disease http://wkar.org en Project aims to break the stigma surrounding STDs http://wkar.org/post/project-aims-break-stigma-surrounding-stds <p>Jenelle Marie says the subject of sexual health remains&nbsp; shrouded in stigmatized myths. Mon, 23 Sep 2013 19:27:31 +0000 Current State 42737 at http://wkar.org Project aims to break the stigma surrounding STDs Mich. Man Has Meningitis; Wife Died http://wkar.org/post/mich-man-has-meningitis-wife-died <p>A Michigan man whose wife's death was tied to the national outbreak of meningitis says he's in a hospital being treated for the same illness.</p> Wed, 24 Oct 2012 22:30:54 +0000 The Associated Press 25907 at http://wkar.org Mich. Man Has Meningitis; Wife Died Three MI Residents Sue Mass. Firm After Injection http://wkar.org/post/three-mi-residents-sue-mass-firm-after-injection <p>Three Michigan residents have filed suit after allegedly developing fungal meningitis following an injection of a tainted steroid produced by a Massachusetts company.</p> Mon, 22 Oct 2012 22:13:03 +0000 The Associated Press 25786 at http://wkar.org Three MI Residents Sue Mass. Firm After Injection Deaths In Mich. Rise To 6 In Meningitis Outbreak http://wkar.org/post/deaths-mich-rise-6-meningitis-outbreak <p>Officials have added another Michigan death to the national meningitis outbreak.</p> Fri, 19 Oct 2012 22:18:18 +0000 The Associated Press 25680 at http://wkar.org Deaths In Mich. Rise To 6 In Meningitis Outbreak Michigan's Fungal Meningitis Case Count Up To 44 http://wkar.org/post/michigans-fungal-meningitis-case-count-44 <p>Authorities are reporting 44 Michigan cases of fungal meningitis in the national outbreak, along with four non-meningitis infection cases related to the same contaminated steroids.</p> Wed, 17 Oct 2012 20:27:03 +0000 The Associated Press 25544 at http://wkar.org Michigan's Fungal Meningitis Case Count Up To 44 Michigan Man Dodges Meningitis That Killed Wife http://wkar.org/post/michigan-man-dodges-meningitis-killed-wife <p>Tests show a Livingston County man whose wife died in the national meningitis outbreak doesn't have the illness.</p> Tue, 16 Oct 2012 19:45:30 +0000 The Associated Press 25482 at http://wkar.org Michigan Man Dodges Meningitis That Killed Wife Michigan Reports Its First Cases of Seasonal Flu http://wkar.org/post/michigan-reports-its-first-cases-seasonal-flu <p>The state says 12 influenza cases are the first seasonal flu reports it has confirmed in Michigan during the 2012-2013 season.</p> Mon, 15 Oct 2012 22:12:48 +0000 The Associated Press 25425 at http://wkar.org Michigan Reports Its First Cases of Seasonal Flu Michigan Meningitis Cases Up to 25 with 3 Deaths http://wkar.org/post/michigan-meningitis-cases-25-3-deaths <p>Federal officials say Michigan now has at least 25 cases of fungal meningitis, including a new third death.</p> Tue, 09 Oct 2012 22:11:54 +0000 The Associated Press 25137 at http://wkar.org Michigan Meningitis Cases Up to 25 with 3 Deaths Deaths of 2 Michigan Women Tied to Fungal Meningitis http://wkar.org/post/deaths-2-michigan-women-tied-fungal-meningitis <p>Officials say the number of Michigan fungal meningitis cases is climbing.</p> Mon, 08 Oct 2012 22:37:43 +0000 The Associated Press 25083 at http://wkar.org Deaths of 2 Michigan Women Tied to Fungal Meningitis Michigan Records 4th West Nile Death This Year http://wkar.org/post/michigan-records-4th-west-nile-death-year <p>Michigan health officials say an 86-year-old woman from Wayne County is the fourth person to die from the West Nile virus in the state this year.</p> Wed, 29 Aug 2012 22:33:39 +0000 The Associated Press 23096 at http://wkar.org Michigan Records 4th West Nile Death This Year Michigan: 2nd West Nile Death Reported in State http://wkar.org/post/michigan-2nd-west-nile-death-reported-state <p>Michigan officials say a second person has died from the West Nile virus, and 18 more cases have been reported this week.</p> Thu, 23 Aug 2012 22:20:07 +0000 The Associated Press 22775 at http://wkar.org Michigan: 2nd West Nile Death Reported in State First 2012 West Nile Death Recorded in MI http://wkar.org/post/first-2012-west-nile-death-recorded-mi <p>An elderly Washtenaw County woman has died after being hospitalized with symptoms of West Nile Virus.</p> Thu, 16 Aug 2012 22:29:58 +0000 Bob Eccles, Michigan Public Radio Network 22421 at http://wkar.org First 2012 West Nile Death Recorded in MI Hepatitis C Outbreak Suspect's Mich. Work Detailed http://wkar.org/post/hepatitis-c-outbreak-suspects-mich-work-detailed <p>Health officials say a traveling medical technician accused of causing a hepatitis C outbreak in New Hampshire worked in at least six Michigan facilities from 2003 to 2007.</p> Mon, 30 Jul 2012 22:14:10 +0000 The Associated Press 21365 at http://wkar.org Hepatitis C Outbreak Suspect's Mich. Work Detailed West Nile Virus Reported in SE Michigan Man http://wkar.org/post/west-nile-virus-reported-se-michigan-man <p>Health officials in southeast Michigan say they've received confirmation of West Nile virus in a 44-year-old man, the first such case reported in the state this year.</p> Fri, 27 Jul 2012 22:12:14 +0000 The Associated Press 21255 at http://wkar.org West Nile Virus Reported in SE Michigan Man Health Officials: West Nile Found Early in Mich. http://wkar.org/post/health-officials-west-nile-found-early-mich <p>Health officials say they've identified West Nile virus in two Michigan counties, the earliest such detection in several years as weather conditions encourage the presence of mosquitoes.</p> Tue, 03 Jul 2012 22:34:10 +0000 The Associated Press 20012 at http://wkar.org Health Officials: West Nile Found Early in Mich.