benefits http://wkar.org en Congressman Kildee makes case for renewal of unemployment insurance http://wkar.org/post/congressman-kildee-makes-case-renewal-unemployment-insurance <p dir="ltr" style="line-height:1.15;margin-top:0pt;margin-bottom:0pt;"><span style="font-size:16px;font-family:Cambria;color:#000000;background-color:transparent;font-weight:normal;font-style:normal;font-variant:normal;text-decoration:none;vertical-align:baseline;">A deal to renew federal benefits for the country’s long-term unemployed continues to elude the U.S. Congress. However, supporters of the effort, which include Democrats and a growing number of Republicans, are hopeful of a breakthrough in the Senate this week.</span><span style="font-size:16px;font-family:Cambria;color:#000000;background-color:transparent;font-weight:normal;font-style:normal;font-variant:normal;text-decoration:none;vertical-align:baseline;"> There, Senators are looking at two proposals, one from each party. </span> Tue, 11 Mar 2014 17:05:30 +0000 Current State 50471 at http://wkar.org Congressman Kildee makes case for renewal of unemployment insurance Supreme Court Declines To Hear Live-In Partner Benefits Case http://wkar.org/post/supreme-court-declines-hear-live-partner-benefits-case <p>The Michigan Supreme Court has declined to hear a challenge to the policy that allows live-in partners of state employees to be covered by their health coverage.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Thu, 02 May 2013 19:13:49 +0000 Rick Pluta 35229 at http://wkar.org Supreme Court Declines To Hear Live-In Partner Benefits Case Court Of Appeals Upholds State Worker Live-In Partner Benefits http://wkar.org/post/court-appeals-upholds-state-worker-live-partner-benefits <p>A divided Michigan Court of Appeals panel has upheld extending health benefits to the live-in partners of state employees.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p></p><p> Wed, 09 Jan 2013 22:38:53 +0000 Rick Pluta 29382 at http://wkar.org Court Of Appeals Upholds State Worker Live-In Partner Benefits Judge Blocks Full Implementation of Benefits Law http://wkar.org/post/judge-blocks-full-implementation-benefits-law <p>A judge has temporarily blocked full implementation of a new law requiring Michigan public school employees to pay more for their pensions. Wed, 05 Sep 2012 22:23:43 +0000 The Associated Press 23443 at http://wkar.org Judge Blocks Full Implementation of Benefits Law Governor Signs Pension Law as Court Battle Looms http://wkar.org/post/governor-signs-pension-law-court-battle-looms <p>The return of children to classrooms on Tuesday coincided with Governor Rick Snyder approving some big changes to how teachers will save for retirement. Tue, 04 Sep 2012 22:41:09 +0000 Rick Pluta 23374 at http://wkar.org Governor Signs Pension Law as Court Battle Looms Michigan Senate Approves Teacher Changes http://wkar.org/post/michigan-senate-approves-teacher-changes <p>The Michigan Senate has approved a compromise bill that would end state-provided health coverage in retirement for new public school employees and require current workers to pay more for their pensions.</p> Wed, 15 Aug 2012 22:19:28 +0000 The Associated Press 22355 at http://wkar.org Michigan Senate Approves Teacher Changes Senate Comes Back to Reconsider Teacher Changes http://wkar.org/post/senate-comes-back-reconsider-teacher-changes <p>Majority Republicans in the Michigan Legislature agree the weight of a $45 billion pension liability for public school employees will crush the system if left untended, but they differ on how to fix it. The Senate is expected to consider a measure Wednesday that could be a compromise.</p> Tue, 14 Aug 2012 22:19:00 +0000 The Associated Press 22288 at http://wkar.org Senate Comes Back to Reconsider Teacher Changes MI Budget Czar: Go Slow on Teacher Retirement Changes http://wkar.org/post/mi-budget-czar-go-slow-teacher-retirement-changes <p>Michigan's budget director says he doesn't want lawmakers to pass legislation next week putting new teachers into a 401(k)-style retirement plan.</p> Thu, 07 Jun 2012 22:21:08 +0000 The Associated Press 18610 at http://wkar.org MI Budget Czar: Go Slow on Teacher Retirement Changes GM to Buy Out White-Collar Pensions http://wkar.org/post/gm-buy-out-white-collar-pensions <p>General Motors is changing the way it pays monthly benefits to white-collar retirees, and cutting its U.S. pension obligation by $26 billion.</p> Fri, 01 Jun 2012 22:30:09 +0000 The Associated Press 18288 at http://wkar.org GM to Buy Out White-Collar Pensions Michigan House Panel Changes Teacher Benefits Bill http://wkar.org/post/michigan-house-panel-changes-teacher-benefits-bill <p>New teachers in Michigan still would get hybrid pensions under changes made to a teacher benefits bill.</p> Mon, 21 May 2012 22:29:53 +0000 The Associated Press 17695 at http://wkar.org Michigan House Panel Changes Teacher Benefits Bill Senate OKs Bill Ending Pensions for New Teachers http://wkar.org/post/senate-oks-bill-ending-pensions-new-teachers <p>The Michigan Senate has passed legislation that would end pensions for newly hired public school employees and switch them into a 401 (k)-style retirement plan.</p> Thu, 17 May 2012 22:14:32 +0000 Rick Pluta 17522 at http://wkar.org Senate OKs Bill Ending Pensions for New Teachers House Dems Launch Effort to Help Michigan's Working Mothers http://wkar.org/post/house-dems-launch-effort-help-michigans-working-mothers <p>A group of Michigan House Democrats is urging that something be done for the state’s working poor.</p> Tue, 15 May 2012 04:00:00 +0000 Mark Bashore 17283 at http://wkar.org House Dems Launch Effort to Help Michigan's Working Mothers Teachers Oppose Proposed Cuts to Pensions, Retirement Health Benefits http://wkar.org/post/teachers-oppose-proposed-cuts-pensions-retirement-health-benefits <p>Teachers turned out by the hundreds Wednesday to pack a hearing room in Lansing. They showed up to oppose a measure that would force them to pay more for their retirement health care and pension benefits.</p> Wed, 11 Apr 2012 23:16:43 +0000 Rick Pluta 15658 at http://wkar.org Teachers Oppose Proposed Cuts to Pensions, Retirement Health Benefits