welfare http://wkar.org en Bills To Revoke Welfare Based On Drug Testing And School Absences Clear State House http://wkar.org/post/bills-revoke-welfare-based-drug-testing-and-school-absences-clear-state-house <p>A pair of bills that would revoke welfare benefits from some Michigan families has cleared the state House.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Wed, 01 May 2013 21:41:51 +0000 Jake Neher 35171 at http://wkar.org Bills To Revoke Welfare Based On Drug Testing And School Absences Clear State House Welfare Drug Testing Bill Moves forward In State House http://wkar.org/post/welfare-drug-testing-bill-moves-forward-state-house <p>Michigan would begin suspicion-based drug testing of welfare recipients under a bill approved Wednesday by a state House panel.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Wed, 17 Apr 2013 21:41:41 +0000 Jake Neher 34452 at http://wkar.org Welfare Drug Testing Bill Moves forward In State House Food Aid Back For Nearly 50,000 Mich. Recipients http://wkar.org/post/food-aid-back-nearly-50000-mich-recipients <p>Money has been added to debit cards for more than half of 85,000 Michigan food assistance recipients who were without the aid for a day.</p><p></p><p> Fri, 04 Jan 2013 22:14:37 +0000 The Associated Press 29179 at http://wkar.org Food Aid Back For Nearly 50,000 Mich. Recipients New Program Requires Three-Week Assessment For Cash Assistance Applicants http://wkar.org/post/new-program-requires-three-week-assessment-cash-assistance-applicants <p>Michigan residents applying for cash assistance will have to get through a new three-week assessment and training period.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p></p><p> Wed, 19 Dec 2012 23:21:30 +0000 Jake Neher 28531 at http://wkar.org New Program Requires Three-Week Assessment For Cash Assistance Applicants Time Limits For Welfare Cash Assistance Hit State Supreme Court http://wkar.org/post/time-limits-welfare-cash-assistance-hit-state-supreme-court <p>Michigan’s highest court will decide when the state should cut off certain families from welfare cash assistance. The state Supreme Court heard arguments today.&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p></p><p></p><p> Thu, 15 Nov 2012 23:08:57 +0000 Jake Neher 26988 at http://wkar.org Time Limits For Welfare Cash Assistance Hit State Supreme Court Flint Judge Sets Deadline for State Welfare Review http://wkar.org/post/flint-judge-sets-deadline-state-welfare-review <p>A judge in Flint has given the Michigan Department of Human Services until Aug. 10 to process 5,000 or more remaining applications for cash assistance from people whose benefits were ended because of a five-year federal limit.</p> Mon, 16 Jul 2012 22:24:03 +0000 The Associated Press 20623 at http://wkar.org Flint Judge Sets Deadline for State Welfare Review Court says State Agency can Impose Welfare Time Limits http://wkar.org/post/court-says-state-agency-can-impose-welfare-time-limits <p>The Michigan Court of Appeals says the state Department of Human Services can cut off cash assistance welfare benefits to people who hit the federal time limit – even if they have time remaining on their state benefits.</p> Wed, 27 Jun 2012 22:35:19 +0000 Rick Pluta 19676 at http://wkar.org Court says State Agency can Impose Welfare Time Limits State Notifies Families They Can Re-apply for Cash Assistance http://wkar.org/post/state-notifies-families-they-can-re-apply-cash-assistance <p>Thousands of families in Michigan cut off from welfare benefits will get a notice soon in the mail telling them they may still qualify for cash assistance.</p> Fri, 27 Apr 2012 22:39:56 +0000 Rick Pluta 16472 at http://wkar.org State Notifies Families They Can Re-apply for Cash Assistance