Morning Edition on 90.5 WKAR http://wkar.org en 'How To Survive The Bulls' Co-Author Gets Gored http://wkar.org/post/how-survive-bulls-co-author-gets-gored On Wednesday, Bill Hillmann, one of the authors of Fiesta: How to Survive the Bulls of Pamplona, was reportedly gored in the leg. His injuries were not life threatening. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 11:29:00 +0000 editor 56546 at http://wkar.org New York City Considers Licensing Costumed Peformers http://wkar.org/post/new-york-city-considers-licensing-costumed-peformers Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>Good morning. I'm Steve Inskeep. New York City is considering a crackdown on Superman. Lawmakers say too many people dress like the man of steel or like Batman. Superheroes or "Sesame Street" characters offer to pose for pictures tourists in Times Square - problem is, many then demand money from the tourists, and in one case, Elmo launched into an anti-Semitic tirade - not good. The proposal under consideration would require costume performers to be licensed. It's MORNING EDITION. Transcript provided by NPR, Copyright NPR.<p> Fri, 11 Jul 2014 11:07:00 +0000 editor 56543 at http://wkar.org Gaza Residents Deal With Fourth Night Of Israeli Air Strikes http://wkar.org/post/gaza-residents-deal-fourth-night-israeli-air-strikes Steve Inskeep talks to Palestinian-American business consultant and political commentator Sami Abdel-Shafi about living in Gaza while under attack from Israel. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 11:02:00 +0000 editor 56544 at http://wkar.org Ukrainian Army Takes Back Areas From Pro-Russian Separatists http://wkar.org/post/ukrainian-army-takes-back-many-areas-pro-russian-separatists Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>Just weeks ago, it looked like Russia might extend its control of the Ukrainian region of Crimea to other areas of Ukraine. But now the Ukrainian Army has pushed out pro-Russian separatists from most of the cities and towns the rebels had seized. And the Kremlin, once so vocal, has gone quiet.<p>For a look at the turnaround, we reached Professor Stephen Sestanovich. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 09:00:00 +0000 editor 56540 at http://wkar.org Hottest Burger In Britain Burns 2 Journalists http://wkar.org/post/last-word-business-259 Two journalists from a newspaper in Brighton, England, went to the hospital after sampling the Hot Chili Burger. The heat is in the sauce, which is rated about 3,000 times hotter than Tabasco sauce. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 09:00:00 +0000 editor 56541 at http://wkar.org Germany Asks Top CIA Spy In Country To Leave http://wkar.org/post/germany-asks-top-cia-spy-country-leave The move comes after German investigators discovered a second citizen suspected of spying for the U.S. Renee Montagne talks to James Bamford, who writes about U.N. intelligence agencies and the NSA. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 09:00:00 +0000 editor 56538 at http://wkar.org NSA Implementing Fix To Prevent Snowden-Like Security Breach http://wkar.org/post/nsa-implementing-fix-prevent-snowden-security-breach A year after Edward Snowden's digital heist, the NSA's chief technology officer says steps have been taken to stop future incidents. But he says there's no way for the NSA to be entirely secure. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 09:00:00 +0000 editor 56539 at http://wkar.org HBO Scores Big In Emmy Nominations http://wkar.org/post/hbo-scores-big-emmy-nominations David Greene talks to TV Guide magazine executive editor Michael Schneider about Thursday's announcement of the 66th Emmy Award nominations. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 15:39:00 +0000 editor 56487 at http://wkar.org Duke Bourbon Raises Challenge From University http://wkar.org/post/duke-bourbon-raises-challenge-university Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>Good morning. I'm Steve Inskeep. Selling American whiskey is all about marketing. You can buy bottles with scenes of prohibition or that evoke the old West, and you may someday see a bottle featuring the image of John Wayne. The actor was known as the duke, and his heirs wants to call their product Duke Bourbon. The only problem is an objection from Duke University - no relation. The school has raised a legal challenge, contending the whiskey would tarnish the Duke name. It's MORNING EDITION. Transcript provided by NPR, Copyright NPR.<p> Thu, 10 Jul 2014 11:47:00 +0000 editor 56477 at http://wkar.org Fake Edward Snowden Joins Tinder http://wkar.org/post/fake-edward-snowden-joins-tinder The popular dating app Tinder has a new user: Edward Snowden. Actually, just the username Lonely Ed with the profile picture of the NSA leaker looking for love from Moscow. It was the brainchild of <a href="http://vimeo.com/rosscohen" target="_blank">Ross Cohen</a>, a writer and director in Los Angeles. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 11:13:00 +0000 editor 56474 at http://wkar.org 'Breaking Bad' Expected To Get Emmy Nod For Final Season http://wkar.org/post/breaking-bad-expected-get-emmy-nod-final-season Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>In Hollywood this morning we find out who the nominees are for this year's Emmys. MORNING EDITION's David Greene talked to Kim Masters, editor-at-large at The Hollywood Reporter, about who in television might get that age-old honor of just being nominated.<p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>Kim, welcome back to the program. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 11:08:00 +0000 editor 56475 at http://wkar.org China's Booming Real Estate Market Finally Begins To Slide http://wkar.org/post/chinas-booming-real-estate-market-finally-begins-slide After years of stunning growth, China's go-go real estate market is now in retreat.<p>Prices fell last month in 79 out of 100 cities, according to the China Real Estate Index run by SouFun Holdings, a real estate website. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 09:35:00 +0000 Frank Langfitt 56473 at http://wkar.org China's Booming Real Estate Market Finally Begins To Slide University Of Michigan Plant Is Definitely A Late Bloomer http://wkar.org/post/university-michigan-plant-definitely-late-bloomer Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>And let's go from still life to real life. A plant that may be the ultimate late bloomer. An 80-year-old plant at the University of Michigan is blossoming for the first time.<p>MIKE PALMER: This plant is an American agave that was brought back from an expedition in 1934 from Mexico.<p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>That's Mike Palmer, of the Matthaei Botanical Gardens and Nichols Arboretum.<p>PALMER: It kind of looks like an octopus with variegated foliages and they've asked me for years, when is it going to bloom? Thu, 10 Jul 2014 09:01:00 +0000 editor 56470 at http://wkar.org FBI, NSA Spied On American Muslims, Report Says http://wkar.org/post/fbi-nsa-spied-american-muslims-report-says Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>It's MORNING EDITION from NPR News. I'm Steve Inskeep.<p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>And I'm Renee Montagne. It's been more than a year since Edward Snowden fled the country with top-secret, digital documents from the National Security Agency, and revelations about what he took keep coming. The latest appeared yesterday, in the online publication The Intercept. Its headline is, "Meet The Muslim-American Leaders The FBI And NSA Have Been Spying On," and it was co-written by Glenn Greenwald. Five prominent Muslim citizens are profiled. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 09:01:00 +0000 David Welna 56471 at http://wkar.org Detroit Shuts Off Water As It Tries To Collect Millions Owed http://wkar.org/post/detroit-shuts-water-it-tries-collect-millions-overdue-bills Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>Let's follow up now on the water war in Detroit. So far this year, the water utility has shut off the spigots to 17,000 customers. It wants people to do pay their overdue bills. Many residents are upset with how the city is doing this and ask if some are getting special treatment. Here's Sarah Cwiek of Michigan Radio.<p>SARAH CWIEK, BYLINE: People are going thirsty in Detroit, a city with more direct access to fresh clean water than virtually any place in the world. That irony shows up in numerous ways. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 09:01:00 +0000 editor 56472 at http://wkar.org J.K. Rowling Posts New Harry Potter Short Story http://wkar.org/post/jk-rowling-posts-new-harry-potter-short-story Harry Potter is attending the Quidditch World Cup with his family, as well as Ron and Hermione. He is in his 30s, with "a couple of threads of silver" in his hair and a mysterious cut on his cheek. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 10:58:00 +0000 editor 56414 at http://wkar.org iPhone From Oklahoma Ends Up In Grain Shipment To Japan http://wkar.org/post/iphone-oklahoma-ends-grain-shipment-japan A Japanese worker found the phone and tracked down the American owner. Farmer Kevin Whitney recovered the phone, which had pictures of his daughter's wedding on it. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 10:50:00 +0000 editor 56415 at http://wkar.org Afghan Civilians Suffer During Violent Year http://wkar.org/post/afghan-civilians-suffer-during-violent-year There is renewed fighting in Kandahar as the outcome of the Afghan presidential election remains uncertain. And a new U.N. report says civilian casualties are up significantly from a year ago. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 09:06:00 +0000 Sean Carberry 56410 at http://wkar.org Brazil Wakes Up To Find Tuesday's Nightmare Was Not A Dream http://wkar.org/post/brazil-wakes-find-tuesdays-nightmare-was-not-dream Host country Brazil was eliminated from the World Cup in epic fashion: Germany defeated Brazil 7-1 during the semifinal match. Brazilians are wondering how their beloved team could be so pulverized. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 09:06:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 56411 at http://wkar.org Cleveland, A Democratic Stronghold, Wins GOP Convention http://wkar.org/post/cleveland-democratic-stronghold-wins-gop-convention Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>It's MORNING EDITION from NPR News. I'm Renee Montagne.<p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>And I'm Steve Inskeep. Good morning. We do not know which Republican will accept the nomination for president in 2016. We do know where.<p>MONTAGNE: Cleveland is celebrating that honor. Republicans chose it over Dallas.<p>INSKEEP: Maybe Cleveland just won because it's in the swing state of Ohio, but however it happened, the city takes it as a sign of a comeback. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 09:06:00 +0000 editor 56412 at http://wkar.org Self-Described Optimist Taylor Swift On The Future Of Music http://wkar.org/post/self-described-optimist-taylor-swift-future-music Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>We're going to profile the musician Sia in a moment. But first we have a little music economics courtesy of Taylor Swift. The pop superstar wrote an op-ed for The Wall Street Journal yesterday about the future of the music industry.<p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>She's optimistic, despite the industry's tumultuous business landscape. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 13:51:00 +0000 editor 56357 at http://wkar.org London Netflix Office Searches For Qualified Couch Potato http://wkar.org/post/london-netflix-office-searches-qualified-couch-potato Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>Good morning. I'm Renee Montagne. A new study of traffic congestion finds, in the U.S., Honolulu has the worst, followed by Los Angeles. In Europe, Londoners spend more than 83 hours a year in traffic.<p>But one lucky person could cut that down dramatically. The London Netflix office is hiring a tagger - someone to watch Netflix titles and categorize them as drama or cult sports movies - a job involving a commute to the couch. It's MORNING EDITION. Transcript provided by NPR, Copyright NPR.<p> Tue, 08 Jul 2014 10:53:00 +0000 editor 56351 at http://wkar.org Buddhist Monks Face Jail Time For July 4 Fireworks Display http://wkar.org/post/buddhist-monks-face-jail-time-july-4-fireworks-display Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>Good morning. I'm Steve Inskeep with continuing coverage of last week's fireworks. Albuquerque authorities discovered an unauthorized fireworks show. The city had imposed restrictions because of fire danger. The perpetrators at least have the best excuse ever. The show was at a Buddhist temple. Buddhist monks say they didn't know of the fireworks ban since they do not watch TV, listen to the radio or read the news. They still face possible fines or jail. Ignorance is not innocence. It's MORNING EDITION. Transcript provided by NPR, Copyright NPR.<p> Tue, 08 Jul 2014 10:35:00 +0000 editor 56352 at http://wkar.org Some Parole Requirements Could Be Increasing The Crime Rate http://wkar.org/post/some-parole-requirements-could-be-increasing-crime-rate Prisoners who are released invariably make it back to the areas where they came from. Does this have a positive or negative effect on crime? Research triggered by Hurricane Katrina offers insight. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 09:01:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 56343 at http://wkar.org First Trial Begins For A Friend Of Marathon Bombing Suspect http://wkar.org/post/first-trial-begins-friend-marathon-bombing-suspect Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>The first trial connected to the Boston Marathon bombing is underway. The defendant is not the surviving suspected bomber, Dzhokhar Tsarnaev. It's Tsarnaev's friend - a 20-year-old from Kazakhstan who is accused of obstruction of justice. NPR's Tovia Smith reports.<p>TOVIA SMITH, BYLINE: As prosecutors tell it, Azamat Tazhayakov and his roommates saw photos of the alleged bombers and immediately recognized them. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 09:01:00 +0000 Tovia Smith 56344 at http://wkar.org Richard Dreyfuss' Kids Revisit 'Jaws,' Conclude It Makes No Sense http://wkar.org/post/richard-dreyfus-children-jaws-makes-no-sense <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8gciFoEbOA8</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2I91DJZKRxs</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FpxOLhuNXfM</p> Tue, 08 Jul 2014 09:01:00 +0000 editor 56345 at http://wkar.org Richard Dreyfuss' Kids Revisit 'Jaws,' Conclude It Makes No Sense For Brazilians, Game-Day Rituals Lead To Sense Of Community http://wkar.org/post/brazilians-game-day-rituals-lead-sense-community Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>Brazil faces Germany today in the semi-finals of the World Cup.<p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>Deep into the tournament, Brazilian fans have developed a game day routine.<p>INSKEEP: So we present to you now, with NPR's Lourdes Garcia-Navarro in Sao Paulo, Brazil's World Cup ritual in four acts.<p>MONTAGNE: Act one - getting to the game.<p>GARCIA-NAVARRO: I am in a car right now doing what pretty much every single other Brazilian is doing, which is trying to get to where they're going to see the latest Brazil game. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 09:01:00 +0000 Lourdes Garcia-Navarro 56347 at http://wkar.org Goods Sold In Cuban Shops Often Come From Florida Stores http://wkar.org/post/goods-sold-cuban-shops-often-come-florida-stores Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>In recent weeks we've been reporting on changes in Cuba. One is Cuba's small but growing private sector. The government is letting entrepreneurs open their own businesses, which leaves many trying to find the goods their customers want. The U.S. trade embargo means you can't just order from a distributor in Florida. But Cubans can still get U.S. goods. NPR's Greg Allen visited stores in the Miami suburb of Hialeah.<p>GREG ALLEN, BYLINE: On the map, it's right next to Miami. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 09:01:00 +0000 Greg Allen 56348 at http://wkar.org Preliminary Results Show Ghani Winning Afghan Presidency http://wkar.org/post/preliminary-results-show-ghani-winning-afghan-presidency Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>Preliminary results are out for the run-off in Afghanistan's presidential elections. And the winner seems to be former World Bank economist Ashraf Ghani. His opponent, Abdullah Abdullah, was considered the front-runner after winning 45 percent of the vote in the first round back in April. Now Ashraf Ghani appears to be winning with almost a million more votes than Abdullah. NPR's Sean Carberry joins us from Kabul. Good morning.<p>SEAN CARBERRY, BYLINE: Hi, Renee.<p>MONTAGNE: Hi. And there's a little bit of a delay here. Mon, 07 Jul 2014 16:17:00 +0000 Sean Carberry 56309 at http://wkar.org Funnel Cloud Photo Bombs Wedding Pix http://wkar.org/post/funnel-cloud-photo-bombs-wedding-pix Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>Good morning. I'm Renee Montagne. Weddings are always a whirlwind - from the engagement to the wedding photos, which for a couple in Saskatchewan, Canada involved a real tornado. As the bride and groom posed for a close-up, down the road from their ceremony a funnel cloud swirled behind them. The tornado touched down far enough behind them that the wedding photographer was able to capture the moment - perhaps the best wedding photo-bomb ever. It's MORNING EDITION. Transcript provided by NPR, Copyright NPR.<p> Mon, 07 Jul 2014 12:06:00 +0000 editor 56300 at http://wkar.org