legislature http://wkar.org en Proposal seeks return to part-time legislature http://wkar.org/post/proposal-seeks-return-part-time-legislature <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Norman </span>Kammeraad<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> is a West Michigan business owner who chairs the </span><a href="http://parttimemi.com/" style="line-height: 1.5;">Committee to Restore Michigan’s Part-Time Legislature</a><span style="line-height: 1.5;">. The group is calling for a two-month legislative session with salaries of $35,000.</span></p><p> Wed, 05 Feb 2014 19:07:23 +0000 Current State 48928 at http://wkar.org Proposal seeks return to part-time legislature SIDEBAR: A look at Georgia's part-time legislature http://wkar.org/post/sidebar-look-georgias-part-time-legislature <p>If governing nearly 10-million people with a legislature that meets for just two months sounds impossible, take a trip down Interstate 75 and spend some time in the Peach State.</p><p> Wed, 05 Feb 2014 19:06:04 +0000 Current State 48929 at http://wkar.org SIDEBAR: A look at Georgia's part-time legislature Lawmakers Look To Tackle Big Issues In Next Two Weeks http://wkar.org/post/lawmakers-look-tackle-big-issues-next-two-weeks <p>State lawmakers are back to work after a two week break.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Tue, 03 Dec 2013 23:08:00 +0000 Jake Neher 46158 at http://wkar.org Lawmakers Look To Tackle Big Issues In Next Two Weeks What’s next for debate over wolf hunting? http://wkar.org/post/what-s-next-debate-over-wolf-hunting <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Last December, the Michigan Legislature approved a bill that classified the gray wolf as a “game species.” &nbsp;The act cleared the way for a debate over whether wolves should be hunted for sport. &nbsp;There are fewer than one-thousand wolves in the state’s Upper Peninsula, and groups opposed to a hunting season want to see that population survive. &nbsp;Last week, the group “</span><a href="http://keepwolvesprotected.com/" style="line-height: 1.5;">Keep Michigan Wolves Protected</a><span style="line-height: 1.5;">” submitted more than 253,000 signatures to the Michigan Secretary of State in a bid to put the wolf hunting question on the ballot in 2014.</span></p><p style="margin:0in;margin-bottom:.0001pt"><o:p></o:p></p><p style="margin:0in;margin-bottom:.0001pt"> Mon, 01 Apr 2013 17:40:08 +0000 Current State 33583 at http://wkar.org What’s next for debate over wolf hunting? First State Bills Of 2013 Aim To End “Lame Duck” Sessions And Cut FOIA Filing Costs http://wkar.org/post/first-state-bills-2013-aim-end-lame-duck-sessions-and-cut-foia-filing-costs <p> State lawmakers are already sorting through bills introduced on the first day of their new session. They include ones that would boost funding for roads and make public information requests cheaper.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Thu, 10 Jan 2013 23:08:47 +0000 Jake Neher 29439 at http://wkar.org First State Bills Of 2013 Aim To End “Lame Duck” Sessions And Cut FOIA Filing Costs Legislature Begins Session With Tension, Protests http://wkar.org/post/legislature-begins-session-tension-protests <p>The 97<sup>th</sup> session of the Legislature opened Wednesday at the state Capitol. The formality of swearing in new lawmakers, choosing leaders, and picking seats played out as protesters picketed outside.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p></p><p> Wed, 09 Jan 2013 23:25:52 +0000 RICK pLUTA 29390 at http://wkar.org Legislature Begins Session With Tension, Protests State Lawmakers Halt Fetal Tax Exemption Bills http://wkar.org/post/state-lawmakers-halt-fetal-tax-exemption-bills <p>State lawmakers are not likely to move this year on a proposal to let people claim a fetus as a dependent on state taxes.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p></p><p> Mon, 26 Nov 2012 21:55:02 +0000 Jake Neher 27433 at http://wkar.org State Lawmakers Halt Fetal Tax Exemption Bills State House Set To Tackle Blue Cross Overhaul In “Lame Duck" http://wkar.org/post/state-house-set-tackle-blue-cross-overhaul-lame-duck <p>A number of high-profile bills are on the agenda for the state legislature’s “lame duck session” before the end of the year.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p></p><p> Mon, 12 Nov 2012 21:54:53 +0000 Jake Neher 26821 at http://wkar.org State House Set To Tackle Blue Cross Overhaul In “Lame Duck" Bolger Holds On To Role As House GOP Leader, Dems Choose Greimel http://wkar.org/post/bolger-holds-role-house-gop-leader-dems-choose-greimel <p>State House Republicans are sticking with Jase Bolger.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p></p><p></p><p> Thu, 08 Nov 2012 23:28:40 +0000 Jake Neher 26670 at http://wkar.org Bolger Holds On To Role As House GOP Leader, Dems Choose Greimel State House Passes Overhaul To Michigan’s Criminal Defense System http://wkar.org/post/state-house-passes-overhaul-michigan-s-criminal-defense-system <p>A plan to change the way Michigan counties appoint public defenders is headed to the state Senate. Thu, 08 Nov 2012 21:45:34 +0000 Jake Neher 26655 at http://wkar.org Secretary Of State Dismisses Complaints Against Bolger, Schmidt http://wkar.org/post/secretary-state-dismisses-complaints-against-bolger-schmidt <p>Michigan Democrats have not been able to prove House Speaker Jase Bolger and Representative Roy Schmidt broke the law in a party-switch scandal this year. That’s according to the state Bureau of Elections.</p><p></p><p> Thu, 01 Nov 2012 22:13:45 +0000 Jake Neher 26299 at http://wkar.org Secretary Of State Dismisses Complaints Against Bolger, Schmidt Dems Are In The (68th) House http://wkar.org/post/dems-are-68th-house <p>WKAR's Mark Bashore takes a look at the contest between Andy Schor (D) and Tim Moede (R) in Michigan's 68th House district. Wed, 31 Oct 2012 04:00:00 +0000 Mark Bashore 26167 at http://wkar.org Dems Are In The (68th) House State Rep. Genetski Gets Community Service, Fines For Drunken Driving http://wkar.org/post/state-rep-genetski-gets-community-service-fines-drunken-driving <p>State Representative Bob Genetski will serve no jail time for his drunken driving conviction handed down last month.</p> Wed, 24 Oct 2012 22:28:52 +0000 Jake Neher 25906 at http://wkar.org State Rep. Genetski Gets Community Service, Fines For Drunken Driving House Panel Could Lift Restrictions in Open Government Law http://wkar.org/post/house-panel-could-lift-restrictions-open-government-law <p>The state legislature could soon make it easier and cheaper to file request for public information.</p> Tue, 25 Sep 2012 22:26:32 +0000 Jake Neher 24481 at http://wkar.org House Panel Could Lift Restrictions in Open Government Law Pledge of Allegiance Requirement Heads to Governor’s Desk http://wkar.org/post/pledge-allegiance-requirement-heads-governor-s-desk <p>A bill requiring public schools in Michigan to make time to recite the Pledge of Allegiance is on its way to Governor Rick Snyder’s desk.</p> Thu, 20 Sep 2012 21:44:00 +0000 Jake Neher 24245 at http://wkar.org Pledge of Allegiance Requirement Heads to Governor’s Desk Public Defense Bill Stalled in Committee http://wkar.org/post/public-defense-bill-stalled-committee <p>The state Attorney General has stalled a plan to overhaul Michigan’s public defense system.</p> Thu, 13 Sep 2012 22:13:45 +0000 Jake Neher 23890 at http://wkar.org Public Defense Bill Stalled in Committee Michigan Senate Approves Teacher Changes http://wkar.org/post/michigan-senate-approves-teacher-changes <p>The Michigan Senate has approved a compromise bill that would end state-provided health coverage in retirement for new public school employees and require current workers to pay more for their pensions.</p> Wed, 15 Aug 2012 22:19:28 +0000 The Associated Press 22355 at http://wkar.org Michigan Senate Approves Teacher Changes Ingham Official, Others Frustrated Over MI Foreclosure Practices http://wkar.org/post/ingham-official-others-frustrated-over-mi-foreclosure-practices <p>A prominent Ingham County official backs a proposal to reform Michigan's foreclosure process. WKAR's Mark Bashore looks at how such reforms may have helped one struggling Meridian Township homeowner, and why the proposal appears to be going nowhere.</p> Wed, 15 Aug 2012 04:00:00 +0000 Mark Bashore 22252 at http://wkar.org Ingham Official, Others Frustrated Over MI Foreclosure Practices Court of Appeals Asked to Lift Order That House GOP Count Procedural Votes http://wkar.org/post/court-appeals-asked-lift-order-house-gop-count-procedural-votes <p>A battle over how Republicans in the Michigan House of Representatives count votes was argued Wednesday before the state Court of Appeals.</p> Wed, 08 Aug 2012 22:25:46 +0000 Rick Pluta 21917 at http://wkar.org Court of Appeals Asked to Lift Order That House GOP Count Procedural Votes Regulator Urges Action On MI Online Health Exchange http://wkar.org/post/regulator-urges-action-mi-online-health-exchange <p>State House members held a hearing Wednesday on a federal law requiring states to set up a website to help people buy health insurance.</p> Wed, 25 Jul 2012 22:26:56 +0000 Rick Pluta 21127 at http://wkar.org Regulator Urges Action On MI Online Health Exchange Snyder: Locals Should Not Expect State Funding to Help with Election Cost http://wkar.org/post/snyder-locals-should-not-expect-state-funding-help-election-cost <p>Governor Rick Snyder says local governments in the 11<sup>th</sup> congressional district should not expect the state to help cover the costs of a special primary to replace Congressman Thad McCotter. The cost is pegged at about $650,000. Fri, 20 Jul 2012 22:17:46 +0000 Rick Pluta 20889 at http://wkar.org Snyder: Locals Should Not Expect State Funding to Help with Election Cost Snyder Says He’s Still Willing to Work with Legislature on Health Care Law http://wkar.org/post/snyder-says-he-s-still-willing-work-legislature-health-care-law <p>Governor Rick Snyder says he hopes Republican lawmakers will act before the end of the summer to create an online place for people to comparison shop for health coverage.</p> Thu, 19 Jul 2012 22:29:56 +0000 Rick Pluta 20822 at http://wkar.org Snyder Says He’s Still Willing to Work with Legislature on Health Care Law Dem Chair Brewer Re-Files Campaign Complaint on Bolger, GOP Staff http://wkar.org/post/dem-chair-brewer-re-files-campaign-complaint-bolger-gop-staff <p>The chair of the Michigan Democratic Party says a prosecutor’s report shows his complaint of election law violations deserves another look. Mark Brewer says state House Speaker Jase Bolger and other Republicans used state resources to plot a lawmaker’s defection to the G-O-P and put a fake Democrat on the ballot.</p> Thu, 19 Jul 2012 22:28:26 +0000 Rick Pluta 20821 at http://wkar.org Dem Chair Brewer Re-Files Campaign Complaint on Bolger, GOP Staff Protesters Abound at Legislature’s Only Session Day in July http://wkar.org/post/protesters-abound-legislature-s-only-session-day-july <p>The Legislature’s only session day in July was a magnet that drew protesters to Lansing.</p> Wed, 18 Jul 2012 22:26:47 +0000 Rick Pluta 20752 at http://wkar.org Protesters Abound at Legislature’s Only Session Day in July Complaints Continue on MI Fireworks Law http://wkar.org/post/complaints-continue-mi-fireworks-law <p>Some state lawmakers are already discussing possible changes to Michigan’s new fireworks law.</p> Fri, 13 Jul 2012 22:25:19 +0000 Rick Pluta 20513 at http://wkar.org Complaints Continue on MI Fireworks Law Senator: Representing Children, Mentally Ill Should Be Public Defense Specialty http://wkar.org/post/senator-representing-children-mentally-ill-should-be-public-defense-specialty <p>Hearings are supposed to begin this summer on plans to ensure poor defendants get a fair shake in the legal system.</p> Mon, 02 Jul 2012 22:19:37 +0000 Rick Pluta 19949 at http://wkar.org Senator: Representing Children, Mentally Ill Should Be Public Defense Specialty Warren Could Challenge Michigan Fireworks Law http://wkar.org/post/warren-could-challenge-michigan-fireworks-law <p>A suburban Detroit mayor says a new ordinance under consideration in his city could challenge state law making powerful fireworks legal in Michigan.</p> Mon, 25 Jun 2012 22:23:25 +0000 The Associated Press 19537 at http://wkar.org Warren Could Challenge Michigan Fireworks Law Protesters in Pink Shirts Oppose Abortion Legislation http://wkar.org/post/protesters-pink-shirts-oppose-abortion-legislation <p>There was a demonstration Tuesday at the state Capitol as abortion rights advocates protested legislation up for a vote this week.</p> Tue, 12 Jun 2012 22:44:55 +0000 Rick Pluta 18834 at http://wkar.org Protesters in Pink Shirts Oppose Abortion Legislation House Committee Moves Abortion Measures to Floor http://wkar.org/post/house-committee-moves-abortion-measures-floor <p>A state House committee has approved a sweeping new set of restrictions and requirements on abortion providers and women who want to end their pregnancies.</p> Thu, 07 Jun 2012 22:29:59 +0000 Rick Pluta 18611 at http://wkar.org House Committee Moves Abortion Measures to Floor Mich. Dems Seek Repeal of 'Stand Your Ground' Laws http://wkar.org/post/mich-dems-seek-repeal-stand-your-ground-laws <p>More than a dozen Democratic Michigan House members have introduced legislation to repeal the state's "stand your ground" self-defense law after the fatal shooting of Florida teen Trayvon Martin.</p> Fri, 18 May 2012 22:23:50 +0000 The Associated Press 17586 at http://wkar.org Mich. Dems Seek Repeal of 'Stand Your Ground' Laws