fireworks http://wkar.org en Bigger fireworks, bigger safety concerns http://wkar.org/post/bigger-fireworks-bigger-safety-concerns <p></p><p></p><p>We’re celebrating Independence Day as a nation tomorrow, and that means fireworks. Michigan relaxed its fireworks sales law in 2012, so there are now more roadside stands and large retailers hawking their wares. Thu, 03 Jul 2014 17:14:31 +0000 Kevin Lavery & Mark Bashore 56167 at http://wkar.org Bigger fireworks, bigger safety concerns Changes Could Be Coming To Michigan’s Fireworks Law http://wkar.org/post/changes-could-be-coming-michigan-s-fireworks-law <p>Lawmakers in Lansing are considering some changes to the Michigan’s controversial new fireworks law.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Fri, 17 May 2013 20:43:53 +0000 Jake Neher 36048 at http://wkar.org Changes Could Be Coming To Michigan’s Fireworks Law Complaints Continue on MI Fireworks Law http://wkar.org/post/complaints-continue-mi-fireworks-law <p>Some state lawmakers are already discussing possible changes to Michigan’s new fireworks law.</p> Fri, 13 Jul 2012 22:25:19 +0000 Rick Pluta 20513 at http://wkar.org Complaints Continue on MI Fireworks Law New Law, Heat Wave Bring Ups and Downs for Fireworks Vendors http://wkar.org/post/new-law-heat-wave-bring-ups-and-downs-fireworks-vendors <p>The long stretch of hot, dry weather is forcing many local authorities to postpone their fireworks displays. For fireworks retailers, the season has been a good news, bad news story.</p> Wed, 04 Jul 2012 04:00:00 +0000 Kevin Lavery 19986 at http://wkar.org New Law, Heat Wave Bring Ups and Downs for Fireworks Vendors Safety Concerns Lead to Fireworks Ban at Lansing July 4th Event http://wkar.org/post/safety-concerns-lead-fireworks-ban-lansing-july-4th-event <p>City of Lansing officials say it will ban fireworks from Adado Riverfront Park Wednesday night at the city&#39;s Independence Day celebration. &nbsp;</p><p>A statement from the office of Mayor Virg Bernero says the ban is due to dry conditions and to ensure safety.</p> Mon, 02 Jul 2012 22:16:20 +0000 Mark Bashore 19947 at http://wkar.org Safety Concerns Lead to Fireworks Ban at Lansing July 4th Event Lansing Area Fire Departments Set Burning Ban http://wkar.org/post/lansing-area-fire-departments-set-burning-ban <p>Lansing area fire officials have imposed an outdoor burning ban to take effect Friday morning.</p> Wed, 27 Jun 2012 22:40:45 +0000 Mark Bashore 19677 at http://wkar.org Lansing Area Fire Departments Set Burning Ban Warren Could Challenge Michigan Fireworks Law http://wkar.org/post/warren-could-challenge-michigan-fireworks-law <p>A suburban Detroit mayor says a new ordinance under consideration in his city could challenge state law making powerful fireworks legal in Michigan.</p> Mon, 25 Jun 2012 22:23:25 +0000 The Associated Press 19537 at http://wkar.org Warren Could Challenge Michigan Fireworks Law Mich. Communities Move to Silence Bigger Fireworks http://wkar.org/post/mich-communities-move-silence-bigger-fireworks <p>Grand Rapids is among a growing number of Michigan communities seeking to silence more powerful fireworks that now are legal in the state.</p> Wed, 20 Jun 2012 22:38:51 +0000 The Associated Press 19283 at http://wkar.org Mich. Communities Move to Silence Bigger Fireworks