ballot http://wkar.org en Bill Clinton Endorses MI's Proposal 3 http://wkar.org/post/bill-clinton-endorses-mis-proposal-3 <p>Former President Bill Clinton is encouraging Michigan voters to approve Proposal Three on the November ballot. Mon, 29 Oct 2012 20:57:14 +0000 Jake Neher 26116 at http://wkar.org Bill Clinton Endorses MI's Proposal 3 Report: If Passed, Bridge Proposal Could Cost Taxpayers Big http://wkar.org/post/report-if-passed-bridge-proposal-could-cost-taxpayers-big <p>If passed, a ballot proposal meant to stall a new international bridge in Detroit could cost Michigan taxpayers tens of millions of dollars. That’s according to a report from the Senate Fiscal Agency.</p> Mon, 15 Oct 2012 22:18:14 +0000 Jake Neher 25426 at http://wkar.org Report: If Passed, Bridge Proposal Could Cost Taxpayers Big Report: Electricity Will Cost More if Proposal 3 Passes http://wkar.org/post/report-electricity-will-cost-more-if-proposal-3-passes <p>The campaigns squaring off against each other over Proposal 3 on the November ballot are arguing the economic merits of renewable energy. Mon, 10 Sep 2012 22:56:27 +0000 Rick Pluta 23689 at http://wkar.org Report: Electricity Will Cost More if Proposal 3 Passes MI Supreme Court Orders Three Questions onto Ballot http://wkar.org/post/mi-supreme-court-orders-three-questions-ballot <p>The Michigan Supreme Court has ordered three additional questions onto the statewide November ballot. But it blocked a proposal to allow eight new non-tribal casinos. Wed, 05 Sep 2012 22:28:43 +0000 Rick Pluta 23445 at http://wkar.org MI Supreme Court Orders Three Questions onto Ballot November Ballot Waiting on Word from State Supreme Court http://wkar.org/post/november-ballot-waiting-word-state-supreme-court <p>The Michigan Supreme Court is expected to rule early this week on which questions will appear on the November ballot. The court has to rule this week if the state is going to meet state and federal elections deadlines. Mon, 03 Sep 2012 14:11:26 +0000 Rick Pluta 23304 at http://wkar.org November Ballot Waiting on Word from State Supreme Court MI Supreme Court Rulings on Ballot Expected http://wkar.org/post/mi-supreme-court-rulings-ballot-expected <p>The Michigan Supreme Court is expected to rule Friday on challenges to four questions proposed for the statewide November ballot following a three-hour hearing Thursday.</p> Thu, 30 Aug 2012 22:34:51 +0000 Rick Pluta 23167 at http://wkar.org MI Supreme Court Rulings on Ballot Expected MI Supreme Court Hearing Will Zero in on Ballot Controversies http://wkar.org/post/mi-supreme-court-hearing-will-zero-ballot-controversies <p>The Michigan Supreme Court will hold a hearing Thursday on whether four questions should appear on the statewide November ballot.</p> Wed, 29 Aug 2012 22:38:31 +0000 Rick Pluta 23098 at http://wkar.org MI Supreme Court Hearing Will Zero in on Ballot Controversies Court Orders Collective Bargaining Proposal onto Ballot; Challenge Expected http://wkar.org/post/court-orders-collective-bargaining-proposal-ballot-challenge-expected <p>The Michigan Court of Appeals has ordered the proposal to protect collective bargaining rights in the state constitution onto the November ballot.</p> Mon, 27 Aug 2012 22:41:36 +0000 Rick Pluta 22955 at http://wkar.org Court Orders Collective Bargaining Proposal onto Ballot; Challenge Expected Casino Question Blocked from Ballot http://wkar.org/post/casino-question-blocked-ballot <p>The campaign to allow eight new non-tribal casinos will have to go back to court to get a spot on the November ballot.</p> Mon, 27 Aug 2012 22:38:46 +0000 Rick Pluta 22953 at http://wkar.org Casino Question Blocked from Ballot Quick Action Ordered on Labor-Backed Ballot Issue http://wkar.org/post/quick-action-ordered-labor-backed-ballot-issue <p>The Michigan Supreme Court has ordered the state appeals court to decide by Monday whether a union-supported referendum gets on the November ballot.</p> Wed, 22 Aug 2012 22:22:10 +0000 The Associated Press 22712 at http://wkar.org Quick Action Ordered on Labor-Backed Ballot Issue Group Challenges Citizenship Box during Elections http://wkar.org/post/group-challenges-citizenship-box-during-elections <p>A group is challenging Michigan Secretary of State Ruth Johnson's decision to have a citizenship question placed on August primary ballot applications.</p> Wed, 22 Aug 2012 22:18:47 +0000 The Associated Press 22711 at http://wkar.org Group Challenges Citizenship Box during Elections Energy, Home Health Care Proposals OK'd for Ballot http://wkar.org/post/energy-home-health-care-proposals-okd-ballot <p>The Board of State Canvassers has approved two ballot proposals for Michigan's Nov. 6 ballot.</p> Wed, 15 Aug 2012 22:21:58 +0000 The Associated Press 22356 at http://wkar.org Energy, Home Health Care Proposals OK'd for Ballot Opponents Say Casino Question Should be Blocked from Ballot http://wkar.org/post/opponents-say-casino-question-should-be-blocked-ballot <p>Opponents of a proposal to allow eight new casinos in Michigan will ask the state Court of Appeals to order the question off the November ballot.</p> Tue, 24 Jul 2012 22:20:11 +0000 Rick Pluta 21062 at http://wkar.org Opponents Say Casino Question Should be Blocked from Ballot Business Groups Form “Vote No” Coalition http://wkar.org/post/business-groups-form-vote-no-coalition <p>A coalition of business groups will urge voters to say “no” to every question that appears on the November ballot.</p> Wed, 11 Jul 2012 22:41:26 +0000 Rick Pluta 20381 at http://wkar.org Business Groups Form “Vote No” Coalition Four More Campaigns File Questions for November Ballot http://wkar.org/post/four-more-campaigns-file-questions-november-ballot <p>Monday was the deadline for ballot campaigns to turn in their petitions. A total of six questions and a referendum have filed to appear on the November ballot.</p> Mon, 09 Jul 2012 22:38:36 +0000 Rick Pluta 20256 at http://wkar.org Four More Campaigns File Questions for November Ballot Elections Panel Gives Go-Ahead to Union Ballot Drives http://wkar.org/post/elections-panel-gives-go-ahead-union-ballot-drives <p>A pair of measures that would strengthen collective bargaining rights took a small step today toward being on the November ballot.</p> Mon, 19 Mar 2012 22:42:02 +0000 Rick Pluta 14384 at http://wkar.org Elections Panel Gives Go-Ahead to Union Ballot Drives Ballot Drive Seeks to Guarantee Union Bargaining Rights http://wkar.org/post/ballot-drive-seeks-guarantee-union-bargaining-rights <p>Unions and progressive groups plan to roll out a ballot campaign Tuesday to preempt efforts to pass a right-to-work law in Michigan.</p><p> Mon, 05 Mar 2012 23:18:20 +0000 Rick Pluta 13605 at http://wkar.org Ballot Drive Seeks to Guarantee Union Bargaining Rights