BackStage Pass http://wkar.org en Having a Ball on BackStage Pass http://wkar.org/post/having-ball-backstage-pass <p><strong>Fri. May 16 - 9pm - WKAR HD</strong> | Highlights from season 5 of the television series featuring music made in Michigan and the Great Lakes region. Wed, 14 May 2014 14:05:24 +0000 Bill Richards 53665 at http://wkar.org Having a Ball on BackStage Pass Funktion on BackStage Pass http://wkar.org/post/funktion-backstage-pass <p>Funk powerhouse from Kalamazoo. Recorded live at Albert White Auditorium in East Lansing. <strong>WATCH NOW</strong><br /> Sun, 04 May 2014 16:33:37 +0000 Bill Richards 53173 at http://wkar.org Funktion on BackStage Pass Kevin Nichols and Blue Tuesday on BackStage Pass http://wkar.org/post/kevin-nichols-and-blue-tuesday-backstage-pass <p>Hard-driving blues from Jackson, Michigan. Recorded live at BluesFest 2013 in Lansing's Oldtown district.<br /> Mon, 28 Apr 2014 04:00:00 +0000 Bill Richards 52849 at http://wkar.org Kevin Nichols and Blue Tuesday on BackStage Pass Big LLou and the Bluesville Revue on BackStage Pass http://wkar.org/post/big-llou-and-bluesville-revue-backstage-pass <p>South Chicago blues hosted by the voice of BB King's Bluesville. WATCH NOW Mon, 14 Apr 2014 12:39:55 +0000 Bill Richards 52150 at http://wkar.org Big LLou and the Bluesville Revue on BackStage Pass Maurice Davis Quartet on BackStage Pass http://wkar.org/post/maurice-davis-quartet-backstage-pass <p><strong>Fri. March 28, 9 pm on WKAR-TV</strong> | Party blues from Flint, Michigan. Recorded live at BluesFest 2013 in Lansing's Oldtown district. AVAILABLE ONLINE SOON. Fri, 28 Mar 2014 10:16:42 +0000 Bill Richards 51343 at http://wkar.org Maurice Davis Quartet on BackStage Pass WATCH NOW: Rodney Whitaker Quartet on BackStage Pass http://wkar.org/post/watch-now-rodney-whitaker-quartet-backstage-pass-0 <p>Jazz from a true master of the double bass, with some of the best players in the land and featured guests Rockelle Fortin and Terrell Stafford. <a href="http://video.wkar.org/video/2365189947/">WATCH NOW</a><br /> Sat, 01 Mar 2014 03:00:00 +0000 Bill Richards 49792 at http://wkar.org WATCH NOW: Rodney Whitaker Quartet on BackStage Pass WATCH NOW: Sugar Ray and the Bluetones on BackStage Pass http://wkar.org/post/watch-now-sugar-ray-and-bluetones-backstage-pass-0 <p>Sizzling blues harp from the legendary Sugar Ray. Recorded live at Lansing BluesFest 2013 in historic Old Town Lansing. <a href="http://video.wkar.org/video/2365172971/">WATCH NOW</a></p><p> Sun, 16 Feb 2014 14:33:00 +0000 Bill Richards 48962 at http://wkar.org WATCH NOW: Sugar Ray and the Bluetones on BackStage Pass WATCH NOW: Mardra and Reggie Thomas on BackStage Pass http://wkar.org/post/watch-now-mardra-and-reggie-thomas-backstage-pass <p>Billie Holiday-inspired jazz vocals from Mardra Thomas, with the soulful, hard-swinging piano of Reggie Thomas and the Rodney Whitaker Quartet. |<a href="http://video.wkar.org/video/2365172878/"> WATCH NOW</a> Mon, 03 Feb 2014 05:00:00 +0000 Bill Richards 48810 at http://wkar.org WATCH NOW: Mardra and Reggie Thomas on BackStage Pass BackStage Pass Tickets Around Town http://wkar.org/post/backstage-pass-tickets-around-town <p>FREE Tickets for a chance to be in the TV audience for the June 18-20 BackStage Pass Concert recordings are available at these area businesses and locations. While they last! Wed, 12 Jun 2013 21:28:18 +0000 37478 at http://wkar.org BackStage Pass Tickets Around Town June 18-20 | BackStage Pass FREE Concert TV Recordings http://wkar.org/post/june-18-20-backstage-pass-free-concert-tv-recordings <p>It's more than a festival. More than a concert. It's your chance to <strong>be in the TV audience</strong> for live recording of great music, June 18-20 at East Lansing Hannah Community Center. Mon, 03 Jun 2013 13:05:42 +0000 36215 at http://wkar.org June 18-20 | BackStage Pass FREE Concert TV Recordings Susi's Station Notes: BackStage Pass Is Coming! http://wkar.org/post/susis-station-notes-backstage-pass-coming <p><strong>BackStage Pass </strong>is returning for a new recording season, starting off with a three-day concert extravaganza at Hannah Community Center, June 18-20!</p><p>We're excited to have a diverse group of bands on stage -- three nights, six bands! And best of all the tickets are free! Just get them online <a href="http://www.wkar.org/post/june-18-20-backstage-pass-free-concert-tv-recordings">here</a>. Seating is by general admission.</p> Fri, 31 May 2013 11:00:00 +0000 Susi Elkins 36734 at http://wkar.org Susi's Station Notes: BackStage Pass Is Coming! WATCH: Brian Lorente and the Usual Suspects on BackStage Pass http://wkar.org/post/watch-brian-lorente-and-usual-suspects-backstage-pass <p>Original country rock from the dynamic Brian Lorente. | <a href="http://video.wkar.org/video/2327071786">WATCH ONLINE NOW</a> Sun, 28 Apr 2013 22:40:00 +0000 34993 at http://wkar.org WATCH: Brian Lorente and the Usual Suspects on BackStage Pass WATCH: Heather Jones and Jones'n on BackStage Pass http://wkar.org/post/watch-heather-jones-and-jonesn-backstage-pass <p>Soulful swingers bring blues, rock and funk led by Heather Jones' soaring vocals. | <a href="http://video.wkar.org/video/2326709978">WATCH online now</a> Fri, 29 Mar 2013 12:26:25 +0000 33487 at http://wkar.org WATCH: Heather Jones and Jones'n on BackStage Pass Evidence Jazz Group - Interview for BackStage Pass http://wkar.org/post/evidence-jazz-group-interview-backstage-pass <p>Evidence Jazz Group on BackStage Pass debuts Sunday, March 24, at 7 p.m. on WKAR-TV. Here’s an extended excerpt from the BackStage Pass Interview. Wed, 13 Mar 2013 17:44:51 +0000 32619 at http://wkar.org Evidence Jazz Group - Interview for BackStage Pass WATCH: Gunnar & the Grizzly Boys on BackStage Pass http://wkar.org/post/watch-gunnar-grizzly-boys-backstage-pass <p>Americana country rock from rising star Gunnar Nyblad. | <a href="http://video.wkar.org/video/2327066662/">Watch it Online Now</a> Thu, 21 Feb 2013 14:37:27 +0000 31521 at http://wkar.org WATCH: Gunnar & the Grizzly Boys on BackStage Pass Gunnar & the Grizzly Boys - Interview for BackStage Pass http://wkar.org/post/gunnar-grizzly-boys-interview-backstage-pass <p>Gunnar and the Grizzly Boys debuts <strong>Sunday, February 24, at 7 p.m.</strong> on WKAR-TV. Here’s an extended excerpt from the BackStage Pass Interview<br> Thu, 14 Feb 2013 16:49:44 +0000 31156 at http://wkar.org Gunnar & the Grizzly Boys - Interview for BackStage Pass WATCH: Domestic Problems on BackStage Pass http://wkar.org/post/watch-domestic-problems-backstage-pass <p>High-energy alt-pop from West Michigan. | <a href="http://video.wkar.org/video/2326690549/">Watch it online now</a></p><p> Thu, 14 Feb 2013 15:50:21 +0000 31146 at http://wkar.org WATCH: Domestic Problems on BackStage Pass Susi's Station Notes: BackStage Pass Premieres! http://wkar.org/post/susis-station-notes-backstage-pass-premieres <p></p><p><strong>BackStage Pass</strong> premieres on January 20, at a new time! Look for us every Sunday at 7 p.m., with encore broadcasts at 8 p.m. the following Saturday on WKAR World and at 11 p.m. that Saturday on WKAR. Sun, 20 Jan 2013 22:48:33 +0000 Susi Elkins 29744 at http://wkar.org Susi's Station Notes: BackStage Pass Premieres! Current State #4 | January 17, 2013 http://wkar.org/post/current-state-4-january-17-2013 <p>On today's <em>Current State</em>: <em>Off the Record's&nbsp; </em>Tim Skubick analyzes Gov. Snyder's "State of the State" speech, and Senate Democratic leader Gretchen Whitmer offers a response. Also, a new discovery in Antarctica and a preview of the <em>BackStage Pass </em>season premiere with the metal band, Silent Lapse.</p><p></p><p> Thu, 17 Jan 2013 19:54:36 +0000 Current State 29713 at http://wkar.org Current State #4 | January 17, 2013 Susi's Station Notes: BackStage Pass http://wkar.org/post/susis-station-notes-backstage-pass <p>This is a busy week for WKAR-TV! On Thursday, I went over with some of our staff to check in on the set-up for BackStage Pass at East Lansing&rsquo;s Hannah Community Center.&nbsp; I&rsquo;m really proud of our team for all the work they&rsquo;re doing to stage the show in this new venue.<br /> Fri, 22 Jun 2012 14:44:51 +0000 Susi Elkins 19385 at http://wkar.org Susi's Station Notes: BackStage Pass