Gretchen Millich http://wkar.org en Border Collie Owners Take Sheep Herding Lessons http://wkar.org/post/border-collie-owners-take-sheep-herding-lessons <p>Until recently, Border Collies were bred specifically to work livestock.&nbsp; Now, they&rsquo;re getting more popular as pets, but sometimes people who have a Border Collie find themselves accommodating the dogs&rsquo; natural instinct to herd.&nbsp;</p><p>Keeping a Border Collie busy can become a new way of life for some dog owners.</p><p> Thu, 07 Jun 2012 03:30:30 +0000 Gretchen Millich 18549 at http://wkar.org Border Collie Owners Take Sheep Herding Lessons Petoskey Will Host International Hemingway Conference http://wkar.org/post/petoskey-will-host-international-hemingway-conference <p>Growing up, Ernest Hemingway spent many summers in northern Michigan, hunting and fishing with his father.&nbsp; Those years had a great influence on his work, especially the Nick Adams stories.&nbsp; While the International <a href="http://www.hemingwaysociety.org/">Hemingway Society</a> often holds their conferences in Hemingway haunts such as Paris and Key West,&nbsp; this year, for the first time, it will be held in Petoskey, starting June 17<sup>th</sup>. Wed, 30 May 2012 03:30:30 +0000 Gretchen Millich 18085 at http://wkar.org Petoskey Will Host International Hemingway Conference reWorking Michigan: TV Show Encourages Kids and Adults to Keep Learning http://wkar.org/post/reworking-michigan-tv-show-encourages-kids-and-adults-keep-learning <p>A new television series called LRN 101 is airing on WKAR TV.&nbsp; It&rsquo;s the brainchild of<a href="http://www.learnforourfuture.org/"> <em>Keep Learning</em></a>, a non-profit group committed to promoting education in the Lansing area.&nbsp;&nbsp; Our reWorking Michigan report looks at how the show can influence the perception of education.&nbsp;&nbsp; Mon, 28 May 2012 03:30:00 +0000 Gretchen Millich 17931 at http://wkar.org reWorking Michigan: TV Show Encourages Kids and Adults to Keep Learning LCC Dean Calls Student Debt "A Bubble About to Burst" http://wkar.org/post/lcc-dean-calls-student-debt-bubble-about-burst <p>Last Saturday, hundreds of students graduated from Lansing Community College.&nbsp; It was a time for celebration, but many of them are already in debt. &nbsp;Some will go on to four-year universities, where they&rsquo;ll probably have to borrow a lot more money. Wed, 23 May 2012 03:30:30 +0000 Gretchen Millich 17723 at http://wkar.org LCC Dean Calls Student Debt "A Bubble About to Burst" Females and Younger Athletes Take Longer to Recover From Concussions http://wkar.org/post/females-and-younger-athletes-take-longer-recover-concussions <p>It isn&#39;t only football and hockey players who suffer from concussions.&nbsp; Any athlete is at risk, including females.&nbsp;&nbsp; Studies show girls are reporting nearly twice as many concussions as boys in sports played by both.&nbsp; Now, new research out of Michigan State University shows that females and younger athletes who suffered concussions took longer to recover than males and older athletes. Wed, 16 May 2012 03:30:30 +0000 Gretchen Millich 17389 at http://wkar.org Females and Younger Athletes Take Longer to Recover From Concussions Great Lakes Surf Rescue Project Works to Reduce Drownings http://wkar.org/post/great-lakes-surf-rescue-project-works-reduce-drownings <p>Eighty-seven people drowned in the Great Lakes last year.&nbsp; That&rsquo;s tragic and unacceptable, according to Bob Pratt.&nbsp;&nbsp; In 2007, Pratt founded the Great Lakes Surf Rescue Project and started training surfers in lifesaving techniques.&nbsp; Fri, 11 May 2012 03:30:00 +0000 Gretchen Millich 17057 at http://wkar.org Great Lakes Surf Rescue Project Works to Reduce Drownings reWorking Michigan: Autism Insurance Creates Job Opportunities http://wkar.org/post/reworking-michigan-autism-insurance-creates-job-opportunities <p>Therapy for children with autism can cost hundreds of thousands of dollars.&nbsp; Until now, that kind of treatment was unaffordable for many parents of autistic children.&nbsp; But a new Michigan law will soon require insurance companies to cover autism diagnosis and treatment for children and teenagers.&nbsp; This law is also expected to create&nbsp; hundreds or perhaps thousands of new jobs for people who are trained to treat autistic children. Mon, 07 May 2012 01:00:00 +0000 Gretchen Millich 16886 at http://wkar.org reWorking Michigan: Autism Insurance Creates Job Opportunities New Anaerobic Digester at MSU Will Produce Energy From Waste http://wkar.org/post/new-anaerobic-digester-msu-will-produce-energy-waste <p>Michigan State University is ready to start work on a new anaerobic digester.&nbsp; The system will use microorganisms to turn tons of manure and food waste into electricity for some MSU buildings south of the main campus. Wed, 18 Apr 2012 02:30:00 +0000 Gretchen Millich 15919 at http://wkar.org New Anaerobic Digester at MSU Will Produce Energy From Waste reWorking Michigan: Art Meets Academics at the Broad Museum http://wkar.org/post/reworking-michigan-art-meets-academics-broad-museum <p>This week from reWorking Michigan, we look at the first project under development at the Eli and Edythe Broad Art Museum at Michigan State University.&nbsp;&nbsp; The Land Grant Project will stretch the museum&rsquo;s mission, bringing artists into the classrooms at MSU. Mon, 16 Apr 2012 02:30:00 +0000 Gretchen Millich 15802 at http://wkar.org reWorking Michigan: Art Meets Academics at the Broad Museum Legislator Proposes Online Animal Abuser Registry http://wkar.org/post/legislator-proposes-online-animal-abuser-registry <p>Legislation is pending in Michigan that would require convicted animal abusers to sign up for an online registry, similar to Michigan&rsquo;s sex offender list.&nbsp;&nbsp; Proponents say it would help animal control officers investigate and prosecute abuse cases, and also prevent potential violence against humans. Wed, 11 Apr 2012 03:30:00 +0000 Gretchen Millich 15583 at http://wkar.org Legislator Proposes Online Animal Abuser Registry Where Are the Bees? http://wkar.org/post/where-are-bees <p>Warm weather has promoted fruit trees in Michigan to bloom four or five weeks ahead of schedule.&nbsp; That means that bees need to be here early, too, but most of the bees that pollinate orchards in Michigan are still wintering in Florida or are busy pollinating crops in California. Wed, 28 Mar 2012 02:30:00 +0000 Gretchen Millich 14796 at http://wkar.org Where Are the Bees? ReWorking Michigan: Fruit Growers Scramble to Mitigate Frost Damage http://wkar.org/post/reworking-michigan-fruit-growers-scramble-mitigate-frost-damage <p>Record-breaking warm temperatures this spring have coaxed fruit trees and other perennial crops in Michigan to bud weeks ahead of schedule.&nbsp; Farmers are facing a much earlier growing season and several more weeks of anxiety over the threat of frost. Mon, 26 Mar 2012 02:30:00 +0000 Gretchen Millich 14698 at http://wkar.org ReWorking Michigan: Fruit Growers Scramble to Mitigate Frost Damage Stretch of Warm Weather Puts Fruit Growers at Risk http://wkar.org/post/stretch-warm-weather-puts-fruit-growers-risk <p>Many of&nbsp;us are enjoying this unseasonably warm weather.&nbsp; But for some farmers, it&rsquo;s nerve-racking,&nbsp; especially for&nbsp;fruit growers.&nbsp; Fruit trees are starting to sprout two or more weeks ahead of time.&nbsp; It&rsquo;s only March, so cold weather is very likely to come back and kill off those early-blooming crops. Wed, 21 Mar 2012 03:30:00 +0000 Gretchen Millich 14445 at http://wkar.org Stretch of Warm Weather Puts Fruit Growers at Risk East Lansing Marks 40th Anniversary of Gay Rights Ordinance http://wkar.org/post/east-lansing-marks-40th-anniversary-gay-rights-ordinance <p>March 7 marks an important anniversary for the city of East Lansing that many people don&rsquo;t know about.&nbsp; On this date 40 years ago, the city council passed an ordinance prohibiting discrimination based on sexual orientation. Wed, 07 Mar 2012 03:35:13 +0000 Gretchen Millich 13676 at http://wkar.org East Lansing Marks 40th Anniversary of Gay Rights Ordinance reWorking Michigan: The Expanding Business of Yoga http://wkar.org/post/reworking-michigan-expanding-business-yoga <p>More people in Michigan are using yoga to keep their bodies toned and their stress level in check. For others, it&#39;s a growing business opportunity. reWorking Michigan looks at the growth potential of yoga studios.&nbsp; Mon, 05 Mar 2012 03:30:30 +0000 Gretchen Millich 13543 at http://wkar.org reWorking Michigan: The Expanding Business of Yoga Ron Paul Draws Large Crowd at MSU http://wkar.org/post/ron-paul-draws-large-crowd-msu <p>About 2,500 people, mostly students, gathered on the Michigan State University campus Monday to hear presidential candidate Ron Paul.&nbsp; Mon, 27 Feb 2012 22:23:29 +0000 Gretchen Millich 13209 at http://wkar.org Ron Paul Draws Large Crowd at MSU Ron Paul Speaks at MSU on Eve of Michigan Primary http://wkar.org/post/ron-paul-speaks-msu-eve-michigan-primary <p>About 2,500&nbsp;people&nbsp;gathered at&nbsp;Michigan State University&nbsp;Monday afternoon to attend a rally by GOP presidential&nbsp;hopeful Ron Paul.&nbsp; The Texas congressman is not&nbsp;expected to win tomorrow&rsquo;s presidential primary in Michigan. &nbsp;Most polls have him running well behind Mitt Romney and Rick Santorum.&nbsp; However, Paul does have enthusiastic supporters who intend to vote for him.</p> Mon, 27 Feb 2012 21:31:57 +0000 Gretchen Millich 13200 at http://wkar.org Ron Paul Speaks at MSU on Eve of Michigan Primary Primary Ballot Preferences Will Be Made Public http://wkar.org/post/primary-ballot-preferences-will-be-made-public <p>When they go to the polls Tuesday, some voters in Michigan may be uncomfortable with new state rules for presidential primaries.&nbsp; Mon, 27 Feb 2012 03:30:00 +0000 Gretchen Millich 13144 at http://wkar.org Primary Ballot Preferences Will Be Made Public Employee “Sweethearting” Costing Business Billions http://wkar.org/post/employee-%E2%80%9Csweethearting%E2%80%9D-costing-business-billions <p>A surprising number of employees are giving away the store, according to new research from Michigan State University.&nbsp; The study shows that nearly 70 per cent of workers admit to &ldquo;sweethearting&rdquo;.&nbsp; That&rsquo;s the practice of giving free goods and services to customers.&nbsp; The cost to businesses is $80 billion a year. Wed, 15 Feb 2012 03:30:00 +0000 Gretchen Millich 12519 at http://wkar.org Employee “Sweethearting” Costing Business Billions reWorking Michigan: Green Infrastructure Can Drive Economic Growth http://wkar.org/post/reworking-michigan-green-infrastructure-can-drive-economic-growth <p>Can parks, natural areas and waterways affect employment growth and income?&nbsp; Yes, according to a new study by the Land Policy Institute and the Michigan Natural Features Inventory at Michigan State University. Mon, 13 Feb 2012 03:30:00 +0000 Gretchen Millich 12386 at http://wkar.org reWorking Michigan: Green Infrastructure Can Drive Economic Growth Book Club Seeks Advice for Living http://wkar.org/post/book-club-seeks-advice-living <p>EAST LANSING, MI (WKAR) - Members of the Better Living Book Club&nbsp;in&nbsp;East&nbsp;Lansing want to deal with their personal problems and live a happier life.</p><p>People join book clubs for all kinds of reasons: to socialize, to read books they wouldn&#39;t normally read or to hear opinions that are different from their own. In one book club in East Lansing, members are reading about how to deal with their&nbsp;personal problems and live a happier life.</p> Thu, 09 Feb 2012 13:25:15 +0000 Gretchen Millich 12225 at http://wkar.org Book Club Seeks Advice for Living Museum Curator's Private Collection on Display in "The Art of Christmas" http://wkar.org/post/museum-curators-private-collection-display-art-christmas <p>An exhibit by Val Berryman, called &ldquo;The Art of Christmas,&quot; is on display at the Williamston Depot Museum.&nbsp; Berryman is curator of history at the Michigan State University Museum.&nbsp; He&rsquo;s been collecting vintage Christmas decorations, figurines and illustrations since 1984.&nbsp; Berryman tells WKAR&rsquo;s Gretchen Millich that for this exhibit, he chose some favorites from his personal collection. Tue, 20 Dec 2011 16:02:27 +0000 Gretchen Millich 3109 at http://wkar.org Museum Curator's Private Collection on Display in "The Art of Christmas" Book Traces History of Jacobson's http://wkar.org/post/book-traces-history-jacobsons <p>Not too long ago, Michigan had its own department store chain, where shoppers enjoyed a relaxed and elegant atmosphere and friendly customer service. Jacobson's operated stores in cities all over Michigan for more than a century. In East Lansing, the Jacobson’s building on Grand River Avenue is now a Barnes and Noble bookstore. But lots of shoppers remember its department store heritage. Now, there’s a new book that traces the history of Jacobson’s. It's called "Jacobson's, I miss it so!”</p> Thu, 15 Dec 2011 18:58:56 +0000 Gretchen Millich 2871 at http://wkar.org Book Traces History of Jacobson's reWorking Michigan: Lansing Diner Answers Demand for Local Food http://wkar.org/post/reworking-michigan-lansing-diner-answers-demand-local-food <p><strong>reWorking Michigan</strong> visits a new restaurant on Lansing&#39;s west side that&#39;s attracting customers with locally-sourced food. It&#39;s a trend that&#39;s catching on across Michigan.</p><p> Mon, 12 Dec 2011 05:00:00 +0000 Gretchen Millich 2726 at http://wkar.org reWorking Michigan: Lansing Diner Answers Demand for Local Food Broad Museum Preparing Inaugural Exhibit http://wkar.org/post/broad-museum-preparing-inaugural-exhibit <p>Broad Museum director Michael Rush talks with WKAR's Gretchen Millich as he prepares the museum's inaugural exhibit.</p> Wed, 07 Dec 2011 05:00:00 +0000 Gretchen Millich 2434 at http://wkar.org Broad Museum Preparing Inaugural Exhibit Chef Dave Brown grills his turkey http://wkar.org/post/chef-dave-brown-grills-his-turkey <p>WKAR's Gretchen Milllich went to Brody Square to talk with Executive Chef Dave Brown about what he's cooking for Thanksgiving dinner.</p> Wed, 23 Nov 2011 04:09:57 +0000 Gretchen Millich 1682 at http://wkar.org Chef Dave Brown grills his turkey reWorking Michigan: Shopping Local http://wkar.org/post/reworking-michigan-shopping-local <p>This week reWorking Michigan looks at the competition for shoppers this Christmas season and how shopping at locally owned stores helps the local economy. INCLUDES PHOTO ESSAY.</p> Mon, 21 Nov 2011 06:05:39 +0000 Gretchen Millich 1530 at http://wkar.org reWorking Michigan: Shopping Local