taxes http://wkar.org en Could Michigan learn from Minnesota's high tax success? http://wkar.org/post/could-michigan-learn-minnesotas-high-tax-success <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>As Michigan works to recover from the economic downturn and the decline in its manufacturing base, there have been plenty of debates over which policies will set Michigan on a long-term path toward more prosperity. Thu, 19 Jun 2014 18:44:39 +0000 Joe Linstroth & Mark Bashore 55454 at http://wkar.org Could Michigan learn from Minnesota's high tax success? Funding vote crucial for Grand Ledge, Lansing schools http://wkar.org/post/funding-vote-crucial-grand-ledge-lansing-schools <p></p><p></p><p>Voters will make important school funding decisions tomorrow in Lansing and a number of other mid-Michigan districts. Those include Grand Ledge, Eaton Rapids, Williamston and others. Mon, 05 May 2014 15:27:10 +0000 Mark Bashore 53204 at http://wkar.org Funding vote crucial for Grand Ledge, Lansing schools Michigan stakeholders rely on non-partisan ‘Tax Outline’ http://wkar.org/post/michigan-stakeholders-rely-non-partisan-tax-outline <p></p><p>There are 59 different taxes yielding nearly $40 billion in public revenue. That is a snapshot of current Michigan tax levies contained in a comprehensive new report. The money is used to pay for police and fire protection, Medicaid coverage, state employee salaries, schools, roads and lots more.</p><p> Wed, 16 Apr 2014 15:45:18 +0000 Mark Bashore 52263 at http://wkar.org Michigan stakeholders rely on non-partisan ‘Tax Outline’ Neighbors in Action: Volunteer Income Tax Assistance Program http://wkar.org/post/neighbors-action-volunteer-income-tax-assistance-program <p>It’s Wednesday and time for our <em>Neighbors in Action</em> segment, where we feature people and organizations working to make our community a better place. Today we feature two services from the <a href="http://www.micauw.org/">Capital Area United Way</a>: the Volunteer Income Tax Assistance program and their &nbsp;2-1-1 support line.</p><p> Wed, 19 Mar 2014 16:33:25 +0000 Current State 50887 at http://wkar.org Neighbors in Action: Volunteer Income Tax Assistance Program Proposal would restore tax revenue for Michigan communities http://wkar.org/post/proposal-would-restore-tax-revenue-michigan-communities <p dir="ltr" id="docs-internal-guid-68c1edc3-6e94-7b11-53fe-2037f8403312" style="line-height:1.15;margin-top:0pt;margin-bottom:0pt;"><span style="font-size:16px;font-family:Arial;color:#222222;background-color:#ffffff;font-weight:normal;font-style:normal;font-variant:normal;text-decoration:none;vertical-align:baseline;">Fourteen months ago, <a href="http://www.michigan.gov/snyder">Gov. Rick Snyder</a> signed legislation eliminating the state personal property tax levied on business equipment. The move was heralded as welcome change by business owners who said the tax put them at a competitive disadvantage and inhibited job growth. However, local governments are worried about how they will replace the revenue that kept their vital services running. Now, a series of bills introduced this week in the Michigan Senate seeks to preserve that funding. </span> Wed, 26 Feb 2014 17:42:30 +0000 Current State 49913 at http://wkar.org Proposal would restore tax revenue for Michigan communities Michigan Democrats Mark Tax Day With Bills For “Middle Class Tax Relief” http://wkar.org/post/michigan-democrats-mark-tax-day-bills-middle-class-tax-relief <p>State House Democrats spent “tax day” pushing a plan to repeal several state tax policies.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Mon, 15 Apr 2013 22:08:27 +0000 Jake Neher 34322 at http://wkar.org Michigan Democrats Mark Tax Day With Bills For “Middle Class Tax Relief” Michigan Senate Democrats Try To Force Vote On Pension Tax Before April 15th Deadline http://wkar.org/post/michigan-senate-democrats-try-force-vote-pension-tax-april-15th-deadline <p>With the tax filing deadline right around the corner, Michigan Democrats are attacking what they call unfair Republican tax policies.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Thu, 11 Apr 2013 21:40:23 +0000 Jake Neher 34156 at http://wkar.org Michigan Senate Democrats Try To Force Vote On Pension Tax Before April 15th Deadline Michigan Treasury Department responds to criticism over tax collecting http://wkar.org/post/michigan-treasury-department-responds-criticism-over-tax-collecting <p></p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 11 Apr 2013 17:45:10 +0000 Current State 34117 at http://wkar.org Michigan Treasury Department responds to criticism over tax collecting Governor Signs Factory Tax Phaseout http://wkar.org/post/governor-signs-factory-tax-phaseout <p>Governor Rick Snyder has signed legislation that will phase out the tax on industrial and business equipment.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p></p><p> Thu, 20 Dec 2012 23:28:25 +0000 Rick Pluta 28587 at http://wkar.org Governor Signs Factory Tax Phaseout Governor Signs Mine Production Tax http://wkar.org/post/governor-signs-mine-production-tax <p>Governor Rick Snyder has signed a tax overhaul that he says will encourage more mining in northern Michigan.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p></p><p> Thu, 20 Dec 2012 23:15:04 +0000 Rick Pluta 28584 at http://wkar.org Governor Signs Mine Production Tax Snyder Signs Income Tax Cut http://wkar.org/post/snyder-signs-income-tax-cut <p>Governor Rick Snyder has signed a reduction in the state income tax.</p> Fri, 29 Jun 2012 22:26:42 +0000 Rick Pluta 19832 at http://wkar.org Snyder Signs Income Tax Cut Income Tax Rollback Grows More Likely http://wkar.org/post/income-tax-rollback-grows-more-likely <p>It appears a budget deal between Governor Rick Snyder and the Legislature&rsquo;s Republican leaders could include an election year tax cut. Wed, 23 May 2012 22:16:52 +0000 Rick Pluta 17827 at http://wkar.org Income Tax Rollback Grows More Likely Snyder Asks Congress to Adopt National Plan to Collect Taxes on Internet Sales http://wkar.org/post/snyder-asks-congress-adopt-national-plan-collect-taxes-internet-sales <p>Governor Rick Snyder is asking Congress to adopt a federal plan to help states collect sales taxes on Internet purchases.</p> Fri, 11 May 2012 22:34:46 +0000 Rick Pluta 17202 at http://wkar.org Snyder Asks Congress to Adopt National Plan to Collect Taxes on Internet Sales Senate Votes to Phase Out Industrial Tax http://wkar.org/post/senate-votes-phase-out-industrial-tax <p>The state Senate voted Thursday to phase out a tax on most industrial and business property in Michigan.</p> Thu, 10 May 2012 22:36:56 +0000 Rick Pluta 17146 at http://wkar.org Senate Votes to Phase Out Industrial Tax Industrial Tax Phase-Out Moves to Senate Floor http://wkar.org/post/industrial-tax-phase-out-moves-senate-floor <p>A state Senate panel voted along party lines for a plan to phase out Michigan’s tax on most industrial equipment.</p> Tue, 01 May 2012 22:40:46 +0000 Rick Pluta 16647 at http://wkar.org Industrial Tax Phase-Out Moves to Senate Floor Debate Begins on Industrial Property Tax http://wkar.org/post/debate-begins-industrial-property-tax <p>The debate at the state Capitol to get rid of Michigan&rsquo;s tax on most industrial equipment began Wednesday with a Senate hearing. Wed, 18 Apr 2012 22:22:41 +0000 Rick Pluta 15978 at http://wkar.org Debate Begins on Industrial Property Tax Filing Deadline Invites Tax Debate http://wkar.org/post/filing-deadline-invites-tax-debate <p>This week’s tax filing deadline has sparked a new round of arguing between Democrats and Republicans about taxes with an eye toward elections later this year.</p> Mon, 16 Apr 2012 22:42:18 +0000 Rick Pluta 15854 at http://wkar.org Filing Deadline Invites Tax Debate