WKAR http://wkar.org en Singapore Anti-Gambling Council Loses Big On World Cup Ad http://wkar.org/post/singapore-anti-gambling-council-loses-big-world-cup-ad <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g1bs9luXZP4</p> Thu, 10 Jul 2014 14:58:00 +0000 Scott Neuman 56484 at http://wkar.org Singapore Anti-Gambling Council Loses Big On World Cup Ad No Cease-Fire In Gaza, Netanyahu Says; U.N. Calls For Calm http://wkar.org/post/no-cease-fire-gaza-netanyahu-says-un-calls-calm There are no plans to discuss a cease-fire with Hamas, says Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu, who told Israeli lawmakers today, "It's not even on the agenda." U.N. Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon is calling the burst of deadly attacks between Israel and militants "one of the most critical tests the region has faced in recent years."<p>Saying the region "can ill-afford another full-blown war," Ban <a href="http://www.un.org/apps/news/story.asp?NewsID=48237#.U76WkJRdVqM">spent much of Wednesday</a> speaking with Netanyahu and Palestinian President Mahmoud Abbas, along with Egyptian and U.S. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 14:35:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 56483 at http://wkar.org No Cease-Fire In Gaza, Netanyahu Says; U.N. Calls For Calm Math Nerd Or Bookworm? Many Of The Same Genes Shape Both Abilities http://wkar.org/post/math-nerd-or-bookworm-many-same-genes-shape-both-abilities <strong></strong>Many of us tend to align ourselves with either numbers or words. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 13:46:00 +0000 Maanvi Singh 56481 at http://wkar.org Math Nerd Or Bookworm? Many Of The Same Genes Shape Both Abilities Results Of Indonesia's Presidential Election In Limbo http://wkar.org/post/results-limbo-after-indonesias-presidential-election As rival candidates both claim victory in Indonesia's presidential election, police have joined the country's outgoing leader in calling on supporters of the two camps not to celebrate the results until the political limbo is resolved.<p>While unofficial "quick counts," appear to give Jakarta's governor, Joko Widodo, a slim lead, former army Gen. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 13:37:00 +0000 Scott Neuman 56482 at http://wkar.org Results Of Indonesia's Presidential Election In Limbo 4 Children, 2 Adults Killed In Apparent Domestic Dispute In Texas http://wkar.org/post/man-texas-kills-4-children-2-adults-apparent-domestic-dispute <em>This post was updated at 10:45 a.m. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 13:02:00 +0000 Scott Neuman 56480 at http://wkar.org Kurdish Leaders Boycott Iraqi Government Meetings http://wkar.org/post/kurdish-leaders-boycott-iraqi-government-meetings A dispute between Iraq's Shiite-led central government and the semi-autonomous Kurdish region is boiling over, as Kurdish ministers withdrew from all Cabinet meetings. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 12:04:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 56478 at http://wkar.org Kurdish Leaders Boycott Iraqi Government Meetings From Calif. Teachers, More Nuanced Views On Tenure http://wkar.org/post/calif-teachers-more-nuanced-views-tenure In the weeks since a California judge overturned the state's rules governing teacher tenure, the political noise has only grown louder. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 12:03:00 +0000 Eric Westervelt 56479 at http://wkar.org From Calif. Teachers, More Nuanced Views On Tenure Duke Bourbon Raises Challenge From University http://wkar.org/post/duke-bourbon-raises-challenge-university The estate of actor John Wayne, who was known as the Duke, wants to sell a brand of bourbon with his likeness. Duke University says the bourbon would tarnish the Duke name. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 11:47:00 +0000 editor 56477 at http://wkar.org Hackers In China Reportedly Targeted U.S. Federal Workers http://wkar.org/post/hackers-china-reportedly-targeted-us-federal-workers Chinese hackers successfully accessed U.S. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 11:26:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 56476 at http://wkar.org Fake Edward Snowden Joins Tinder http://wkar.org/post/fake-edward-snowden-joins-tinder The popular dating app Tinder has a new user: Edward Snowden. Actually, just the username Lonely Ed with the profile picture of the NSA leaker looking for love from Moscow. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 11:13:00 +0000 editor 56474 at http://wkar.org 'Breaking Bad' Expected To Get Emmy Nod For Final Season http://wkar.org/post/breaking-bad-expected-get-emmy-nod-final-season Nominations for the 2014 Emmy Awards are announced in Hollywood Thursday. The big category this year is expected to be drama with shows like True Detective, Breaking Bad, Game of Thrones and Fargo. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 11:08:00 +0000 Kim Masters 56475 at http://wkar.org China's Booming Real Estate Market Finally Begins To Slide http://wkar.org/post/chinas-booming-real-estate-market-finally-begins-slide After years of stunning growth, China's go-go real estate market is now in retreat.<p>Prices fell last month in 79 out of 100 cities, according to the China Real Estate Index run by SouFun Holdings, a real estate website. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 09:35:00 +0000 Frank Langfitt 56473 at http://wkar.org China's Booming Real Estate Market Finally Begins To Slide Detroit Shuts Off Water As It Tries To Collect Millions Owed http://wkar.org/post/detroit-shuts-water-it-tries-collect-millions-overdue-bills This year, 17,000 customers have had their water shut off because of late payments. Residents are upset with how the city is going about it, and question whether some are getting special treatment. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 09:01:00 +0000 Sarah Cwiek 56472 at http://wkar.org FBI, NSA Spied On American Muslims, Report Says http://wkar.org/post/fbi-nsa-spied-american-muslims-report-says The latest revelation from Edward Snowden's NSA trove is a story that appeared in the online publication The Intercept. Five prominent Muslim citizens say they were spied on because they're Muslims. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 09:01:00 +0000 David Welna 56471 at http://wkar.org University Of Michigan Plant Is Definitely A Late Bloomer http://wkar.org/post/university-michigan-plant-definitely-late-bloomer A botanist at the University of Michigan describes a plant that is blooming at the arboretum there for the first time in 80 years. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 09:01:00 +0000 editor 56470 at http://wkar.org From McDonald's To Organic Valley, You're Probably Eating Wood Pulp http://wkar.org/post/mcdonalds-organic-valley-youre-probably-eating-wood-pulp Do not be alarmed, but you may be eating wood pulp. Or at least an additive that started out as wood.<p>If you buy shredded cheeses, including brands such as Organic Valley and Sargento, or hit the drive-through at McDonald's for a breakfast sandwich or a smoothie, or douse some ribs with bottled barbecue sauce, there's likely some cellulose that's been added to your food.<p>Cellulose is basically plant fiber, and one of the most common sources is wood pulp. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 07:29:00 +0000 Allison Aubrey 56466 at http://wkar.org From McDonald's To Organic Valley, You're Probably Eating Wood Pulp The Little Spacecraft That Couldn't http://wkar.org/post/little-spacecraft-couldnt An audacious quest to reconnect with a vintage NASA spacecraft has suffered a serious setback and is now pretty much over.<p>The satellite launched in 1978 and has been in a long, looping orbit around the sun for about three decades. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 07:28:00 +0000 Nell Greenfieldboyce 56467 at http://wkar.org The Little Spacecraft That Couldn't Bingeing On Bad News Can Fuel Daily Stress http://wkar.org/post/binging-bad-news-can-fuel-daily-stress If you're feeling stressed these days, the news media may be partly to blame.<p>At least that's the suggestion of <a href="http://www.rwjf.org/en/research-publications/find-rwjf-research/2014/07/the-burden-of-stress-in-america.html">a national survey </a>conducted by NPR, the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and the Harvard School of Public Health.<p>The survey of more than 2,500 Americans found that about 1 in 4 said they had experienced a "great deal" of stress in the previous month. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 07:27:00 +0000 Jon Hamilton 56468 at http://wkar.org Bingeing On Bad News Can Fuel Daily Stress Could A Socialist Senator Become A National Brand? http://wkar.org/post/could-socialist-senator-become-national-brand As members of Congress continue hammering out a bill to improve the Department of Veterans Affairs' <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/health/2014/06/04/318827245/va-health-cares-chronic-ailments-long-waits-and-red-tape">beleaguered health care system</a>, attention has focused on one man leading the charge: Bernie Sanders, Independent senator from Vermont and a self-described socialist.<p>Sanders barely got 2 percent of the vote when he first tried breaking into Vermont politics in the 1970s, but now there's buzz that the man known simply as "Bernie" may be a presidential candidate in 2016.<p> Thu, 10 Jul 2014 07:23:00 +0000 Ailsa Chang 56469 at http://wkar.org Could A Socialist Senator Become A National Brand? Obama Turns To Gov. Perry In Seeking A Solution To Border Crisis http://wkar.org/post/obama-turns-gov-perry-seeking-solution-border-crisis After a meeting with Texas Gov. Rick Perry, President Obama addressed the influx of migrant children on the U.S.-Mexico border. He signaled his openness to Perry's solutions, saying he'd consider deploying the National Guard, but also called on Congress to offer solutions of its own. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 00:29:00 +0000 Robert Siegel 56465 at http://wkar.org For Kids In Immigration Court, Legal Counsel Is Catch As Catch Can http://wkar.org/post/kids-immigration-court-legal-counsel-catch-catch-can The American Civil Liberties Union and other groups sued the federal government Wednesday for its failure to provide legal representation to immigrant children in deportation proceedings.<p>The <a href="https://www.aclu.org/blog/immigrants-rights/children-shouldnt-be-left-alone-immigration-court">class-action lawsuit</a> was filed on behalf of eight immigrants — ages 10 to 17 — who the ACLU says have not been able to find a lawyer. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 23:21:00 +0000 John Burnett 56463 at http://wkar.org For Kids In Immigration Court, Legal Counsel Is Catch As Catch Can Interpreting The IRS Emails, Washington-Style http://wkar.org/post/interpreting-irs-emails-washington-style Here's the biggest recurring theme in the IRS controversy — the one about alleged targeting of conservative groups seeking tax-exempt status.<p>Throughout the yearlong investigation, congressional Republicans and Democrats have not only highlighted their own evidence but also taken the same evidence and drawn diametrically opposed conclusions.<p>The latest example came Wednesday afternoon, at a subcommittee hearing of the House Oversight and Government Reform Committee. Officially, the subject was a separate IRS issue. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 23:20:00 +0000 Peter Overby 56464 at http://wkar.org Interpreting The IRS Emails, Washington-Style Last-Resort Antibiotics In Jeopardy As Use Rises Globally http://wkar.org/post/last-resort-antibiotics-jeopardy-use-rises-globally The total doses of antibiotics sold in clinics and pharmacies around the world rose 36 percent from 2000 to 2010, scientists reported Wednesday.<p>The finding, <a href="http://www.thelancet.com/journals/laninf/issue/current">published</a> in <em>The Lancet Infectious </em><em>Disease,</em> comes from the first study to look at global antibiotic consumption in the 21st century. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 23:18:00 +0000 editor 56462 at http://wkar.org Last-Resort Antibiotics In Jeopardy As Use Rises Globally Report Says FBI, NSA Spied On American Muslims http://wkar.org/post/report-says-fbi-nsa-spied-american-muslims Reporters Glenn Greenwald and Murtaza Hussain say, <a href="https://firstlook.org/theintercept/article/2014/07/09/under-surveillance/">in the online news website Intercept</a>, that based on information provided by Edward Snowden they have evidence that<strong> </strong>the FBI and NSA used covert surveillance on the email accounts of 202 American Muslims.<p>The five men named in the story include a lawyer, Asim Ghafoor, a GOP operative named Faisal Gill, Rutgers University professor Hooshang Amirahmadi, activist Agha Saeed, and Nihad Awad, the executive director of the Council of American-Isl Wed, 09 Jul 2014 22:33:00 +0000 NPR Staff 56461 at http://wkar.org Report Says FBI, NSA Spied On American Muslims An Actor, A University And A Famous Name Lead To A Lawsuit http://wkar.org/post/actor-university-and-famous-name-lead-lawsuit What do you think of when you hear the name Duke? That question is at the heart of a legal dispute between Duke University and the estate of John Wayne.<p>Fans of the late film star will recall that he went by the nickname "Duke," which his <a href="http://www.nytimes.com/2014/03/30/books/review/scott-eymans-john-wayne-the-life-and-legend.html" target="_blank">biographers have pointed</a> out he picked up in childhood from a dog. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 22:33:00 +0000 Alan Greenblatt 56460 at http://wkar.org An Actor, A University And A Famous Name Lead To A Lawsuit Should President Obama Visit The Texas Border? http://wkar.org/post/should-president-obama-visit-texas-border Much of President Obama's presidency currently falls into the category of damned if he does, damned if he doesn't.<p>That certainly is true on the question of whether he should visit the U.S.-Mexico border during his two-day visit to Texas.<p>Some have even taken <a href="http://onpolitics.usatoday.com/2014/07/07/cuellar-obama-immigration-border-katrina/">to asking</a> if this isn't Obama's "Katrina moment," an allusion to President George W. Bush's 2005 failure to immediately visit the hurricane-ravaged Gulf Coast once the storm had passed. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 21:59:00 +0000 Frank James 56458 at http://wkar.org Should President Obama Visit The Texas Border? On Calif. Cattle Ranch, Students Wrangle With Meaning Of Manhood http://wkar.org/post/calif-cattle-ranch-students-wrangle-meaning-manhood <em>For </em>All Things Considered<em>'s </em>"<a href="http://www.npr.org/series/323986426/men-in-america">Men in America</a>"<em> series, NPR's Kelly McEvers sent this report on Deep Springs College — the all-male college that her husband attended, and where he and McEvers have both taught. </em><p>About a hundred years ago, a man named L.L. Nunn was building power plants in the American West. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 21:52:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 56457 at http://wkar.org Is Foster Farms A Food Safety Pioneer Or A Persistent Offender? http://wkar.org/post/foster-farms-food-safety-pioneer-or-persistent-offender Foster Farms, a chicken producer in California, just can't seem to stop bleeding bad news.<p>On July 3, it <a href="https://fosterfarms.com/about/press/press_release.asp?press_release_id=183">recalled</a> several batches of chicken products because a chicken breast from one of those batches is blamed for poisoning someone with salmonella bacteria. The recall came on top of an <a href="http://www.cdc.gov/salmonella/heidelberg-10-13/map.html">outbreak</a> of salmonella that's been going on since October 2013. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 21:35:00 +0000 Daniel Charles 56459 at http://wkar.org Is Foster Farms A Food Safety Pioneer Or A Persistent Offender? Another Audit Says Michigan Has Failed To Protect Vulnerable Adults http://wkar.org/post/another-audit-says-michigan-has-failed-protect-vulnerable-adults <p>A new state audit is again calling into question how well the state protects vulnerable adults.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Wed, 09 Jul 2014 21:26:37 +0000 Jake Neher 56456 at http://wkar.org Another Audit Says Michigan Has Failed To Protect Vulnerable Adults Clash In Nashville: A Property Battle On Music Row Draws A Crowd http://wkar.org/post/clash-nashville-property-battle-music-row-draws-crowd News that a Nashville developer is paying $4.4 million for a half-century-old recording studio has sparked a battle in Music City. On one side is singer-songwriter <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15294227/ben-folds" target="_blank">Ben Folds</a>, inspired by the musical history made in that studio. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 21:19:00 +0000 editor 56455 at http://wkar.org Clash In Nashville: A Property Battle On Music Row Draws A Crowd