Weekly eNews http://wkar.org en Curt, Gene and Nancy -- Signing Off! http://wkar.org/post/curt-gene-and-nancy-signing <p>When viewers heard Curt Gilleo and Gene Purdum during the April 2012 Spring into Action fundraising campaign, they were hearing the end of an era. After April 27, Curt and Gene take their well-deserved retirements from WKAR Radio.</p><p>Joining them on the retiree list will be Nancy Gilleo, WKAR&rsquo;s business manager, who somehow manages to keep on top of the volumes of paperwork and grant materials required to keep a public broadcasting station on the air. Fri, 27 Apr 2012 10:00:00 +0000 Jeanie Croope 15198 at http://wkar.org Curt, Gene and Nancy -- Signing Off! Sherlock Returns to WKAR-TV http://wkar.org/post/sherlock-returns-wkar-tv <p><strong>Sundays at 9 p.m. on WKAR-TV beginning May 6.</strong> For fans of the 21st century Sherlock Holmes, the wait is over. The hit &quot;Masterpiece Mystery!&quot; series returns in May with three new episodes of &quot;Sherlock.&quot; Wed, 11 Apr 2012 17:25:20 +0000 15625 at http://wkar.org Sherlock Returns to WKAR-TV Raising Readers Workshop March 29 in Lansing http://wkar.org/post/raising-readers-workshop-march-29-lansing <p>WKAR&rsquo;s Ready To Learn Service will host a free &ldquo;Raising Readers&rdquo; Family Fun Workshops on Thursday, March 29, 6-7:30 p.m. The event will take place at North Elementary School, 333 E. Miller Rd., Lansing.</p><p>The workshop is targeted to families and children ages 4-6, although siblings are welcome to attend. Participants will learn activities that are fun but also offer a new way to build reading skills.</p> Mon, 12 Mar 2012 18:54:08 +0000 Jeanie Croope 13969 at http://wkar.org Raising Readers Workshop March 29 in Lansing March 18 | Early Childhood Literacy Coalition Event http://wkar.org/post/march-18-early-childhood-literacy-coalition-event <p>Storybook characters, performers, authors and storytelling are combined in a way to help kids learn to love reading at a free special event on Sunday, March 18, from 1-4 p.m. The event will take place at Hannah Community Center in East Lansing. Mon, 27 Feb 2012 17:54:37 +0000 Bill Richards 13184 at http://wkar.org March 18 | Early Childhood Literacy Coalition Event WKAR Seeks Telephone Volunteers for March Pledge http://wkar.org/post/wkar-seeks-telephone-volunteers-march-pledge <p>Join us in our upcoming Pledge Madness, March 3-18 on WKAR-TV, by being a telephone volunteer.</p><p>We&#39;re recruiting volunteers to answer phones during this event. If you are interested in volunteering, please give WKAR Membership a call at (517) 432-3120, ext. 374 or email membership@wkar.org.</p><p>We need phone operators evenings and weekends from Saturday, March 3 through Sunday, March 18. Let us hear from you!</p> Mon, 20 Feb 2012 19:59:47 +0000 Jeanie Croope 12809 at http://wkar.org WKAR Seeks Telephone Volunteers for March Pledge U-Club Big Bang-quet Challenge Continues through March 16 http://wkar.org/post/u-club-big-bang-quet-challenge-continues-through-march-16 <p>WKAR was selected by members of the University Club of MSU to compete in their &quot;Big Bang-Quet&quot; $10,000 Community Charity Challenge. WKAR is one of 26 mid-Michigan organizations asking the public for their votes to help us win a $10,000 credit towards a fundraising event held in the University Club&#39;s newly renovated dining room.</p><p>The program is conducted by the University Club of MSU in conjunction with the Capital region Community Foundation (CRCF) and sponsored by the MSU Federal Credit Union.</p> Mon, 20 Feb 2012 19:51:52 +0000 Jeanie Croope 12807 at http://wkar.org U-Club Big Bang-quet Challenge Continues through March 16 Lansing Raising Readers Workshop March 15 http://wkar.org/post/lansing-raising-readers-workshop-march-15 <p>WKAR&rsquo;s Ready To Learn Service will host a free Raising Readers Family Fun Workshop on Thursday, March 15, 5:30-7 p.m., at Gier Park Elementary School in Lansing. Mon, 20 Feb 2012 19:44:24 +0000 Jeanie Croope 12806 at http://wkar.org Holt Raising Readers Workshop March 22 http://wkar.org/post/holt-raising-readers-workshop-march-22 <p>WKAR&rsquo;s Ready To Learn Service will host the third in a series of free Raising Readers Family Fun Workshops on Thursday, March 22, 6-7:30 p.m. The event takes place at Sycamore Elementary School, 4429 Sycamore, Holt. Mon, 20 Feb 2012 19:39:09 +0000 Jeanie Croope 12805 at http://wkar.org