Council, mayoral candidates file for City of Lansing primary

East Lansing, MI – East Lansing, MI (WKAR) - Yesterday was the deadline to register to run for mayor and four open city council seats in Lansing.

City councilmember Carol Wood, attorney Charles Ford and local musician Ben Hassenger are looking to unseat incumbent Mayor Virg Bernero.

Six candidates have filed to run for two open at large seats on the city council, including incumbents Brian Jeffries and Kathie Dunbar and former councilmember Harold Leeman.

Second Ward councilmember Sandy Allen has four challenges.

Fourth Ward representative Tim Kaltenbach is not running for reelection. There are five people running for his seat.

City Clerk Chris Swope is unopposed.

Mayor: Charles Ford, Virg Bernero (i), Carol Wood, Benjamin Hassenger

City Clerk: Chris Swope (i)

At Large: Rina Risper, Brain C. Jeffries (i), Harold J. Leeman Jr., Gregory Frens, Shelton James Phillips, Kathie Dunbar(i)

2nd Ward: Sandy Allen (i), Bryan Decker, Jimmie Currin Sr., Tina Houghton, Jonathan Solis

4th Ward: Chris Lewless, Tom Truscott, Cindy Redman, Jessica Yorko, Dennis Burdick