abortion http://wkar.org en Health plans rep explains Michigan abortion insurance change http://wkar.org/post/health-plans-rep-explains-michigan-abortion-insurance-change <p></p><p dir="ltr" style="line-height:1.15;margin-top:0pt;margin-bottom:0pt;">T<span style="font-size:16px;font-family:Cambria;color:#000000;background-color:transparent;font-weight:bold;font-style:normal;font-variant:normal;text-decoration:none;vertical-align:baseline;">he new</span><span style="font-size:16px;font-family:Arial;color:#2c2c2c;background-color:transparent;font-weight:bold;font-style:normal;font-variant:normal;text-decoration:none;vertical-align:baseline;"> ‘<a href="http://michigansvoice.com/Read_Legislation.htm">Abortion Insurance Opt-Out Act</a>’ bans insurance companies from offering coverage for the procedure as a standard part of a policy. Persons wanting the coverage will need to purchase a separate “rider” for their policy.</span> Thu, 13 Mar 2014 19:36:16 +0000 Current State 50597 at http://wkar.org Health plans rep explains Michigan abortion insurance change “Pro-Choice” Groups Gear Up To Challenge New Abortion Law http://wkar.org/post/pro-choice-groups-gear-challenge-new-abortion-law <p>The Legislature’s votes to enact a law to require people to buy separate insurance policies to cover abortions may not be the final word on the issue.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Thu, 12 Dec 2013 22:52:49 +0000 Rick Pluta 46604 at http://wkar.org “Pro-Choice” Groups Gear Up To Challenge New Abortion Law Legislature's stare down with Right to Life a rarity http://wkar.org/post/legislatures-stare-down-right-life-rarity <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>The state Legislature is in its final week of voting before it adjourns for the year. One of the big questions is whether lawmakers will cast votes on a controversial anti-abortion issue this year. Wed, 11 Dec 2013 16:29:53 +0000 Current State 46521 at http://wkar.org Legislature's stare down with Right to Life a rarity Right To Life Files Abortion Coverage Petitions http://wkar.org/post/right-life-files-abortion-coverage-petitions <p>Abortion opponents have turned in more than 315,000 petition signatures calling on the Legislature to place new restrictions on health coverage.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p> Fri, 04 Oct 2013 21:13:21 +0000 Rick Pluta 43336 at http://wkar.org Right To Life Files Abortion Coverage Petitions Drive To Ban Abortion Coverage In Insurance Policies Will Go Ahead http://wkar.org/post/drive-ban-abortion-coverage-insurance-policies-will-go-ahead <p>Abortion foes in Michigan have been given the go-ahead to launch a petition drive.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Wed, 22 May 2013 21:25:28 +0000 Rick Pluta 36294 at http://wkar.org Drive To Ban Abortion Coverage In Insurance Policies Will Go Ahead Bolger Says State House Won’t Approve Transvaginal Ultrasound Mandate http://wkar.org/post/bolger-says-state-house-won-t-approve-transvaginal-ultrasound-mandate <p>Any bill requiring a woman seeking an abortion to get a transvaginal ultrasound will not pass the state House.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Thu, 07 Feb 2013 22:53:34 +0000 Jake Neher 30794 at http://wkar.org Bolger Says State House Won’t Approve Transvaginal Ultrasound Mandate Abortion Language That Sunk Blue Cross Overhaul Reintroduced http://wkar.org/post/abortion-language-sunk-blue-cross-overhaul-reintroduced <p>Health insurers would only be able to cover elective abortions through optional rider plans under legislation in the state Senate.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Tue, 05 Feb 2013 22:25:04 +0000 Jake Neher 30655 at http://wkar.org Abortion Language That Sunk Blue Cross Overhaul Reintroduced State Lawmakers Bring Back Abortion Bills Days After Roe V. Wade Anniversary http://wkar.org/post/state-lawmakers-bring-back-abortion-bills-days-after-roe-v-wade-anniversary <p>A number of abortion-related bills that died last year are resurfacing in the state Legislature.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Fri, 01 Feb 2013 23:13:40 +0000 Jake Neher 30488 at http://wkar.org State Lawmakers Bring Back Abortion Bills Days After Roe V. Wade Anniversary Snyder Vetoes Blue Cross Overhaul Over Abortion Coverage http://wkar.org/post/snyder-vetoes-blue-cross-overhaul-over-abortion-coverage <p>Governor Rick Snyder has vetoed an overhaul of Blue Cross-Blue Shield of Michigan because the legislation would require insurance companies to offer separate coverage for abortions. But he signed new regulations on clinics that perform abortions that could force some of them to shut down.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Fri, 28 Dec 2012 23:38:18 +0000 Rick Pluta 28904 at http://wkar.org Snyder Vetoes Blue Cross Overhaul Over Abortion Coverage Controversial Abortion Legislation A Step Closer To Gov. Snyder’s Desk http://wkar.org/post/controversial-abortion-legislation-step-closer-gov-snyder-s-desk <p>State lawmakers are a step closer to adding restrictions for abortion providers.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p></p><p> Wed, 12 Dec 2012 23:24:51 +0000 Jake Neher 28198 at http://wkar.org Controversial Abortion Legislation A Step Closer To Gov. Snyder’s Desk Protesters in Pink Shirts Oppose Abortion Legislation http://wkar.org/post/protesters-pink-shirts-oppose-abortion-legislation <p>There was a demonstration Tuesday at the state Capitol as abortion rights advocates protested legislation up for a vote this week.</p> Tue, 12 Jun 2012 22:44:55 +0000 Rick Pluta 18834 at http://wkar.org Protesters in Pink Shirts Oppose Abortion Legislation House Committee Moves Abortion Measures to Floor http://wkar.org/post/house-committee-moves-abortion-measures-floor <p>A state House committee has approved a sweeping new set of restrictions and requirements on abortion providers and women who want to end their pregnancies.</p> Thu, 07 Jun 2012 22:29:59 +0000 Rick Pluta 18611 at http://wkar.org House Committee Moves Abortion Measures to Floor House Passes Ban on Threats to Coerce Abortions http://wkar.org/post/house-passes-ban-threats-coerce-abortions <p>The state House approved a package of bills that creates punishments the use of threats or coercion to try to force a woman to have an abortion. Tue, 13 Mar 2012 21:23:57 +0000 Rick Pluta 14058 at http://wkar.org House Passes Ban on Threats to Coerce Abortions Abortion Debate to Resume with Vote on Coercion Bill http://wkar.org/post/abortion-debate-resume-vote-coercion-bill <p>The debate over abortion is expected to resume&nbsp;Tuesday at the state Capitol. Mon, 12 Mar 2012 22:35:58 +0000 Rick Pluta 13990 at http://wkar.org Abortion Debate to Resume with Vote on Coercion Bill