NewsRoom http://wkar.org en Uber brings ride-sharing service to Lansing-East Lansing http://wkar.org/post/uber-brings-ride-sharing-service-lansing-east-lansing <p>The ride-sharing company called <a href="https://www.uber.com/" target="_blank">Uber</a> is coming to the Lansing area. An announcement is expected today, which comes on the heels of a new regional approach to the regulation of taxis. Thu, 24 Jul 2014 09:00:00 +0000 Scott Pohl 57139 at http://wkar.org Uber brings ride-sharing service to Lansing-East Lansing Year-Round Schools Get More Money, But Future Of Program In Question http://wkar.org/post/year-round-schools-get-more-money-future-program-question <p>As most Michigan students enjoy their summer vacations, some schools are using new state funding to add air conditioning and other things so they can teach year-round.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Thu, 03 Jul 2014 19:22:38 +0000 Jake Neher 56181 at http://wkar.org Year-Round Schools Get More Money, But Future Of Program In Question Appeals Court Says No Drilling In Pigeon River Forest http://wkar.org/post/appeals-court-says-no-drilling-pigeon-river-forest <p>The Michigan Court of Appeals says state regulators were correct to deny a drilling permit to developers who want to put oil wells on private land surrounded by a state forest.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Wed, 02 Jul 2014 21:42:22 +0000 Rick Pluta 56134 at http://wkar.org Appeals Court Says No Drilling In Pigeon River Forest Superintendents Blast Education Budget http://wkar.org/post/superintendents-blast-education-budget <p>Michigan schools begin their new budget year Tuesday.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Tue, 01 Jul 2014 21:39:32 +0000 Jake Neher 56076 at http://wkar.org Superintendents Blast Education Budget Snyder: Prison Food Contract Troubles Are “Unacceptable” http://wkar.org/post/snyder-prison-food-contract-troubles-are-unacceptable <p>Governor Rick Snyder says he’s about ready to call it quits on a privatized prison food services contract if there are more problems.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Tue, 01 Jul 2014 20:55:08 +0000 Rick Pluta 56075 at http://wkar.org Snyder: Prison Food Contract Troubles Are “Unacceptable” Background Checks Coming For Home-Aid Workers, State Can’t Exclude All Felons http://wkar.org/post/background-checks-coming-home-aid-workers-state-can-t-exclude-all-felons <p>Michigan cannot ban all felons from being caregivers in the state’s Medicaid in-home care program.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Mon, 30 Jun 2014 20:43:16 +0000 Jake Neher 56018 at http://wkar.org Background Checks Coming For Home-Aid Workers, State Can’t Exclude All Felons Michigan Welcomes Office To Help Skilled Immigrants Get Jobs http://wkar.org/post/michigan-welcomes-office-help-skilled-immigrants-get-jobs <p>There’s a new office in Michigan dedicated to helping highly skilled immigrants find jobs.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Mon, 23 Jun 2014 21:24:15 +0000 Jake Neher 55665 at http://wkar.org Michigan Welcomes Office To Help Skilled Immigrants Get Jobs Snyder Signs Detroit Rescue Package, Stresses City’s Recovery http://wkar.org/post/snyder-signs-detroit-rescue-package-stresses-city-s-recovery <p>Governor Rick Snyder has signed the legislation that authorizes the state’s $195 million contribution to the Detroit bankruptcy settlement.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Fri, 20 Jun 2014 20:24:07 +0000 Rick Pluta 55538 at http://wkar.org Snyder Signs Detroit Rescue Package, Stresses City’s Recovery Snyder Skeptical Of E-Cigarette Bill http://wkar.org/post/snyder-skeptical-e-cigarette-bill <p>Governor Rick Snyder has got concerns about legislation headed his way to regulate nicotine vapor devices – or e-cigarettes.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Thu, 19 Jun 2014 21:37:56 +0000 Rick Pluta 55494 at http://wkar.org Snyder Skeptical Of E-Cigarette Bill Lawmakers Decide Against Docking MSU $500k For Labor Courses http://wkar.org/post/lawmakers-decide-against-docking-msu-500k-labor-courses <p>State lawmakers have backed down from penalizing Michigan State University over controversial courses about organized labor.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Fri, 13 Jun 2014 21:16:12 +0000 Jake Neher 55186 at http://wkar.org Lawmakers Decide Against Docking MSU $500k For Labor Courses Michigan Supreme Court Takes Two More Medical Marijuana Cases http://wkar.org/post/michigan-supreme-court-takes-two-more-medical-marijuana-cases <p>The state Supreme Court has agreed to hear two more medical marijuana cases.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Thu, 12 Jun 2014 21:10:37 +0000 Rick Pluta 55123 at http://wkar.org Michigan Supreme Court Takes Two More Medical Marijuana Cases Snyder: Restoring MEAP Test Not His Preference http://wkar.org/post/snyder-restoring-meap-test-not-his-preference <p>Governor Rick Snyder says he won’t give up on switching Michigan to a new student test that’s aligned with the controversial “Common Core” education standards.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Wed, 11 Jun 2014 21:10:53 +0000 Rick Pluta 55061 at http://wkar.org Snyder: Restoring MEAP Test Not His Preference ‘Right To Work’ Part Of Discussions On Roads Package http://wkar.org/post/right-work-part-discussions-roads-package <p>Negotiations between Republicans and Democrats at the state Capitol over road funding may have resurrected the controversy over Michigan’s right-to-work law.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Tue, 10 Jun 2014 21:24:44 +0000 Rick Pluta 55000 at http://wkar.org ‘Right To Work’ Part Of Discussions On Roads Package Michigan Film Incentives To Stay At $50 million, Senate Leader Wants More http://wkar.org/post/michigan-film-incentives-stay-50-million-senate-leader-wants-more <p>State lawmakers are getting close to passing a state budget this week.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Tue, 10 Jun 2014 20:40:28 +0000 Jake Neher 54984 at http://wkar.org Michigan Film Incentives To Stay At $50 million, Senate Leader Wants More Gov. Snyder Eyes Road Funding Deal This Week http://wkar.org/post/gov-snyder-eyes-road-funding-deal-week <p>Governor Rick Snyder wants a road funding solution on his desk by the end of this week.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Mon, 09 Jun 2014 20:53:09 +0000 Jake Neher 54928 at http://wkar.org Gov. Snyder Eyes Road Funding Deal This Week Reform Group Calls For End To ‘Adult-Time-For-Adult-Crime’ http://wkar.org/post/reform-group-calls-end-adult-time-adult-crime <p>A new report by the Michigan Council on Crime and Delinquency is calling for an end to the state’s policy of automatically charging 17-year-olds as adults, and sending them to prison – even for non-violent offenses.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Mon, 09 Jun 2014 20:45:27 +0000 Rick Pluta 54927 at http://wkar.org Reform Group Calls For End To ‘Adult-Time-For-Adult-Crime’ Michigan Makes Strides In Calculating Dropout, Graduation Rates http://wkar.org/post/michigan-makes-strides-calculating-dropout-graduation-rates <p>Michigan’s auditor general says the state is doing a better job calculating high school graduation and drop-out rates.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Fri, 06 Jun 2014 21:13:27 +0000 Jake Neher 54845 at http://wkar.org Michigan Makes Strides In Calculating Dropout, Graduation Rates Schuette Turns Up The Heat On Energy Company With Criminal Charges http://wkar.org/post/schuette-turns-heat-energy-company-criminal-charges <p>Michigan Attorney General Bill Schuette says an energy company cheated northern Michigan landowners out of oil and gas lease payments as part of a scheme to shut out its competitors.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Thu, 05 Jun 2014 21:12:29 +0000 Rick Pluta 54790 at http://wkar.org Schuette Turns Up The Heat On Energy Company With Criminal Charges Michigan Schools’ Finances “Stabilizing,” Says State Superintendent http://wkar.org/post/michigan-schools-finances-stabilizing-says-state-superintendent <p>The number of school districts with budget deficits has dropped over the course of this school year.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Thu, 05 Jun 2014 19:40:02 +0000 Jake Neher 54776 at http://wkar.org Michigan Schools’ Finances “Stabilizing,” Says State Superintendent Michigan Supreme Court Strikes Down “One Parent” Doctrine http://wkar.org/post/michigan-supreme-court-strikes-down-one-parent-doctrine <p>A Jackson County man will get a hearing on whether he gets to keep his kids after a ruling Tuesday by the Michigan Supreme Court.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Tue, 03 Jun 2014 20:55:05 +0000 Rick Pluta 54674 at http://wkar.org Michigan Supreme Court Strikes Down “One Parent” Doctrine MI Supreme Court Says Governor Cannot Un-Commute Life Sentence http://wkar.org/post/mi-supreme-court-says-governor-cannot-un-commute-life-sentence <p>The Michigan Supreme Court says a governor cannot reverse an official decision to commute a prison sentence.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Tue, 03 Jun 2014 19:53:40 +0000 Rick Pluta 54665 at http://wkar.org MI Supreme Court Says Governor Cannot Un-Commute Life Sentence DEQ Chief Wants Flexibility To Deal With EPA Carbon Standard http://wkar.org/post/deq-chief-wants-flexibility-deal-epa-carbon-standard <p>Governor Rick Snyder’s administration says it will ask for a lot of flexibility to meet new federal clean air goals. The federal government wants to cut carbon emissions by 30% over 15 years.</p><p></p><p></p><p>We have more from The Michigan Public Radio Network’s Rick Pluta.</p><p>Dan Wyant is the director of the state Department of Environmental Quality. He says the goal attainable if the federal government lets Michigan figure out how it’s going to get there.</p> Mon, 02 Jun 2014 21:37:35 +0000 Rick Pluta 54626 at http://wkar.org DEQ Chief Wants Flexibility To Deal With EPA Carbon Standard Snyder Defends “Pension Tax” In Special Message On Aging http://wkar.org/post/snyder-defends-pension-tax-special-message-aging <p>Governor Rick Snyder is firing back against critics of his so-called “pension tax”.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Mon, 02 Jun 2014 20:41:59 +0000 Jake Neher 54611 at http://wkar.org Snyder Defends “Pension Tax” In Special Message On Aging Raphael reviews "Impossible Exile" http://wkar.org/post/raphael-reviews-impossible-exile <p>WKAR's book reviewer Lev Raphael has a look this month at<span class="a-size-large" id="productTitle"> "The Impossible Exile: Stefan Zweig at the End of the World," by George Prochnik.</span></p><p></p> Fri, 30 May 2014 04:00:01 +0000 Melissa Benmark 54425 at http://wkar.org Land, Peters Disagree In First Appearance http://wkar.org/post/land-peters-disagree-first-appearance <p>The Republican and Democratic candidates for Michigan’s open US Senate seat pitched themselves to business people at a conference on Mackinac Island Wednesday.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p> Wed, 28 May 2014 21:12:26 +0000 Rick Pluta 54392 at http://wkar.org Land, Peters Disagree In First Appearance Campaign To Raise Minimum Wage To $10.10 Per Hour Turns In Petition Signatures http://wkar.org/post/campaign-raise-minimum-wage-1010-hour-turns-petition-signatures <p>Activists have turned in petition signatures to raise Michigan’s minimum wage to $10.10 an hour by 2017.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Wed, 28 May 2014 20:36:51 +0000 Jake Neher 54387 at http://wkar.org Campaign To Raise Minimum Wage To $10.10 Per Hour Turns In Petition Signatures Hunters’ Group Files Petitions For New Hunting Law http://wkar.org/post/hunters-group-files-petitions-new-hunting-law <p>The controversy over wolf hunting in the Upper Peninsula is headed back to the Legislature.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Tue, 27 May 2014 18:18:37 +0000 Rick Pluta 54306 at http://wkar.org Hunters’ Group Files Petitions For New Hunting Law Detroit Bankruptcy Clears First Big Hurdle http://wkar.org/post/detroit-bankruptcy-clears-first-big-hurdle <p>The $195 million dollar state contribution to the Detroit bankruptcy settlement cleared its first major hurdle Thursday as the state House approved the payment by a wide margin.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Thu, 22 May 2014 21:17:35 +0000 Rick Pluta 54112 at http://wkar.org Detroit Bankruptcy Clears First Big Hurdle Committee Vote On Detroit Bailout Expected http://wkar.org/post/committee-vote-detroit-bailout-expected <p>A state House committee is expected to take up legislation tomorrow Wednesday to provide $195 million as the state’s part in the Detroit bankruptcy settlement.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Tue, 20 May 2014 21:21:43 +0000 Rick Pluta 53993 at http://wkar.org Committee Vote On Detroit Bailout Expected Bill Boosting Minimum Wage To $9.20 An Hour To Get Hearing In State House http://wkar.org/post/bill-boosting-minimum-wage-920-hour-get-hearing-state-house <p>A bill that would boost Michigan’s minimum wage to $9.20 an hour will get a hearing Wednesday in the state House.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Tue, 20 May 2014 21:15:26 +0000 Jake Neher 53992 at http://wkar.org Bill Boosting Minimum Wage To $9.20 An Hour To Get Hearing In State House