right to work http://wkar.org en State Capitol Quiet On Right-To-Work Anniversary http://wkar.org/post/state-capitol-quiet-right-work-anniversary <p>The state Capitol was quiet Wednesday on the anniversary of the passage of a historic right-to-work bill.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Wed, 11 Dec 2013 22:40:25 +0000 Rick Pluta 46554 at http://wkar.org State Capitol Quiet On Right-To-Work Anniversary Michigan Senate Panel Formed To See How Teachers Unions Are Obeying Right To Work Law http://wkar.org/post/michigan-senate-panel-formed-see-how-teachers-unions-are-obeying-right-work-law <p>Accusations that teachers unions are breaking Michigan’s new right to work law could take center stage this week in Lansing.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Mon, 11 Nov 2013 21:45:13 +0000 Jake Neher 45133 at http://wkar.org Michigan Senate Panel Formed To See How Teachers Unions Are Obeying Right To Work Law Conservative Michigan group pursues legal action against MEA http://wkar.org/post/conservative-michigan-group-pursues-legal-action-against-mea <p></p><p></p><p>A new dispute involving Michigan’s recently enacted "Right to Work" law unfolded this week. On Monday, Midland’s<a href="http://www.mackinac.org/19279"> Mackinac Center</a> Legal Foundation announced it’s taking action against the <a href="http://www.mea.org/school-employees-explain-why-theyre-sticking-mea">Michigan Education Association</a>. Fri, 25 Oct 2013 15:05:59 +0000 Current State 44315 at http://wkar.org Conservative Michigan group pursues legal action against MEA Michigan Education Association Retains 99% Of Members http://wkar.org/post/michigan-education-association-retains-99-members <p>Michigan&rsquo;s new right-to-work law has not put a big dent in membership of the state&rsquo;s biggest teachers&rsquo; union.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Mon, 07 Oct 2013 21:40:21 +0000 Rick Pluta 43445 at http://wkar.org Michigan Education Association Retains 99% Of Members Michigan’s first Labor Day after Right to Work legislation http://wkar.org/post/michigan-s-first-labor-day-after-right-work-legislation <p></p><p><span style="background-color: transparent; font-family: Cambria; font-size: 16px; line-height: 1.5; white-space: pre-wrap;">Yesterday was the first Labor Day in Michigan since Right to Work legislation was signed into law.</span></p> Tue, 03 Sep 2013 16:06:17 +0000 Current State 41694 at http://wkar.org Michigan’s first Labor Day after Right to Work legislation Court Of Appeals Rules Right To Work Law Applies To State Workers http://wkar.org/post/court-appeals-rules-right-work-law-applies-state-workers <p>The Michigan Court of Appeals has ruled the state’s right-to-work law applies to state workers.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Thu, 15 Aug 2013 20:00:01 +0000 Jake Neher 40850 at http://wkar.org Court Of Appeals Rules Right To Work Law Applies To State Workers Michigan Supreme Court Won’t Rule Early On Right-To-Work http://wkar.org/post/michigan-supreme-court-won-t-rule-early-right-work <p>The State Supreme Court said today it won’t rule early on the constitutionality of Michigan’s new right-to-work law.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Fri, 05 Jul 2013 21:13:01 +0000 Jake Neher 38672 at http://wkar.org Michigan Supreme Court Won’t Rule Early On Right-To-Work Judge Says Anti-Right-To-Work Lawsuit Can Proceed http://wkar.org/post/judge-says-anti-right-work-lawsuit-can-proceed <p>An Ingham County judge says groups hoping to repeal Michigan’s new right-to-work law can move forward with their lawsuit.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Wed, 03 Apr 2013 19:18:56 +0000 Brad Walker 33731 at http://wkar.org Judge Says Anti-Right-To-Work Lawsuit Can Proceed Lawsuit To Toss Out Right-To-Work Goes To Court This Week http://wkar.org/post/lawsuit-toss-out-right-work-goes-court-week <p>A lawsuit aimed at repealing Michigan’s new right-to-work law will have its first day in court Wednesday.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Tue, 02 Apr 2013 20:42:23 +0000 Jake Neher 33685 at http://wkar.org Lawsuit To Toss Out Right-To-Work Goes To Court This Week Michigan Is Officially A Right-To-Work State http://wkar.org/post/michigan-officially-right-work-state <p>Michigan is officially a right-to-work state.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Thu, 28 Mar 2013 20:54:35 +0000 Rick Pluta 33456 at http://wkar.org Michigan Is Officially A Right-To-Work State Michigan Becomes Nation’s 23rd Right-To-Work State http://wkar.org/post/michigan-becomes-nation-s-23rd-right-work-state <p>Michigan officially becomes a right-to-work state Thursday.</p><p></p><p> Wed, 27 Mar 2013 21:40:21 +0000 Rick Pluta 33392 at http://wkar.org Michigan Becomes Nation’s 23rd Right-To-Work State Michigan's Right-to-Work law set to take effect http://wkar.org/post/michigans-right-work-law-set-take-effect <p></p> Wed, 27 Mar 2013 19:56:09 +0000 Current State 33361 at http://wkar.org Michigan's Right-to-Work law set to take effect Legislature set to cut state revenue to universities over new worker contracts http://wkar.org/post/legislature-set-cut-state-revenue-universities-over-new-worker-contracts <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Yesterday the House Higher Education Appropriations Subcommittee proposed a plan that would cut state revenue to universities that approve new long-term contracts with faculty unions</span><em style="line-height: 1.5;">. </em><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Several schools including the University of Michigan and Wayne State University have been pursuing the new contracts to delay the impact of Michigan’s new Right to Work law, which is set to take effect next week. </span></p> Wed, 20 Mar 2013 20:56:55 +0000 Current State 32993 at http://wkar.org Legislature set to cut state revenue to universities over new worker contracts State Lawmakers Move To Cut School And University Funding Over RTW Debate http://wkar.org/post/state-lawmakers-move-cut-school-and-university-funding-over-rtw-debate <p>A state budget panel has voted to cut state funding to schools and universities that agree to new long-term union contracts before the end of the month.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p> Tue, 19 Mar 2013 21:22:51 +0000 Jake Neher 32955 at http://wkar.org State Lawmakers Move To Cut School And University Funding Over RTW Debate Fight Over Right-To-Work And School Contracts Heats Up, Ferris State faculty Files Complaint http://wkar.org/post/fight-over-right-work-and-school-contracts-heats-ferris-state-faculty-files-complaint <p>The top Democrat in the state House says Republican lawmakers are trying to bully schools and universities into rejecting new union contracts.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Mon, 11 Mar 2013 21:43:06 +0000 Jake Neher 32519 at http://wkar.org Fight Over Right-To-Work And School Contracts Heats Up, Ferris State faculty Files Complaint Lawmaker Calling On Schools To Explain Contract Extensions http://wkar.org/post/lawmaker-calling-schools-explain-contract-extensions <p>A Republican state lawmaker wants school officials to justify employee contracts that could be used to skirt Michigan’s new right-to-work law.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Fri, 08 Mar 2013 21:16:11 +0000 Rick Pluta 32403 at http://wkar.org Lawmaker Calling On Schools To Explain Contract Extensions Michigan ACLU on 'Right to Work' lawsuit http://wkar.org/post/michigan-aclu-right-work-lawsuit <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Michigan Attorney General Bill </span>Schuette<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> has taken action to dismiss a lawsuit seeking to overturn the state’s controversial right-to-work law.</span> Wed, 06 Mar 2013 22:46:53 +0000 Current State 32270 at http://wkar.org Michigan ACLU on 'Right to Work' lawsuit Lansing teachers seek new contract before 'Right to Work' kicks in http://wkar.org/post/lansing-teachers-seek-new-contract-right-work-kicks <p></p><p>In five weeks, Michigan’s so-called Right to Work law takes effect. &nbsp;Some local Michigan teacher unions are working to lock in new contracts before then. &nbsp;In some cases, it’s an effort to delay the impact of the controversial new law since it will not include contracts already in place by March 27, when it takes effect.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 19 Feb 2013 19:42:01 +0000 Mark Bashore 31381 at http://wkar.org Unions, ACLU Sue To Block Right-To-Work Law http://wkar.org/post/unions-aclu-sue-block-right-work-law <p>Labor unions and the ACLU of Michigan say the state's right-to-work law should be struck down because people were locked out of the Capitol when the bills were initially passed.</p><p></p><p> Thu, 31 Jan 2013 22:25:21 +0000 The Associated Press 30414 at http://wkar.org Unions, ACLU Sue To Block Right-To-Work Law Snyder Asks MI Supreme Court To Rule On ‘Right-To-Work’ http://wkar.org/post/snyder-asks-mi-supreme-court-rule-right-work <p>Governor Rick Snyder has asked the state Supreme Court to bypass lower courts and rule soon on whether Michigan’s new right-to-work law is legal.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Mon, 28 Jan 2013 23:09:09 +0000 Rick Pluta 30237 at http://wkar.org Snyder Asks MI Supreme Court To Rule On ‘Right-To-Work’ Michigan Spent $900K For Police At Union Protests http://wkar.org/post/michigan-spent-900k-police-union-protests <p>The Michigan State Police spent an extra $900,000 on overtime and other expenses to have a large presence at the Capitol during demonstrations against a right-to-work law in December.</p><p></p><p> Mon, 28 Jan 2013 20:51:15 +0000 The Associated Press 30222 at http://wkar.org Michigan Spent $900K For Police At Union Protests Unions To Continue Fight Against Right To Work http://wkar.org/post/unions-continue-fight-against-right-work <p>Union leaders and workers say Governor Rick Snyder offered no olive branch in his State of the State address and they will keep fighting the right-to-work legislation he recently signed. &nbsp;<br>&nbsp;<br>United Auto Workers Local 652 President Mike Green was among about 200 union workers protesting outside the Capitol on Wednesday night.&nbsp; He said Thursday that Snyder's silence on unions was "just like he didn't pay attention to what the people wanted in the first place."<br>&nbsp; Thu, 17 Jan 2013 22:36:58 +0000 The Associated Press 29767 at http://wkar.org Schuette: RTW Will Survive Court Challenge, Applies To Civil Service Workers http://wkar.org/post/schuette-rtw-will-survive-court-challenge-applies-civil-service-workers-0 <p>State Attorney General Bill Schuette says Michigan’s new right-to-work law will survive the almost-certain court challenges by unions opposed to it.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p></p><p></p><p> Thu, 13 Dec 2012 23:26:17 +0000 Rick Pluta 28259 at http://wkar.org Schuette: RTW Will Survive Court Challenge, Applies To Civil Service Workers BREAKING NEWS: Gov. Snyder Signs RTW Into Law http://wkar.org/post/breaking-news-gov-snyder-signs-rtw-law <p>Michigan Governor Rick Snyder has signed the law that will make Michigan the nation's 24th so-called "right-to-work" state.</p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 11 Dec 2012 23:44:11 +0000 Rick Pluta 28148 at http://wkar.org BREAKING NEWS: Gov. Snyder Signs RTW Into Law Right-To-Work Bills Headed To Gov. Snyder’s Desk http://wkar.org/post/right-work-bills-headed-gov-snyder-s-desk <p>Governor Rick Snyder will have the final say as to whether Michigan will become a so-called “right-to-work” state.&nbsp; Tue, 11 Dec 2012 23:15:44 +0000 Jake Neher 28146 at http://wkar.org Right-To-Work Bills Headed To Gov. Snyder’s Desk State Troopers Armed With Tear Gas Guard Capitol http://wkar.org/post/state-troopers-armed-tear-gas-guard-capitol <p>LANSING, Mich. (AP) - State troopers armed with tear gas canisters, pepper spray and batons are among dozens of officers guarding the Capitol in Lansing as the right-to-work battle heats up in Michigan.</p><p></p><p> Tue, 11 Dec 2012 15:21:15 +0000 Associated Press 28115 at http://wkar.org State Troopers Armed With Tear Gas Guard Capitol Several Thousand Union Members March To Capitol http://wkar.org/post/several-thousand-union-members-march-capitol <p>LANSING, Mich. (AP) - Several thousand union members gathered to protest so-called right-to-work legislation in Michigan have begun a three-block walk to the state Capitol. Tue, 11 Dec 2012 14:28:40 +0000 Associated Press & ASS 28111 at http://wkar.org Protesters At Mich. Capitol Battle Right-To-Work http://wkar.org/post/protesters-mich-capitol-battle-right-work <p>LANSING, Mich. (AP) - Union demonstrators rallying against right-to-work legislation in Michigan have turned the front lawn of the state Capitol into an impromptu carnival that includes giant, inflatable rats representing Republicans supporting the divisive measure.</p><p> Tue, 11 Dec 2012 14:08:03 +0000 Associated Press 28109 at http://wkar.org Protesters At Mich. Capitol Battle Right-To-Work Capitol Prepares For RTW Votes http://wkar.org/post/capitol-prepares-rtw-votes <p>At the state Capitol, Democrats are preparing their last-ditch effort to slow or stop legislation that would make Michigan the 24<sup>th</sup> so-called “right-to-work” state.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p> Mon, 10 Dec 2012 21:45:01 +0000 Rick Pluta 28089 at http://wkar.org Capitol Prepares For RTW Votes House, Senate Pass Controversial "Right to Work" Legislation http://wkar.org/post/house-senate-pass-controversial-right-work-legislation <p>The Michigan House and Senate have passed the legislation in different versions, and may take final action on the bills next week. Michigan could become the 24th state to say workers cannot be forced to pay union dues even if they work for a business or government employer with union representation.</p><p><a href="http://www.npr.org/2012/12/07/166713198/michigan-likely-to-become-a-right-to-work-state">Hear an NPR report from the Michigan Public Radio Network's Rick Pluta.&nbsp; </a></p><p></p> Fri, 07 Dec 2012 13:35:08 +0000 Rick Pluta 27964 at http://wkar.org House, Senate Pass Controversial "Right to Work" Legislation