teachers http://wkar.org en Evaluating teacher effectiveness in Michigan http://wkar.org/post/evaluating-teacher-effectiveness-michigan <p>I<span style="line-height: 1.5;">n two weeks, Michigan legislators will begin hearings on how to improve teacher evaluations in the state.&nbsp; They’ll consider a new plan submitted recently by the <a href="http://www.mcede.org/">Michigan Council on Educator Effectiveness</a>. &nbsp;That's an independent body created by Governor Rick Snyder and the legislature two years ago after the passage of teacher tenure reform in Michigan.</span></p> Tue, 27 Aug 2013 15:51:31 +0000 Current State 41359 at http://wkar.org Evaluating teacher effectiveness in Michigan Performance Pay For Teachers Moves Forward In State House http://wkar.org/post/performance-pay-teachers-moves-forward-state-house <p>A state House panel has approved a plan to tie teachers’ pay to student performance.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Wed, 22 May 2013 21:12:39 +0000 Jake Neher 36293 at http://wkar.org Performance Pay For Teachers Moves Forward In State House State Lawmakers Debate Merit-Based Pay For Teachers http://wkar.org/post/state-lawmakers-debate-merit-based-pay-teachers <p>New teachers in Michigan would be paid based primarily on student growth under a bill in Lansing.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Wed, 08 May 2013 21:12:01 +0000 Jake Neher 35538 at http://wkar.org State Lawmakers Debate Merit-Based Pay For Teachers Judge Blocks Full Implementation of Benefits Law http://wkar.org/post/judge-blocks-full-implementation-benefits-law <p>A judge has temporarily blocked full implementation of a new law requiring Michigan public school employees to pay more for their pensions. Wed, 05 Sep 2012 22:23:43 +0000 The Associated Press 23443 at http://wkar.org Judge Blocks Full Implementation of Benefits Law Governor Signs Pension Law as Court Battle Looms http://wkar.org/post/governor-signs-pension-law-court-battle-looms <p>The return of children to classrooms on Tuesday coincided with Governor Rick Snyder approving some big changes to how teachers will save for retirement. Tue, 04 Sep 2012 22:41:09 +0000 Rick Pluta 23374 at http://wkar.org Governor Signs Pension Law as Court Battle Looms Senate Comes Back to Reconsider Teacher Changes http://wkar.org/post/senate-comes-back-reconsider-teacher-changes <p>Majority Republicans in the Michigan Legislature agree the weight of a $45 billion pension liability for public school employees will crush the system if left untended, but they differ on how to fix it. The Senate is expected to consider a measure Wednesday that could be a compromise.</p> Tue, 14 Aug 2012 22:19:00 +0000 The Associated Press 22288 at http://wkar.org Senate Comes Back to Reconsider Teacher Changes State Figures: Mich. Retains More Veteran Teachers http://wkar.org/post/state-figures-mich-retains-more-veteran-teachers <p>State figures say Michigan schools are retaining more of their veteran K-12 educators, leaving fewer job openings for newcomers.</p> Thu, 26 Jul 2012 22:17:37 +0000 The Associated Press 21193 at http://wkar.org State Figures: Mich. Retains More Veteran Teachers MI Budget Czar: Go Slow on Teacher Retirement Changes http://wkar.org/post/mi-budget-czar-go-slow-teacher-retirement-changes <p>Michigan's budget director says he doesn't want lawmakers to pass legislation next week putting new teachers into a 401(k)-style retirement plan.</p> Thu, 07 Jun 2012 22:21:08 +0000 The Associated Press 18610 at http://wkar.org MI Budget Czar: Go Slow on Teacher Retirement Changes Michigan House Panel Changes Teacher Benefits Bill http://wkar.org/post/michigan-house-panel-changes-teacher-benefits-bill <p>New teachers in Michigan still would get hybrid pensions under changes made to a teacher benefits bill.</p> Mon, 21 May 2012 22:29:53 +0000 The Associated Press 17695 at http://wkar.org Michigan House Panel Changes Teacher Benefits Bill School Employees Would Face Higher Benefits Costs Under House Plan http://wkar.org/post/school-employees-would-face-higher-benefits-costs-under-house-plan <p>A state House committee goes to work this morning on a plan that would force teachers and other school employees to pay more for their retirement benefits.&nbsp; Mon, 21 May 2012 11:58:55 +0000 Rick Pluta 17658 at http://wkar.org School Employees Would Face Higher Benefits Costs Under House Plan Teachers Oppose Proposed Cuts to Pensions, Retirement Health Benefits http://wkar.org/post/teachers-oppose-proposed-cuts-pensions-retirement-health-benefits <p>Teachers turned out by the hundreds Wednesday to pack a hearing room in Lansing. They showed up to oppose a measure that would force them to pay more for their retirement health care and pension benefits.</p> Wed, 11 Apr 2012 23:16:43 +0000 Rick Pluta 15658 at http://wkar.org Teachers Oppose Proposed Cuts to Pensions, Retirement Health Benefits