juvenile http://wkar.org en Report denounces 'outdated' juvenile justice laws http://wkar.org/post/report-denounces-outdated-juvenile-justice-laws <p></p><p></p><p style="margin:0px;font-size:16px;font-family:Cambria">“Michigan’s outdated approach to youth justice does little to rehabilitate children, protect public safety or wisely invest taxpayer dollars.” This quote is among the provocative conclusions of a new report, co-authored by Michelle Weemhoff and her organization the <a href="http://www.miccd.org/" target="_blank">Michigan Council on Crime and Delinquency</a>. Wed, 11 Jun 2014 17:05:53 +0000 Mark Bashore 55033 at http://wkar.org Report denounces 'outdated' juvenile justice laws Breaking down the debate over juvenile lifers http://wkar.org/post/breaking-down-debate-over-juvenile-lifers <p></p><p></p><p>The Michigan Supreme Court will hear arguments today on what should be done with more than 350 prison inmates sentenced to life with no chance of parole as juveniles.&nbsp; The Michigan case follows a 2012 U.S. Supreme Court decision declaring life without parole sentences for minors violates the U.S. constitution’s ban on cruel and unusual punishment.&nbsp;</p><p><a href="http://www.wkar.org/programs/current-state">Current State </a>speaks with the <a href="http://www.mprn.org">Michigan Public Radio Network’s </a>statehouse bureau chief, Rick Pluta.</p><p></p> Thu, 06 Mar 2014 18:06:55 +0000 Mark Bashore & Melissa Benmark 50269 at http://wkar.org Breaking down the debate over juvenile lifers Michigan Supreme Court Agrees To Hear Juvenile Lifer Cases http://wkar.org/post/michigan-supreme-court-agrees-hear-juvenile-lifer-cases <p>The Michigan Supreme Court will decide whether more than 300 inmates sentenced to life without parole for murders committed while they were juveniles are entitled to parole hearings.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Thu, 07 Nov 2013 20:04:07 +0000 Rick Pluta 44966 at http://wkar.org Michigan Supreme Court Agrees To Hear Juvenile Lifer Cases Bill To End Automatic Life Sentences For Juveniles Clears State Senate http://wkar.org/post/bill-end-automatic-life-sentences-juveniles-clears-state-senate <p>People serving mandatory life sentences for crimes they committed as juveniles would not get a chance at re-sentencing, under a bill approved Thursday by the state Senate.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Thu, 24 Oct 2013 21:41:58 +0000 Jake Neher 44292 at http://wkar.org Bill To End Automatic Life Sentences For Juveniles Clears State Senate Debate Over “Juvenile Lifers” Legislation Heating Up Over The Summer http://wkar.org/post/debate-over-juvenile-lifers-legislation-heating-over-summer <p>A group of state lawmakers is focusing its attention this summer on bills dealing with Michigan’s so-called “juvenile lifers.”</p><p></p><p></p><p> Fri, 05 Jul 2013 18:31:20 +0000 Jake Neher 38666 at http://wkar.org Debate Over “Juvenile Lifers” Legislation Heating Up Over The Summer State Court Of Appeals Says Juvenile Lifers Can’t Be Re-Sentenced http://wkar.org/post/state-court-appeals-says-juvenile-lifers-can-t-be-re-sentenced <p>A U.S. Supreme Court decision banning automatic life sentences for juveniles does not apply to those already serving in Michigan.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p></p><p></p><p> Fri, 16 Nov 2012 23:13:33 +0000 Jake Neher 27067 at http://wkar.org State Court Of Appeals Says Juvenile Lifers Can’t Be Re-Sentenced State Lawmakers Considering “Juvenile Lifer” Bills http://wkar.org/post/state-lawmakers-considering-juvenile-lifer-bills <p>Juveniles convicted of murder in Michigan would no longer face mandatory life sentences under bills in the state House.&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p></p><p></p><p> Wed, 14 Nov 2012 23:17:10 +0000 Jake Neher 26942 at http://wkar.org State Lawmakers Considering “Juvenile Lifer” Bills Michigan Court Of Appeals Hears Arguments On Juvenile Lifer Case http://wkar.org/post/michigan-court-appeals-hears-arguments-juvenile-lifer-case <p>Judges on a Michigan Court of Appeals panel say state lawmakers should figure out how to comply with a U.S. Supreme Court ruling on so-called “juvenile lifers.”</p> Tue, 16 Oct 2012 22:15:02 +0000 Jake Neher 25494 at http://wkar.org Michigan Court Of Appeals Hears Arguments On Juvenile Lifer Case AG Schuette Not Backing Down on Keeping Juvenile Lifers Behind Bars http://wkar.org/post/ag-schuette-not-backing-down-keeping-juvenile-lifers-behind-bars <p>State Attorney General Bill Schuette isn’t done trying to make sure everyone sentenced as juveniles to life without parole in Michigan remains behind bars.</p><p>As Michigan Public Radio’s Jake Neher reports, the U.S. Supreme Court in June declared mandatory life sentences for juveniles unconstitutional.</p> Mon, 24 Sep 2012 23:01:36 +0000 Jake Neher 24420 at http://wkar.org AG Schuette Not Backing Down on Keeping Juvenile Lifers Behind Bars Schuette: Teen Lifers Don’t Deserve Re-Sentencing http://wkar.org/post/schuette-teen-lifers-don-t-deserve-re-sentencing <p>Michigan Attorney General Bill Schuette is against holding re-sentencing hearings for hundreds of inmates sentenced to life with no chance of parole as juveniles. That’s despite a U.S. Supreme Court decision that struck down mandatory life-without-parole sentences for juveniles.</p> Wed, 01 Aug 2012 22:37:33 +0000 Rick Pluta 21482 at http://wkar.org Schuette: Teen Lifers Don’t Deserve Re-Sentencing Juvenile Lifer Ruling Requires Authorities to Track Down Victims http://wkar.org/post/juvenile-lifer-ruling-requires-authorities-track-down-victims <p>A state House committee held a hearing Tuesday on what Michigan needs to do to comply with a recent U.S. Supreme Court ruling.</p> Tue, 17 Jul 2012 23:06:52 +0000 Rick Pluta 20683 at http://wkar.org Juvenile Lifer Ruling Requires Authorities to Track Down Victims Judge Economy: Life Prison Sentence Still Possible for Lansing Teen http://wkar.org/post/judge-economy-life-prison-sentence-still-possible-lansing-teen <p>A ruling last week by the U.S. Supreme Court has confusing repercussions for a recent court decision in Lansing. WKAR’ Mark Bashore spoke with Ingham County Judge George Economy to clarify how the ruling impacts the sentencing of 15 year old Lansing felon, Charles Lewis Jr.</p> Tue, 03 Jul 2012 04:00:00 +0000 Mark Bashore 19918 at http://wkar.org Judge Economy: Life Prison Sentence Still Possible for Lansing Teen Michigan Prepares to Re-sentence Juvenile Lifers http://wkar.org/post/michigan-prepares-re-sentence-juvenile-lifers <p>Arrangements are being made to return more than 350 Michigan inmates to the courts where they were sentenced. The prisoners will get new sentences under a U.S. Supreme Court decision this week.</p> Wed, 27 Jun 2012 00:34:39 +0000 Rick Pluta 19609 at http://wkar.org Michigan Prepares to Re-sentence Juvenile Lifers U.S. High Court Ruling Gives Some Hope of Parole to Juvenile Lifers http://wkar.org/post/us-high-court-ruling-gives-some-hope-parole-juvenile-lifers <p>The U. S. Supreme Court has struck down state laws like one in Michigan that automatically sends some juveniles to prison for life with no chance of parole.</p> Mon, 25 Jun 2012 22:25:49 +0000 Rick Pluta 19538 at http://wkar.org U.S. High Court Ruling Gives Some Hope of Parole to Juvenile Lifers SCOTUS Ruling Gives 350+ MI Inmates Chance For Parole http://wkar.org/post/scotus-ruling-gives-350-mi-inmates-chance-parole <p>The U.S. Supreme Court has struck down state laws that allow juveniles to be sentenced to life in prison with no chance of parole. Michigan is one of several states that allowed juveniles to be sentenced to life without parole.</p> Mon, 25 Jun 2012 19:08:31 +0000 Rick Pluta 19523 at http://wkar.org SCOTUS Ruling Gives 350+ MI Inmates Chance For Parole