wolves http://wkar.org en Wolf Season Opens In UP http://wkar.org/post/wolf-season-opens <p>Michigan’s controversial wolf hunting season is underway in the Upper Peninsula.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Fri, 15 Nov 2013 20:30:50 +0000 Rick Pluta 45376 at http://wkar.org Wolf Season Opens In UP Current State #202 | November 14, 2013 http://wkar.org/post/current-state-202-november-14-2013 <p>Today on <em>Current State</em>: the "Pure Michigan Waste" campaign; a review of Dave Eggers' "The Circle"; an American Indian Tribe and the wolf hunt in Michigan; a one-woman play on bullying; and live Turkish music.</p> Thu, 14 Nov 2013 18:54:08 +0000 Current State 45296 at http://wkar.org On hunt’s eve Saginaw Chippewa’s to hold vigil for wolf http://wkar.org/post/hunt-s-eve-saginaw-chippewa-s-hold-vigil-wolf <p dir="ltr" style="line-height:1.95;margin-top:0pt;margin-bottom:0pt;"><span id="docs-internal-guid-410b159a-573d-8432-6df1-28c9b02e208b"><span style="font-size: 16px; font-family: 'Times New Roman'; color: rgb(34, 34, 34); vertical-align: baseline; white-space: pre-wrap;">Tomorrow marks the opening day of Michigan’s first wolf hunt in nearly 40 years. The state has issued 1,200 hunting licenses to kill 43 wolves, all in the Upper Peninsula.</span></span></p><p> Thu, 14 Nov 2013 18:14:12 +0000 Current State 45290 at http://wkar.org On hunt’s eve Saginaw Chippewa’s to hold vigil for wolf Michigan's recycling rate is lowest in Great Lakes region http://wkar.org/post/michigans-recycling-rate-lowest-great-lakes-region <p>At 20 percent, Michigan's recycling rate is 10 percent lower than the regional average.&nbsp; Many people around the state are hoping to change that.&nbsp; In 2012, Governor Rick Snyder identified increasing Michigan's recycling rates as a priority for his administration.&nbsp; Michigan Recycling Coalition executive director Kerrin O'Brien discusses what a comprehensive recycling plan might include.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 13 Aug 2013 19:04:04 +0000 Current State 40711 at http://wkar.org Michigan's recycling rate is lowest in Great Lakes region Wolf Hunt Foes Launch Second Petition Drive http://wkar.org/post/wolf-hunt-foes-launch-second-petition-drive-0 <p>A second ballot drive to outlaw wolf hunting in Michigan is underway.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Fri, 12 Jul 2013 20:42:03 +0000 Rick Pluta 39062 at http://wkar.org Wolf Hunt Foes Launch Second Petition Drive Wolf Hunt Foes Launch Second Petition Drive http://wkar.org/post/wolf-hunt-foes-launch-second-petition-drive <p>A second ballot drive to outlaw wolf hunting in Michigan is under way.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Tue, 02 Jul 2013 20:11:52 +0000 Rick Pluta 38530 at http://wkar.org Wolf Hunt Foes Launch Second Petition Drive Michigan's five Indian tribes set to challenge wolf hunt http://wkar.org/post/michigans-five-indian-tribes-set-challenge-wolf-hunt <p>A controlled wolf hunt is scheduled to start this November in Michigan. &nbsp;Opponents of the Upper Peninsula hunt were encouraged recently when they succeeded in securing a ballot proposal for next year that would end hunting and trapping in the state. Tue, 04 Jun 2013 18:06:47 +0000 Current State 36964 at http://wkar.org Michigan's five Indian tribes set to challenge wolf hunt American Indian Tribes To Challenge Michigan Wolf Hunt http://wkar.org/post/american-indian-tribes-challenge-michigan-wolf-hunt <p>Five Michigan Indian tribes have decided to challenge the state’s decision to hold a wolf hunt in the western UP this coming fall.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Mon, 03 Jun 2013 20:38:41 +0000 Rick Pluta 36931 at http://wkar.org American Indian Tribes To Challenge Michigan Wolf Hunt Wolf Hunt Law Headed For 2014 Ballot http://wkar.org/post/wolf-hunt-law-headed-2014-ballot <p>Voters will decide the fate of a state law that allows wildlife officials to set wolf hunting seasons in the Upper Peninsula.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Wed, 22 May 2013 21:38:38 +0000 Rick Pluta 36295 at http://wkar.org Wolf Hunt Law Headed For 2014 Ballot Governor Snyder Approves Wolf Hunt http://wkar.org/post/governor-snyder-approves-wolf-hunt <p>Governor Rick Snyder has signed a bill to give state wildlife officials more control over which species can be hunted in Michigan – and to permit wolf hunts in the Upper Peninsula.</p><p></p><p> Wed, 08 May 2013 21:17:13 +0000 Rick Pluta 35539 at http://wkar.org Governor Snyder Approves Wolf Hunt House Panel Holds Hearing On Measure To Bypass Wolf Hunt Referendum http://wkar.org/post/house-panel-holds-hearing-measure-bypass-wolf-hunt-referendum <p>A state House committee is holding a hearing on a measure that would change how hunting is managed in Michigan, and bypass a referendum on wolf hunting if it’s on the ballot next year.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Tue, 30 Apr 2013 21:24:15 +0000 Rick Pluta 35107 at http://wkar.org House Panel Holds Hearing On Measure To Bypass Wolf Hunt Referendum Senate Measure Could Bypass Wolf Hunt http://wkar.org/post/senate-measure-could-bypass-wolf-hunt <p>The Michigan Senate has approved legislation that would name the gray wolf and 38 other animals as game species in Michigan.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Thu, 25 Apr 2013 20:13:54 +0000 Rick Pluta 34853 at http://wkar.org Senate Measure Could Bypass Wolf Hunt Senate Legislation Would Circumvent Wolf Hunt Challenge http://wkar.org/post/senate-legislation-would-circumvent-wolf-hunt-challenge <p>The campaign to block wolf hunting in Michigan was dealt a setback Thursday.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Thu, 11 Apr 2013 22:05:22 +0000 Rick Pluta 34159 at http://wkar.org Senate Legislation Would Circumvent Wolf Hunt Challenge What’s next for debate over wolf hunting? http://wkar.org/post/what-s-next-debate-over-wolf-hunting <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Last December, the Michigan Legislature approved a bill that classified the gray wolf as a “game species.” &nbsp;The act cleared the way for a debate over whether wolves should be hunted for sport. &nbsp;There are fewer than one-thousand wolves in the state’s Upper Peninsula, and groups opposed to a hunting season want to see that population survive. &nbsp;Last week, the group “</span><a href="http://keepwolvesprotected.com/" style="line-height: 1.5;">Keep Michigan Wolves Protected</a><span style="line-height: 1.5;">” submitted more than 253,000 signatures to the Michigan Secretary of State in a bid to put the wolf hunting question on the ballot in 2014.</span></p><p style="margin:0in;margin-bottom:.0001pt"><o:p></o:p></p><p style="margin:0in;margin-bottom:.0001pt"> Mon, 01 Apr 2013 17:40:08 +0000 Current State 33583 at http://wkar.org What’s next for debate over wolf hunting? Coalition Seeks To Reverse Wolf Hunt Law http://wkar.org/post/coalition-seeks-reverse-wolf-hunt-law <p>A coalition of animal rights groups and American Indian tribes is trying to reverse the new state law that allows a wolf hunting season in the Upper Peninsula.</p><p></p><p> Tue, 22 Jan 2013 23:09:08 +0000 Rick Pluta 29970 at http://wkar.org Coalition Seeks To Reverse Wolf Hunt Law Michigan Is Closer To Wolf Hunting Under New Law http://wkar.org/post/michigan-closer-wolf-hunting-under-new-law <p>A Michigan commission now has the authority to establish hunting seasons for the gray wolf under a law signed by Gov. Rick Snyder.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p> Tue, 01 Jan 2013 14:17:55 +0000 The Associated Press 29008 at http://wkar.org Michigan Is Closer To Wolf Hunting Under New Law Most Michigan Residents Value Wolves http://wkar.org/post/most-michigan-residents-value-wolves <p>A big majority of Michigan residents value having wolves in our state.&nbsp; A small minority, though, mostly in the Upper Peninsula, would like to see a wolf hunting season. Wed, 14 Mar 2012 03:30:00 +0000 Gretchen Millich 13855 at http://wkar.org Most Michigan Residents Value Wolves