legislation http://wkar.org en Michigan's Right-to-Work law set to take effect http://wkar.org/post/michigans-right-work-law-set-take-effect <p></p> Wed, 27 Mar 2013 19:56:09 +0000 Current State 33361 at http://wkar.org Michigan's Right-to-Work law set to take effect Snyder OKs Ban On Phone Use By Teen Drivers http://wkar.org/post/snyder-oks-ban-phone-use-teen-drivers <p>A new law will soon ban cell phone use by probationary teen drivers unless they’re using a hands-free device or reporting an emergency.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p></p><p> Tue, 08 Jan 2013 23:15:10 +0000 Rick Pluta 29325 at http://wkar.org Snyder OKs Ban On Phone Use By Teen Drivers Governor Snyder Reflects On A Busy 2012 In Lansing http://wkar.org/post/governor-snyder-reflects-busy-2012-lansing <p>Heading into 2013, Governor Rick Snyder is hoping to shift conversation away from controversial new policies like “right-to-work”.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Fri, 21 Dec 2012 21:25:07 +0000 Jake Neher 28637 at http://wkar.org Governor Snyder Reflects On A Busy 2012 In Lansing Gun Control Advocates Says Snyder Should Veto Concealed Pistol Legislation http://wkar.org/post/gun-control-advocates-says-snyder-should-veto-concealed-pistol-legislation <p>One of the final actions of the lame duck state Legislature was to adopt bills that would allow concealed guns in public schools and other places that are “no carry” zones.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Fri, 14 Dec 2012 23:24:24 +0000 Rick Pluta 28311 at http://wkar.org Gun Control Advocates Says Snyder Should Veto Concealed Pistol Legislation New Bill Requires Voters To Affirm US Citizenship http://wkar.org/post/new-bill-requires-voters-affirm-us-citizenship <p>A bill awaiting Gov. Rick Snyder's signature would require voters to declare their citizenship before getting a ballot.</p><p></p><p> Fri, 14 Dec 2012 23:22:23 +0000 The Associated Press 28320 at http://wkar.org New Bill Requires Voters To Affirm US Citizenship Controversial Abortion Legislation A Step Closer To Gov. Snyder’s Desk http://wkar.org/post/controversial-abortion-legislation-step-closer-gov-snyder-s-desk <p>State lawmakers are a step closer to adding restrictions for abortion providers.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p></p><p> Wed, 12 Dec 2012 23:24:51 +0000 Jake Neher 28198 at http://wkar.org Controversial Abortion Legislation A Step Closer To Gov. Snyder’s Desk Supporters Will Unveil New Emergency Manager Bill http://wkar.org/post/supporters-will-unveil-new-emergency-manager-bill <p>A new version of a local government emergency manager bill will be rolled out Thursday at the state Capitol. Thu, 06 Dec 2012 00:00:16 +0000 Rick Pluta 27898 at http://wkar.org Supporters Will Unveil New Emergency Manager Bill State Lawmakers Committed To Passing Education Reforms By End Of The Year http://wkar.org/post/state-lawmakers-committed-passing-education-reforms-end-year <p>Republican state lawmakers are not backing down from plans to pass major changes in education by the end of the year.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p> Tue, 04 Dec 2012 23:13:44 +0000 Jake Neher 27839 at http://wkar.org State Lawmakers Committed To Passing Education Reforms By End Of The Year Lobbying Spikes As Legislature Ponders Whether To Debate Right-To-Work http://wkar.org/post/lobbying-spikes-legislature-ponders-whether-debate-right-work <p>It was a day of intense lobbying at the state Capitol on Tuesday as opponents and supporters turned out to argue on whether Michigan should become a right-to-work state.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p></p><p> Tue, 04 Dec 2012 22:24:20 +0000 Rick Pluta 27835 at http://wkar.org Lobbying Spikes As Legislature Ponders Whether To Debate Right-To-Work East Lansing Crime Leads To Likely Reform http://wkar.org/post/east-lansing-crime-leads-likely-reform <p>Twelve years after a tragic East Lansing crime went unpunished, Michigan elected officials want to reform a key law.&nbsp; Before the end of the year, Governor Rick Snyder is expected to sign “Brandon D’Annunzio’s Law.”&nbsp; The 24 year old was attacked in downtown East Lansing in 2000 and later died of his injuries.&nbsp; WKAR’s Mark Bashore spoke with the young man’s mother about her efforts to get the measure passed.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p> Tue, 27 Nov 2012 05:00:00 +0000 Mark Bashore 27424 at http://wkar.org East Lansing Crime Leads To Likely Reform State House Set To Tackle Blue Cross Overhaul In “Lame Duck" http://wkar.org/post/state-house-set-tackle-blue-cross-overhaul-lame-duck <p>A number of high-profile bills are on the agenda for the state legislature’s “lame duck session” before the end of the year.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p></p><p> Mon, 12 Nov 2012 21:54:53 +0000 Jake Neher 26821 at http://wkar.org State House Set To Tackle Blue Cross Overhaul In “Lame Duck" Michigan Senate Approves Anti-Concussion Bills http://wkar.org/post/michigan-senate-approves-anti-concussion-bills <p>The Michigan Senate has approved legislation designed to protect student athletes from concussions.</p> Tue, 25 Sep 2012 22:23:53 +0000 The Associated Press 24480 at http://wkar.org Michigan Senate Approves Anti-Concussion Bills Detroit Lighting Bills Stalled in State Senate http://wkar.org/post/detroit-lighting-bills-stalled-state-senate <p>State Lawmakers failed to move a bill Wednesday that offers a possible solution to serious public lighting problems in Detroit and other cities.</p> Wed, 12 Sep 2012 22:36:42 +0000 Jake Neher 23822 at http://wkar.org Detroit Lighting Bills Stalled in State Senate Civil Rights Law Author Says It’s Time to Debate Adding Gay Rights http://wkar.org/post/civil-rights-law-author-says-it-s-time-debate-adding-gay-rights <p>Michigan’s landmark civil rights law was celebrated as a legal milestone in a ceremony Tuesday at the state Capitol. The Elliott-Larsen Civil Rights Act was enacted 36 years ago.</p> Tue, 28 Aug 2012 22:29:48 +0000 Rick Pluta 23027 at http://wkar.org Civil Rights Law Author Says It’s Time to Debate Adding Gay Rights Snyder Vetoes GOP-Backed Election Measures http://wkar.org/post/snyder-vetoes-gop-backed-election-measures <p>Governor Rick Snyder has vetoed bills sent to him by the Republican-led Legislature that would have required people to show a photo ID, and affirm their U.S. citizenship by checking a box on a form before they could get an absentee ballot.</p> Tue, 03 Jul 2012 22:37:22 +0000 Rick Pluta 20013 at http://wkar.org Snyder Vetoes GOP-Backed Election Measures Gov. Snyder Gets Bills Banning Synthetic Marijuana http://wkar.org/post/gov-snyder-gets-bills-banning-synthetic-marijuana <p>The Michigan Senate has given the Legislature's final approval to bills that would ban so-called synthetic marijuana.</p> Tue, 12 Jun 2012 22:40:28 +0000 The Associated Press 18833 at http://wkar.org Gov. Snyder Gets Bills Banning Synthetic Marijuana