something that Feels Like Truth,” he does  something very different from Bradbury. In many ways, his Michigan short stories are not what-ifs but episodes. They are brief glimpses into the lives of real people, and each is at a turning point or a moment of self-realization. These are character studies focused more on the emotional impact of a moment than on a surprising plot twist.

Read more
Radio Made in Michigan
11:37 am
Thu February 27, 2014

Book Review: Jim Harrison's 'Brown Dog: Novellas'

Southard says the character Brown Dog is representative of Michigan's Upper Peninsula.
Credit Grove Press

In Michigan one of the things we all accept are the supposed differences between the Upper Peninsula and the Lower Peninsula. The stereotypes haunt the residents of both regions: rural versus urban; those who are stressed versus those who are relaxed; those happy with money versus those happy in long underwear.

Read more
Radio Made in Michigan
12:51 pm
Thu February 6, 2014

Book Review: Donna Tartt's 'The Goldfinch'

'The Goldfinch' is a novel about a 13-year-old New Yorker who survives an accident that kills his mother.

Literature is a living art form.

Yes, books are printed out of dead forests and each story comes with its own customized ending or demise, but that is never really the end. Mythologist Joseph Campbell used to argue that all stories are variations on one story, what he called the hero’s journey. I always thought of that as a beautiful theory, creating a nice feeling of unity to all tales, everywhere, no matter the culture of origin.

I like to picture literature as a great tree with hundreds of branches. If one of the branches on that literary tree was Charles Dickens, the next one branching off from it would be Donna Tartt.

Read more
Radio Made in Michigan
11:25 am
Thu January 16, 2014

Book Review: Morag Joss' 'Our Picnics in the Sun'

Credit Flickr - AlexFilee

We live in a loud world. Our movies are loud. Our TV shows are loud, and the commercials are even louder. And sadly now, even our books are loud, filled with as many explosions and gunshots as any blockbuster film could ever hope to have. So in a bombastic world like ours, how does a quiet book like “Our Picnics in the Sun” by Morag Joss find publication?

Read more
Radio Made in Michigan
11:20 am
Fri December 20, 2013

Book Review: Charles Dickens' 'A Christmas Carol'

Credit Flickr - Paolo Camera

We as a culture owe Charles Dickens a big apology. War on Christmas? Ha! It’s nothing compared to the outright torture we have done to his “A Christmas Carol” since its publication in 1843.

Read more
Radio Made in Michigan
5:39 pm
Thu December 12, 2013

Book Review: Wally Lamb's 'We Are Water'

Do you remember 2009?

Barack Obama was just elected, those on the left were ecstatic, the right was growing in anger, everyone was concerned about the financial crisis, avatars and transformers were in the movie theaters, and everyone was listening to Beyonce.

Author Wally Lamb hasn’t forgotten that lost year and tries to capture the essence and feeling of the country during 2009 in his new book, “We Are Water.”

Read more
Radio Made in Michigan
10:39 am
Wed November 27, 2013

Book Review: Mitch Albom's 'The First Phone Call from Heaven'

Credit http://mitchalbom.com/

Picture a bookstore as an all-you-can-eat buffet. Can you see it? There is the salad bar, the pasta, the breakfast area with the waffle maker, the giant slab of ham or beef. Okay, let’s skip all the healthy things and aim for the dessert table. You know how at every buffet there is that one enormous piece of chocolate cake? Well, for me, Mitch Albom’s books have always been that piece of cake.

Read more
Radio Made in Michigan
1:54 pm
Thu November 14, 2013

Current State #202 | November 14, 2013

Today on Current State: the "Pure Michigan Waste" campaign; a review of Dave Eggers' "The Circle"; an American Indian Tribe and the wolf hunt in Michigan; a one-woman play on bullying; and live Turkish music.

Read more
Radio Made in Michigan
1:23 pm
Thu November 14, 2013

Book Review: Dave Eggers’ ‘The Circle’

Author Dave Eggers denies that he's guilty of plagiarizing another writer's work.
Credit Wikimedia Commons

Who owns a story?

It’s a more complicated answer than you might imagine, especially in the freedom of today’s internet age where everything seems to be becoming more and more connected.

Read more
Radio Made in Michigan
1:23 pm
Thu October 31, 2013

Current State #192 | October 31, 2013

Today on Current State: October's biggest stories in review; Comet ISON; the history of werewolves in Michigan; and a review of "The Halloween Tree".

Read more
Radio Made in Michigan
12:56 pm
Thu October 31, 2013

Book review: Ray Bradbury’s ‘The Halloween Tree’

Credit Wikimedia Commons

Christmas has "A Christmas Carol", "It’s a Wonderful Life", "Miracle on 34th Street", Halloween has… Yes, Halloween has a collection of monsters stolen from black-and-white horror movies and a long history with witches and the like, but when it comes to an actual story, a fable to be brought out each year with the pumpkins, the holiday is sadly lacking.

Read more
Radio Made in Michigan
12:55 pm
Thu October 24, 2013

Current State #186 | October 24, 2013

Today on Current State: Lansing's 'Marketplace Project'; HIV in Ingham County; what deregulation could mean for Michigan; environmental changes effect on Isle Royale; and a review of "The Ocean at the End of the Lane". 

Read more
Radio Made in Michigan
12:17 pm
Thu October 24, 2013

Book review: 'The Ocean at the End of the Lane'

Neil Gaiman’s new novel “The Ocean at the End of the Lane” has pivotal moments by a pond.
Credit Wikimedia Commons

 

Pure escapism entertainment is a hard trick to pull off in today’s fast world.

Read more
Radio Made in Michigan
2:25 pm
Thu September 26, 2013

Current State #167 | September 26, 2013

Today on Current State: Cristo Rey Community Center's new Executive Director; Public Poetry Announcement; MSU Symphony opens new season; Voices of Experience series with 'Eternal General' Frank Kelley; and Banned Books Week.

Read more
Radio Made in Michigan
2:17 pm
Thu September 26, 2013

Book Review: Banned Books Week

The Harry Potter series by J.K Rowling leads the American Library Association's top 100 list of most banned books of the past decade.
Credit Wikimedia commons

This is Banned Book Week, where once again we stop to think about our first amendment rights and think about the books that are kicked out of our libraries and schools.

Read more
Radio Made in Michigan
1:38 pm
Thu August 29, 2013

Current State #148 | August 29, 2013

Today on Current State: August's biggest's stories in review; Chicago-based "Wavelength" trains Lansing teachers using humor; 200th anniversary of Pride and Prejudice; Michigan railroads; and a film commentary on End of the World films. 

Read more
Radio Made in Michigan
1:36 pm
Thu August 29, 2013

Book Review: 200th Anniversary of Pride and Prejudice

Samuel Clemens, a.k.a. Mark Twain, once wrote, “Every time I read Pride and Prejudice, I want to dig her up and beat her over the skull with her own shin-bone.” The her in that sentence is, of course, author Jane Austen.  

This wasn't the only time Twain complained about Miss Austen. Here is another gem: “It seems a great pity that they allowed her to die a natural death.”

Now, I don’t normally disagree with Mr. Clemens, but here, I have to take an exception.

Read more