health insurance http://wkar.org en Health plans rep explains Michigan abortion insurance change http://wkar.org/post/health-plans-rep-explains-michigan-abortion-insurance-change <p></p><p dir="ltr" style="line-height:1.15;margin-top:0pt;margin-bottom:0pt;">T<span style="font-size:16px;font-family:Cambria;color:#000000;background-color:transparent;font-weight:bold;font-style:normal;font-variant:normal;text-decoration:none;vertical-align:baseline;">he new</span><span style="font-size:16px;font-family:Arial;color:#2c2c2c;background-color:transparent;font-weight:bold;font-style:normal;font-variant:normal;text-decoration:none;vertical-align:baseline;"> ‘<a href="http://michigansvoice.com/Read_Legislation.htm">Abortion Insurance Opt-Out Act</a>’ bans insurance companies from offering coverage for the procedure as a standard part of a policy. Persons wanting the coverage will need to purchase a separate “rider” for their policy.</span> Thu, 13 Mar 2014 19:36:16 +0000 Joe Linstroth 50597 at http://wkar.org Health plans rep explains Michigan abortion insurance change Enroll America, Ingham County step up health care outreach http://wkar.org/post/enroll-america-ingham-county-step-health-care-outreach <p></p><p>By virtually all accounts, the roll out of the Affordable Care Act has been shaky at best. The website, healthcare.gov, was virtually unusable for October and into November. But lately, reports are showing that the website’s improved considerably and, correspondingly, the number of people signing up for the health care exchanges is growing. Fri, 13 Dec 2013 17:51:39 +0000 Current State 46639 at http://wkar.org Enroll America, Ingham County step up health care outreach Michigan Lawmakers Mull $31M For Health Care Exchange http://wkar.org/post/michigan-lawmakers-mull-31m-health-care-exchange <p><br>Governor Rick Snyder's administration is asking lawmakers to quickly authorize spending $31 million to help run an online marketplace where hundreds of thousands of people can start shopping for health insurance later this year.</p><p></p><p> Wed, 13 Feb 2013 22:13:05 +0000 The Associated Press 31117 at http://wkar.org Michigan Lawmakers Mull $31M For Health Care Exchange Bill Sponsor Hopes Blue Cross Overhaul Will Pass Quickly Without Abortion Language http://wkar.org/post/bill-sponsor-hopes-blue-cross-overhaul-will-pass-quickly-without-abortion-language <p>Some state lawmakers say they hope to pass an overhaul of Blue Cross-Blue Shield of Michigan after dropping some controversial abortion language.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Fri, 04 Jan 2013 23:13:39 +0000 Jake Neher 29185 at http://wkar.org Bill Sponsor Hopes Blue Cross Overhaul Will Pass Quickly Without Abortion Language Judge Halts Contraceptive Mandate For Mich. Firm http://wkar.org/post/judge-halts-contraceptive-mandate-mich-firm <p>A federal judge has ruled a property management company owned by the founder of Domino's Pizza doesn't have to immediately implement mandatory contraception coverage in the health care law.</p><p></p><p> Tue, 01 Jan 2013 14:28:51 +0000 The Associated Press 29010 at http://wkar.org Judge Halts Contraceptive Mandate For Mich. Firm Snyder Vetoes Blue Cross Overhaul Over Abortion Coverage http://wkar.org/post/snyder-vetoes-blue-cross-overhaul-over-abortion-coverage <p>Governor Rick Snyder has vetoed an overhaul of Blue Cross-Blue Shield of Michigan because the legislation would require insurance companies to offer separate coverage for abortions. But he signed new regulations on clinics that perform abortions that could force some of them to shut down.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Fri, 28 Dec 2012 23:38:18 +0000 Rick Pluta 28904 at http://wkar.org Snyder Vetoes Blue Cross Overhaul Over Abortion Coverage Medical Marijuana Bills Go To Floor Of State House http://wkar.org/post/medical-marijuana-bills-go-floor-state-house <p>Patients might have to pay out of their own pockets for medical marijuana if lawmakers pass two bills in the state House.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p></p><p></p><p> Fri, 30 Nov 2012 23:10:35 +0000 Jake Neher 27694 at http://wkar.org Medical Marijuana Bills Go To Floor Of State House Snyder-Backed Insurance Exchange Likely Dead http://wkar.org/post/snyder-backed-insurance-exchange-likely-dead-0 <p>The Legislature is wrapping up the first week of its “lame duck” session with lots of things to do –&nbsp; but everyone is wondering if Republicans intend to put “right-to-work” legislation on their end-of-the-year to-do list.&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p></p><p></p><p> Thu, 29 Nov 2012 23:22:15 +0000 Rick Pluta 27632 at http://wkar.org Snyder-Backed Insurance Exchange Likely Dead Michigan Unlikely To Make Friday Obamacare Deadline http://wkar.org/post/michigan-unlikely-make-friday-obamacare-deadline <p>Michigan is unlikely to meet a Friday deadline to tell the Obama administration if it will create a statewide online exchange for people to shop for health insurance.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p></p><p></p><p> Tue, 13 Nov 2012 21:45:13 +0000 Rick Pluta 26872 at http://wkar.org Michigan Unlikely To Make Friday Obamacare Deadline Blue Cross Bills Easily Pass State Senate http://wkar.org/post/blue-cross-bills-easily-pass-state-senate <p>Legislation to overhaul Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan easily passed the state Senate Wednesday.</p> Wed, 17 Oct 2012 22:25:37 +0000 Jake Neher 25555 at http://wkar.org Blue Cross Bills Easily Pass State Senate Hearings Launch on Blues Overhaul http://wkar.org/post/hearings-launch-blues-overhaul <p>A state Senate committee began its examination Wednesday of a proposed overhaul of Blue Cross-Blue Shield of Michigan. Wed, 19 Sep 2012 22:29:49 +0000 Rick Pluta 24178 at http://wkar.org Hearings Launch on Blues Overhaul Snyder Calls for Big Changes for Blue Cross http://wkar.org/post/snyder-calls-big-changes-blue-cross <p>Governor Rick Snyder has called for some big changes for Blue Cross-Blue Shield of Michigan. He says Blue Cross should become a not-for-profit company that pays taxes and competes with other insurance companies.</p> Tue, 11 Sep 2012 22:29:38 +0000 Rick Pluta 23754 at http://wkar.org Snyder Calls for Big Changes for Blue Cross Mich. Not Alone on Slow Road to Health Exchange http://wkar.org/post/mich-not-alone-slow-road-health-exchange <p>Experts don't expect final decisions soon by undecided states, including Michigan, about setting up the insurance marketplaces as many hedge their bets before the November election.</p> Fri, 24 Aug 2012 22:14:16 +0000 The Associated Press 22833 at http://wkar.org Mich. Not Alone on Slow Road to Health Exchange Court: Deduction for Health Care Unconstitutional http://wkar.org/post/court-deduction-health-care-unconstitutional <p>The Michigan Court of Appeals has ruled unconstitutional a state law forcing school employees to pay 3% of their salary toward retiree health care.</p> Fri, 17 Aug 2012 22:12:16 +0000 The Associated Press 22488 at http://wkar.org Court: Deduction for Health Care Unconstitutional House Panel Continues to Ponder Next Action on Health Coverage http://wkar.org/post/house-panel-continues-ponder-next-action-health-coverage <p>Another day of hearings by two state House committees have wrapped up on Michigan’s next step now that the U.S. Supreme Court has upheld the federal healthcare law. Michigan is facing some deadlines to move ahead with an online exchange for people to shop for health coverage.</p> Tue, 31 Jul 2012 22:39:43 +0000 Rick Pluta 21434 at http://wkar.org House Panel Continues to Ponder Next Action on Health Coverage Regulator Urges Action On MI Online Health Exchange http://wkar.org/post/regulator-urges-action-mi-online-health-exchange <p>State House members held a hearing Wednesday on a federal law requiring states to set up a website to help people buy health insurance.</p> Wed, 25 Jul 2012 22:26:56 +0000 Rick Pluta 21127 at http://wkar.org Regulator Urges Action On MI Online Health Exchange