Olympics http://wkar.org en Advertisers bet big on Olympic Games http://wkar.org/post/advertisers-bet-big-olympic-games <p><span style="font-size:15px;font-family:Arial;color:#000000;background-color:transparent;font-weight:normal;font-style:normal;font-variant:normal;text-decoration:none;vertical-align:baseline;">While the Super Bowl is big for advertisers, the Olympics are also a coveted time for companies. <em>Current</em></span><span style="font-size:15px;font-family:Arial;color:#000000;background-color:transparent;font-weight:normal;font-style:normal;font-variant:normal;text-decoration:none;vertical-align:baseline;"><em> State’s</em> Emanuele Berry spoke with <a href="http://www.bus.umich.edu/facultybios/FacultyBio.asp?id=000119812">Rajeev Batra</a></span><span style="font-size:15px;font-family:Arial;color:#000000;background-color:transparent;font-weight:normal;font-style:normal;font-variant:normal;text-decoration:none;vertical-align:baseline;">, a professor of marketing at the <a href="http://umich.edu/">University of Michigan</a>. He is an expert in global branding and advertising and explains what it means to be an Olympic sponsor.</span> Tue, 18 Feb 2014 17:37:54 +0000 Current State 49521 at http://wkar.org Advertisers bet big on Olympic Games What if Detroit hosted the '68 Olympic Games? http://wkar.org/post/what-if-detroit-hosted-68-olympic-games <p> Fri, 14 Feb 2014 19:23:39 +0000 Current State 49374 at http://wkar.org What if Detroit hosted the '68 Olympic Games? Audio Postcard: Young Lansing skaters off to nationals http://wkar.org/post/audio-postcard-young-lansing-skaters-nationals <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Five of mid-Michigan’s finest figure skaters will soon be on their way to the <a href="http://www.usfsa.org/event_details.asp?id=48191">U.S. Figure Skating Championships</a>. &nbsp;The week-long event begins January 5 in Boston. Wed, 18 Dec 2013 16:05:29 +0000 Current State 46863 at http://wkar.org Audio Postcard: Young Lansing skaters off to nationals Michigan House Welcomes Flint's Gold Medal Boxer http://wkar.org/post/michigan-house-welcomes-flints-gold-medal-boxer <p>Members of the Michigan House of Representatives are welcoming home Flint native Claressa Shields, the first Olympic gold medalist in women’s boxing.</p> Wed, 15 Aug 2012 19:44:19 +0000 Kevin Lavery 22338 at http://wkar.org Michigan House Welcomes Flint's Gold Medal Boxer Jordyn Wieber Wears Team Gold in London http://wkar.org/post/jordyn-wieber-wears-team-gold-london <p>The Americans lived up to the hype and then some, winning their first Olympic gold medal in women's gymnastics since 1996.</p> Tue, 31 Jul 2012 22:44:35 +0000 The Associated Press 21435 at http://wkar.org Jordyn Wieber Wears Team Gold in London JORDYN WIEBER AND THE OLYMPICS: DeWitt Has "Wieber Fever" http://wkar.org/post/jordyn-wieber-and-olympics-dewitt-has-wieber-fever <p>Businesses and stores around downtown DeWitt are sporting signs supporting Jordyn Wieber’s pursuit of a gymnastics gold medal.</p> Fri, 27 Jul 2012 04:00:01 +0000 Scott Pohl 21158 at http://wkar.org JORDYN WIEBER AND THE OLYMPICS: DeWitt Has "Wieber Fever" JORDYN WIEBER AND THE OLYMPICS: Rita Wieber Offers Advice as ‘Gym Mom’ http://wkar.org/post/jordyn-wieber-and-olympics-rita-wieber-offers-advice-gym-mom <p>The mother of hometown Olympian Jordyn Wieber has written a book. Rita Wieber’s advice and her role in the family journey can be explored in the new book, “Gym Mom: Surviving Your Daughter's Gymnastics Career.”</p> Thu, 26 Jul 2012 04:00:00 +0000 Mark Bashore 21111 at http://wkar.org JORDYN WIEBER AND THE OLYMPICS: Rita Wieber Offers Advice as ‘Gym Mom’ JORDYN WIEBER AND THE OLYMPICS: Lansing Sportswriter Will Cover The Games http://wkar.org/post/jordyn-wieber-and-olympics-lansing-sportswriter-will-cover-games <p>WKAR's coverage of DeWitt's Jordyn Wieber and her bid for a women's gymnastics gold medal begins with a conversation with Joe Rexrode. The Lansing State Journal sportswriter will cover the Games in London.</p> Wed, 25 Jul 2012 04:00:01 +0000 Scott Pohl 20876 at http://wkar.org JORDYN WIEBER AND THE OLYMPICS: Lansing Sportswriter Will Cover The Games