Radio Made in Michigan http://wkar.org en Remembering WJR legend J.P. McCarthy http://wkar.org/post/remembering-wjr-legend-jp-mccarthy <p></p><p>Eighteen years ago this morning brought the sad news of the death of beloved Detroit radio personality J.P. McCarthy. McCarthy ruled the morning radio airwaves at <a href="http://www.wjr.com/"><em>WJR</em></a> for 30 years. <em>Current State</em> contributor Russ White worked with McCarthy for the last five years of J.P.'s life and has this remembrance of the great voice of the Great Lakes.</p> Fri, 16 Aug 2013 18:26:16 +0000 Current State 40891 at http://wkar.org Remembering WJR legend J.P. McCarthy Radio Reader May Update http://wkar.org/post/radio-reader-may-update <p>Dick Estell is reading "The Cove," by Ron Rash through May 21.</p><p>"Mile Marker Zero" by WIlliam McKeen will begin May 22.</p><p>For more on <strong>The Radio Reader</strong>, visit Dick Estell's <a href="http://radioreader.net/">Website.</a></p> Thu, 23 May 2013 19:46:33 +0000 Jeanie Croope 36347 at http://wkar.org Starts Monday! Current Sports with Al Martin http://wkar.org/post/starts-monday-current-sports-al-martin <p><strong>Current Sports</strong> <strong>with Al Martin</strong> premieres Monday, May 13 at 1 p.m.&nbsp; The new radio talk show from WKAR tackles sports topics in depth, with special guests and listener interaction, while exploring new ground. Tue, 07 May 2013 17:17:17 +0000 Jeanie Croope 35409 at http://wkar.org Starts Monday! Current Sports with Al Martin Allen (Al) Martin Jr. Joins WKAR as Sports Producer/Host http://wkar.org/post/allen-al-martin-jr-joins-wkar-sports-producerhost <p>Allen (Al) L. Martin Jr. has joined public broadcasting station WKAR as its new sports producer and host.</p><p></p><p> Thu, 11 Apr 2013 21:25:14 +0000 Jeanie Croope 34124 at http://wkar.org Allen (Al) Martin Jr. Joins WKAR as Sports Producer/Host Apr. 25 | MSU Wind Symphony on MSU Faculty Recital Series http://wkar.org/post/apr-25-msu-wind-symphony-msu-faculty-recital-series <p>WKAR Radio will wrap up its debut season of <strong>MSU Faculty Recital Series </strong>with the MSU Wind Symphony on Thursday, April 25, at 7:30 p.m. Mon, 08 Apr 2013 04:48:10 +0000 Jeanie Croope 33655 at http://wkar.org Apr. 25 | MSU Wind Symphony on MSU Faculty Recital Series WKAR Radio Membership Campaign http://wkar.org/post/wkar-radio-membership-campaign <p><strong>WKAR Radio's annual April on-air membership campaign continues with a goal of $150,000.</strong></p><p> Fri, 05 Apr 2013 16:58:03 +0000 Jeanie Croope 33843 at http://wkar.org WKAR Radio Membership Campaign WKAR Radio Brings Local Classical Music to Saturdays http://wkar.org/post/wkar-radio-brings-local-classical-music-saturdays <p>Peter Whorf's <strong>What's New at WKAR&nbsp; </strong>and Jody Knol's <strong>90.5 Community&nbsp; Concerts </strong>can now be heard twice each week as WKAR expands it's local classical hours to include Saturday afternoons. | <a href="https://support.wkar.org/allegpublic/WebModuleV862/Donate.aspx?P=WRMAIN&amp;PAGETYPE=PLG&amp;CHECK=fY9WsfdwAl6CpDRh%2bWheQRiCxtaFReuS">Give Now Online</a> to support local classical music on the air in mid-Michigan. Wed, 27 Mar 2013 20:05:05 +0000 Jeanie Croope 33312 at http://wkar.org WKAR Radio Brings Local Classical Music to Saturdays New Classical Radio Programs Debut in December http://wkar.org/post/new-classical-radio-programs-debut-december <p>Brand New on 90.5 WKAR!&nbsp; <strong>MSU Faculty Recital Series </strong>premieres<strong> </strong>Wednesday, December 5, at 7:30 p.m. <strong>What’s</strong><strong> New on WKAR</strong>, premieres Friday, December 7, at 2 p.m. Fri, 30 Nov 2012 22:00:00 +0000 Jeanie Croope 27614 at http://wkar.org New Classical Radio Programs Debut in December My Community. My WKAR. Your Voice. http://wkar.org/post/my-community-my-wkar-your-voice <p>Our WKAR news team will come to your place of business, a park, school, shopping area or another area site to record the sounds of your world and you! Fri, 30 Nov 2012 14:51:14 +0000 Jeanie Croope 27233 at http://wkar.org My Community. My WKAR. Your Voice. Peter Whorf-Timothy Muffitt On the Air! http://wkar.org/post/peter-whorf-timothy-muffitt-air <p>WKAR Radio station manager Peter Whorf will host 90.5 Classical on Wednesday, October 3, from 10-12 with special guest Timothy Muffitt, Music Director and Conductor of the Lansing Symphony Orchestra.</p><p>The two will preview the Lansing Symphony Orchestra's 2012/2013 through discussion and various recordings. Some of Maestro Muffitt's favorite compositions will be included in the segment.</p> Tue, 02 Oct 2012 14:29:21 +0000 Jeanie Croope 24792 at http://wkar.org Peter Whorf-Timothy Muffitt On the Air! Fall Preview Brings Exciting Changes to WKAR! http://wkar.org/post/fall-preview-brings-exciting-changes-wkar <p>Nearly 200 guests filled Studio A on September 6 as the new season for WKAR Public Media was revealed. Fri, 07 Sep 2012 14:47:16 +0000 Jeanie Croope 23547 at http://wkar.org Fall Preview Brings Exciting Changes to WKAR! WKAR Radio Celebrates 90 Years! http://wkar.org/post/wkar-radio-celebrates-90-years <p>Saturday, August 18, marks 90 years of broadcasting on WKAR.</p><p>Although the station&#39;s first &quot;official&quot; broadcast was a founder&#39;s day speech on May 13 of that year, it wasn&#39;t until August 18, 1922, that WKAR was granted a federal license.</p><p>J.B. &quot;Jimmy&quot; Hasselman was the station&#39;s first director, and its first transmitter was built by electrical engineering students in 111 Olds Hall. Until then it was a student radio station.</p> Tue, 14 Aug 2012 16:54:44 +0000 Jeanie Croope 22257 at http://wkar.org WKAR Radio Celebrates 90 Years! A New Book for Radio Reader http://wkar.org/post/new-book-radio-reader <p>Dick Estell begins reading <em>Anatomy of Injustice by Raymond Bonner, </em>on August 17. He will conclude <em>The Great Northern Express</em> by Howard Frank Mosher, on August 16. <strong>The Radio Reader </strong>is heard weekdays at 8:30 a.m., on AM/870.</p><p>On August 17, <em>Anatomy of Injustice</em> by Raymond Bonner begins. It is a lucid, page-turning account of the trials and death row appeals of Edward Lee Elmore, a quiet and mentally challenged African-American man accused of the murder of an elderly white woman in South Carolina in 1982.</p> Mon, 13 Aug 2012 18:46:02 +0000 Jeanie Croope 22195 at http://wkar.org A New Book for Radio Reader