Support WKAR http://wkar.org en Dr. Wayne Dyer, Mich. Out-of-Doors, Party Songs - TV Specials Ahead http://wkar.org/post/dr-wayne-dyer-mich-out-doors-party-songs-tv-specials-ahead <p>For 60 years now, WKAR TV has been a part of this community, bringing the world to mid-Michigan. But we can only do that with the continuing support of people just like you. Wed, 04 Jun 2014 12:41:55 +0000 editor 54695 at http://wkar.org Dr. Wayne Dyer, Mich. Out-of-Doors, Party Songs - TV Specials Ahead Suze Orman, Doc Martin, Earthflight, Magic - TV Specials Ahead! http://wkar.org/post/suze-orman-doc-martin-earthflight-magic-tv-specials-ahead <p><span style="font-size:14px;"><span style="font-family: arial,helvetica,sans-serif;">Your favorites and more special TV shows are in store for you from WKAR over the next few days -- and each offers great thank-you gifts when you watch and call or <a href="https://support.wkar.org/allegpublic/WebModuleV862/Donate.aspx?P=WTVMAIN&amp;PAGETYPE=PLG&amp;CHECK=qaJgp2lRA0iB30noQ8KlKezWDeZ%2beA1M">Give Now to WKAR</a>.</span></span></p><p><span style="font-size:14px;"><span style="font-family: arial,helvetica,sans-serif;">Some highlights include:</span></span></p> Fri, 30 May 2014 21:20:40 +0000 editor 54517 at http://wkar.org Suze Orman, Doc Martin, Earthflight, Magic - TV Specials Ahead! Make a Gift, Plant a Tree http://wkar.org/post/make-gift-plant-tree <p>This Earth Day, April 22, a gift in any amount can help make our Earth greener. Sun, 30 Mar 2014 20:44:00 +0000 editor 51434 at http://wkar.org Make a Gift, Plant a Tree The Soul Of The World's Most Expensive Violin http://wkar.org/post/soul-worlds-most-expensive-violin <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qa4ZUTWJlKU</p> Thu, 20 Mar 2014 19:15:01 +0000 NPR Staff 50957 at http://wkar.org The Soul Of The World's Most Expensive Violin Strings and Seasons When You Support WKAR http://wkar.org/post/strings-and-seasons-when-you-support-wkar <p><strong>Elderly Instruments: All Things Strings</strong> and <strong>The Four Seasons: The Vivaldi Album</strong> are thank-you gifts available to you when you support WKAR Radio at certain levels. | <a href="https://support.wkar.org/allegpublic/WebModuleV862/Donate.aspx?P=WRMAIN&amp;PAGETYPE=PLG&amp;CHECK=fY9WsfdwAl6CpDRh%2bWheQRiCxtaFReuS">Give Now</a></p><p> Wed, 19 Mar 2014 05:37:56 +0000 editor 50867 at http://wkar.org Strings and Seasons When You Support WKAR Italy, Doc Martin, Wayne Dyer, Mister Rogers and more http://wkar.org/post/italy-doc-martin-wayne-dyer-mister-rogers-and-more <p>Warm up with WKAR TV in the days ahead! You'll find specials and favorites this week, along with great thank you gifts when you watch and call or <a href="https://support.wkar.org/allegpublic/WebModuleV862/Donate.aspx?P=WTVMAIN&amp;PAGETYPE=PLG&amp;CHECK=qaJgp2lRA0iB30noQ8KlKezWDeZ%2beA1M">Give Now to WKAR TV</a>. Sat, 01 Mar 2014 05:00:00 +0000 editor 50058 at http://wkar.org Italy, Doc Martin, Wayne Dyer, Mister Rogers and more Celebrating 60 Years and Beyond http://wkar.org/post/celebrating-60-years-and-beyond <p>WKAR-TV first went on the air January 15, 1954. Today, in 2014, WKAR-TV continues to build upon 60 years of service to the mid-Michigan community, bringing you WKAR originals, the best from PBS, and community events that bring together people and ideas to <strong>Expand Your World</strong>. |&nbsp; <a href="http://wkar.org/give-now-support-wkar-your-community">Make a gift to WKAR-TV</a></p><p> Mon, 13 Jan 2014 20:55:23 +0000 editor 47922 at http://wkar.org Celebrating 60 Years and Beyond Counting Down 2013 - Your Gift Today Keeps WKAR Strong in 2014 http://wkar.org/post/counting-down-2013-your-gift-today-keeps-wkar-strong-2014 <p></p><p><strong>December 31, 2013</strong> | There are only a few hours remaining for you to make an additional gift to WKAR for the 2013 tax year. The dollars you share today come back to you each and every day of the year as TV and radio that matter in your community.<br /> Tue, 31 Dec 2013 14:15:42 +0000 editor 47353 at http://wkar.org Counting Down 2013 - Your Gift Today Keeps WKAR Strong in 2014 Buck Night, Celtic Woman, Sweetie-licious and more http://wkar.org/post/buck-night-celtic-woman-sweetie-licious-and-more <p></p><p>We hope you've been enjoying the special TV shows from WKAR in your home this week. Thu, 12 Dec 2013 14:14:26 +0000 editor 46571 at http://wkar.org Buck Night, Celtic Woman, Sweetie-licious and more Sweetie-licious: A Taste of the Season http://wkar.org/post/sweetie-licious-taste-season <p><strong>Sun Dec. 15 at 10am on WKAR-HD and at 5:30pm on WKAR World |&nbsp; </strong>Watch and call or <a href="https://support.wkar.org/allegpublic/WebModuleV862/Donate.aspx?P=WTVMAIN&amp;PAGETYPE=PLG&amp;CHECK=qaJgp2lRA0iB30noQ8KlKezWDeZ%2beA1M">Give Now Online</a> for special thank you gift offers. Sat, 07 Dec 2013 17:59:01 +0000 27499 at http://wkar.org Sweetie-licious: A Taste of the Season MSU Student Volunteers Making a Difference http://wkar.org/post/msu-student-volunteers-making-difference <p><span style="font: 13.0px Arial">Thank you Michigan State University Public Relations Student Society of America for taking calls Friday in the 90.5 FM Studio during the WKAR Fall Fundraising Drive!</span> Sun, 06 Oct 2013 12:23:22 +0000 Editor 43384 at http://wkar.org MSU Student Volunteers Making a Difference 65! Happy Birthday 90.5 FM http://wkar.org/post/65-happy-birthday-905-fm <p></p><p>Are you ready for a celebration? We hope you can join us this week in recognizing a milestone for mid-Michigan and WKAR. <strong>65 years ago, on October 4, FM broadcasting on 90.5 was born</strong>. Fri, 04 Oct 2013 04:00:00 +0000 43290 at http://wkar.org 65! Happy Birthday 90.5 FM Help Shorten Fall Membership Campaign http://wkar.org/post/help-shorten-fall-membership-campaign <p>You probably prefer listening to high-quality music, news and information more than on-air fundraising on WKAR.</p><p>In the days ahead, you have the opportunity to shorten WKAR's upcoming Fall Membership campaign.</p> Mon, 23 Sep 2013 12:29:12 +0000 Peter Whorf 42712 at http://wkar.org Help Shorten Fall Membership Campaign The British Beat http://wkar.org/post/british-beat <p><strong>8pm Monday Aug. 12 on WKAR-TV</strong> | Watch and call or <a href="https://support.wkar.org/allegpublic/WebModuleV862/Donate.aspx?P=WTVMAIN&amp;PAGETYPE=PLG&amp;CHECK=qaJgp2lRA0iB30noQ8KlKezWDeZ%2beA1M">Give Now to WKAR-TV</a> Sun, 11 Aug 2013 13:24:31 +0000 40605 at http://wkar.org The British Beat TV SPECIALS: Beat, Heart, Legacy, Foyle's, Estefan http://wkar.org/post/tv-specials-beat-heart-legacy-foyles-estefan <!-- content starts here --><p>The next days of TV specials offer you <strong>Lots to Like</strong>. You can do more than enjoy the arts through WKAR -- you can also go backstage and learn about the creative process, explore the roots of your favorite music or find out what motivates your favorite actors. Sat, 10 Aug 2013 04:00:00 +0000 40604 at http://wkar.org TV SPECIALS: Beat, Heart, Legacy, Foyle's, Estefan TV SPECIALS: Tony, Emeli, Rick, Jerry, Groovy, Albert, Stevie http://wkar.org/post/tv-specials-tony-emeli-rick-jerry-groovy-albert-stevie <p>You'll find <strong>Lots to Like</strong> on WKAR TV over&nbsp;the next few days. Tune in for more of those unexpected discoveries. Maybe you'll notice a new singer who inspires you or experience a historical moment in time that's new to you! Tue, 06 Aug 2013 19:57:02 +0000 40329 at http://wkar.org TV SPECIALS: Tony, Emeli, Rick, Jerry, Groovy, Albert, Stevie Lots to Like: Rock Symphony, Steves, Jimmy Dean, Abbey, Laurie http://wkar.org/post/lots-rock-symphony-steves-jimmy-dean-abbey-laurie <p>You'll find <strong>Lots to Like</strong> on WKAR TV over&nbsp;the next few days. It's a world of entertainment that can take you across the country, around the world, and back again. Fri, 02 Aug 2013 12:53:45 +0000 40097 at http://wkar.org Lots to Like: Rock Symphony, Steves, Jimmy Dean, Abbey, Laurie Classical Music Endowment - Give Now http://wkar.org/post/classical-music-endowment-give-now <p>On Monday, WKAR Radio is holding a one-day pledge drive to support the classical music you love. Your pledge will be dedicated to WKAR's commitment to classical music and will become part of the <strong>WKAR Classical Music Endowment</strong>.</p><p>You enjoy and depend on classical music here on WKAR. <a href="http://www.elabs6.com/c.html?ufl=9&amp;rtr=on&amp;s=m74,1a1r4,mnf,cfir,2jym,cqhx,7vo0">Give Now Online</a> or <strong>call 517 353-5000&nbsp;</strong> to donate to the <strong>Classical Music Endowment</strong> -- where your donation can be used only to support classical music in mid-Michigan from WKAR. Mon, 24 Jun 2013 13:47:50 +0000 Peter Whorf 38077 at http://wkar.org Classical Music Endowment - Give Now TV SPECIALS: Travel, Motown, Magic, Soul, Moments http://wkar.org/post/tv-specials-travel-motown-magic-soul-moments <p>You'll find <strong>Lots to Like</strong> over&nbsp;the next few days as the specials continue on WKAR-TV. Thu, 13 Jun 2013 11:31:55 +0000 37496 at http://wkar.org TV SPECIALS: Travel, Motown, Magic, Soul, Moments Lots to Like: Broadway, Morrison, Sullivan, Soul, Doo Wop, Woody, Mosley http://wkar.org/post/lots-broadway-morrison-sullivan-soul-doo-wop-woody-mosley <p>You'll find <strong>Lots to Like on WKAR TV</strong> over&nbsp;the next few days. Each special program offers great thank you gifts when you watch and call or <a href="https://support.wkar.org/allegpublic/WebModuleV862/Donate.aspx?P=WTVMAIN&amp;PAGETYPE=PLG&amp;CHECK=qaJgp2lRA0iB30noQ8KlKezWDeZ%2beA1M">Give Now to WKAR</a>. Thu, 06 Jun 2013 21:54:22 +0000 37151 at http://wkar.org Lots to Like: Broadway, Morrison, Sullivan, Soul, Doo Wop, Woody, Mosley Please Help Us Keep WKAR Radio Pledge Free! http://wkar.org/post/please-help-us-keep-wkar-radio-pledge-free <p></p><p>Here at WKAR Radio we are grateful to you and others like you for the pledges received this April.&nbsp; It’s due to member support that we can bring you the classical music you love and the news programs that keep you informed every day of the week.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 21 May 2013 15:03:20 +0000 Jeanie Croope 36197 at http://wkar.org Please Help Us Keep WKAR Radio Pledge Free! Arbor Day! Give Now and Plant a Tree http://wkar.org/post/arbor-day-give-now-and-plant-tree <p>Help WKAR beautify mid-Michigan with your support to WKAR. Fri, 26 Apr 2013 12:59:59 +0000 34884 at http://wkar.org Arbor Day! Give Now and Plant a Tree TODAY! 1,000 Pledges, 1,000 Trees http://wkar.org/post/today-1000-pledges-1000-trees <p><strong><span class="submitted">Make a Pledge, Plant a Tree! | Special pledge drive on WKAR Radio and TV. </span></strong><strong><a href="https://support.wkar.org/allegpublic/WebModuleV862/Donate.aspx?P=WRMAIN&amp;PAGETYPE=PLG&amp;CHECK=fY9WsfdwAl6CpDRh%2bWheQRiCxtaFReuS">Pledge here to Radio</a> | <a href="https://support.wkar.org/allegpublic/WebModuleV862/Donate.aspx?P=WTVMAIN&amp;PAGETYPE=PLG&amp;CHECK=qaJgp2lRA0iB30noQ8KlKezWDeZ%2beA1M">Pledge here to TV</a></strong></p><p></p><p> Mon, 22 Apr 2013 04:01:00 +0000 Jeanie Croope 34505 at http://wkar.org TODAY! 1,000 Pledges, 1,000 Trees WKAR Radio Membership Campaign http://wkar.org/post/wkar-radio-membership-campaign <p><strong>WKAR Radio's annual April on-air membership campaign continues with a goal of $150,000.</strong></p><p> Fri, 05 Apr 2013 16:58:03 +0000 Jeanie Croope 33843 at http://wkar.org WKAR Radio Membership Campaign Answer a Call, Make a Difference http://wkar.org/post/answer-call-make-difference <p>"Thank you for calling WKAR - may I take your pledge?"</p><p>You can be that cheerful voice when a fan calls during a WKAR on-air fundraising drive. Volunteering to answer phones in the WKAR-TV Volunteer Center or the WKAR Radio Studios is a great way to support your community and public media for mid-Michigan.</p><p> Tue, 26 Feb 2013 14:31:28 +0000 21875 at http://wkar.org Answer a Call, Make a Difference Counting Down 2012 http://wkar.org/post/counting-down-2012 <p>There are only a few days remaining to make an additional gift to WKAR for the 2012 tax year. The dollars you share this week come back to you each and every day of the year as TV and radio that matter in your community. Thu, 27 Dec 2012 13:39:50 +0000 28812 at http://wkar.org What to Our Wondering Eyes Did Appear? http://wkar.org/post/what-our-wondering-eyes-did-appear <p>We can't resist adding our own spin to a favorite holiday poem. We hope you enjoy it! Wed, 19 Dec 2012 04:06:25 +0000 28481 at http://wkar.org What to Our Wondering Eyes Did Appear? Experience the Joy of Giving http://wkar.org/post/experience-joy-giving <p>There are many joyful benefits to making a <a href="http://wkar.org/give-now-support-wkar-and-your-community">year-end gift to WKAR</a>.</p><p> Wed, 05 Dec 2012 16:54:53 +0000 27866 at http://wkar.org Experience the Joy of Giving Nature: Animal Odd Couples http://wkar.org/post/nature-animal-odd-couples <p><strong>8 p.m. Wednesday, Dec. 5 on WKAR-TV.</strong> Watch and call or <a href="https://support.wkar.org/allegpublic/WebModuleV862/Donate.aspx?P=WTVMAIN&amp;PAGETYPE=PLG&amp;CHECK=qaJgp2lRA0iB30noQ8KlKezWDeZ%2beA1M">Give Now Online</a> for special thank you gift offers.</p><p> Wed, 05 Dec 2012 16:08:24 +0000 27624 at http://wkar.org Nature: Animal Odd Couples Blenko, Barbra, Andy, Doo Wop, Downton http://wkar.org/post/blenko-barbra-andy-doo-wop-downton <p>More specials this week! Please watch and call with your pledge in the days ahead, or <a href="https://support.wkar.org/allegpublic/WebModuleV862/Donate.aspx?P=WTVMAIN&amp;PAGETYPE=PLG&amp;CHECK=qaJgp2lRA0iB30noQ8KlKezWDeZ%2beA1M">Give Now Online</a>. Mon, 03 Dec 2012 12:56:35 +0000 27744 at http://wkar.org Blenko, Barbra, Andy, Doo Wop, Downton