past event http://wkar.org en 'Wonder Women' Guests Appreciate Community Cinema Events http://wkar.org/post/wonder-women-guests-appreciate-community-cinema-events <p>Guests at WKAR's April 25 Community Cinema screening of <strong>Wonder Women: The Story of America's Superheroines </strong>were not only able to see a segment of the film but hear from speakers Gary Hoppenstand and Jess Knott.</p><p></p><p> Wed, 22 May 2013 17:19:52 +0000 Jeanie Croope 35402 at http://wkar.org 'Wonder Women' Guests Appreciate Community Cinema Events Dust Bowl Discussion Intrigues Guests http://wkar.org/post/dust-bowl-discussion-intrigues-guests-0 <p>After what was one of the hottest and dryest summers the United States has experienced in many years, the topic of Ken Burns' new film <strong>The Dust Bowl </strong>took on particular relevance. Seventy-nine guests gathered for <strong>An Evening at WKAR</strong> on November 15 to see a preview of the film and hear a talk about its implications from Sandra Clark.</p><p></p> Fri, 16 Nov 2012 16:58:27 +0000 Jeanie Croope 27026 at http://wkar.org Dust Bowl Discussion Intrigues Guests Ed Slott Visits WKAR http://wkar.org/post/ed-slott-visits-wkar <p>WKAR was pleased to welcome IRA expert Ed Slott, host of <strong>Ed Slott's Retirement Rescue</strong> and other public television specials, to the station on October 16.</p><p>Guests attending not only had quality time with Ed Slott but also had the opportunity to see a live taping of <strong>QuizBusters, </strong>tour the set of <strong>Off the Record</strong> and get a first-hand look at what a green screen is like in the studio and what it looks like after it is used to create a virtual set.</p> Tue, 30 Oct 2012 20:19:30 +0000 Jeanie Croope 25523 at http://wkar.org Ed Slott Visits WKAR 'As Goes Janesville' -- Stimulating Discussion http://wkar.org/post/goes-janesville-stimulating-discussion <p>Approximately 60 community members attended WKAR's Community Cinema screening of "As Goes Janesville" on October 18, and engaged in a discussion with four guests who addressed the similarities and differences of the issues presented in the film and those in Lansing when the General Motors plant threatened to close.</p><p>The <strong>Independent Lens </strong>film followed the events in Janesville, Wisconsin after the city's GM plant closed. Lansing faced this situation as well, but the GM plant in Lansing remained open, if reduced in scope.</p> Fri, 19 Oct 2012 14:39:53 +0000 Jeanie Croope 25616 at http://wkar.org 'As Goes Janesville' -- Stimulating Discussion Fall Preview Brings Exciting Changes to WKAR! http://wkar.org/post/fall-preview-brings-exciting-changes-wkar <p>Nearly 200 guests filled Studio A on September 6 as the new season for WKAR Public Media was revealed. Fri, 07 Sep 2012 14:47:16 +0000 Jeanie Croope 23547 at http://wkar.org Fall Preview Brings Exciting Changes to WKAR! "Big Science" Intrigues WKAR Audience http://wkar.org/post/big-science-intrigues-wkar-audience <p>If the attendance at &quot;An Evening at WKAR&quot; was any indication, &quot;big science&quot; is a big interest for WKAR fans. More than 230 people, coming from as far as Novi, crowded the Communication Arts &amp; Sciences auditorium on July 30 to get a sneak preview of <strong>The Small Matter of Big Science </strong>and hear remarks by Konrad Gelbke and Douglas Gage.</p> Tue, 31 Jul 2012 15:54:53 +0000 Jeanie Croope 21394 at http://wkar.org "Big Science" Intrigues WKAR Audience In Our Community - at the Zoo! http://wkar.org/post/our-community-zoo <p>WKAR celebrated International Migratory Bird Day at Potter Park Zoo on Saturday, June 2, as part of the annual Be a Tourist in Your Own Town event. Mon, 04 Jun 2012 21:11:04 +0000 Jeanie Croope 18392 at http://wkar.org In Our Community - at the Zoo! WKAR's Imagine, Create, and Play Workshop http://wkar.org/post/wkars-imagine-create-and-play-workshop <p>Saturday, February 11<br />10 a.m. to 4 p.m.<br />Michigan State University - College of Communication Arts and Sciences</p><div><a href="https://commerce.cashnet.com/msu_3281?&amp;itemcode=3281-STEM">REGISTRATION FOR THIS EVENT HAS CLOSED</a><br />&nbsp;</div><p><span class="sitehead1">Hey middle schoolers!</span><span> Learn how to create video games at this FREE workshop presented by WKAR and the College of Communication Arts &amp; Sciences at Michigan State University.</span></p><p> Tue, 07 Feb 2012 01:53:38 +0000 12043 at http://wkar.org WKAR's Imagine, Create, and Play Workshop