Jake Neher http://wkar.org en Snyder: Pensioner Approval Of Grand Bargain Sets Detroit Up For Faster Recovery http://wkar.org/post/snyder-pensioner-approval-grand-bargain-sets-detroit-faster-recovery <p>Governor Rick Snyder says pensioner approval of Detroit’s grand bargain sets the city up for a faster recovery.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 21:11:21 +0000 Jake Neher 57099 at http://wkar.org Snyder: Pensioner Approval Of Grand Bargain Sets Detroit Up For Faster Recovery Henry Paulson Tells Michigan To Seek Out Chinese Investment http://wkar.org/post/henry-paulson-tells-michigan-seek-out-chinese-investment <p>Former U-S Treasury Secretary Henry Paulson says China could play a key role in Michigan’s economic recovery.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 21:16:21 +0000 Jake Neher 57032 at http://wkar.org Henry Paulson Tells Michigan To Seek Out Chinese Investment State Could Become More Transparent About Infection Rates At Hospitals http://wkar.org/post/state-could-become-more-transparent-about-infection-rates-hospitals <p>The state could soon be more open about how many patients contract infections at hospitals.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 21:11:07 +0000 Jake Neher 56932 at http://wkar.org State Could Become More Transparent About Infection Rates At Hospitals House Panel Looks To Relax Fines For Driving Without License, Proof Of Insurance http://wkar.org/post/house-panel-looks-relax-fines-driving-without-license-proof-insurance <p>State lawmakers will be back in Lansing Wednesday for their only scheduled session day in July.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Tue, 15 Jul 2014 21:25:31 +0000 Jake Neher 56758 at http://wkar.org House Panel Looks To Relax Fines For Driving Without License, Proof Of Insurance Michigan Files Tax Liens Against CIA http://wkar.org/post/michigan-files-tax-liens-against-cia <p>Michigan has filed three tax liens against the Central Intelligence Agency.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Mon, 14 Jul 2014 20:44:15 +0000 Jake Neher 56689 at http://wkar.org Michigan Files Tax Liens Against CIA Human services agencies pledge reforms in wake of scathing audits http://wkar.org/post/human-services-agencies-pledge-reforms-wake-scathing-audits <p></p><p></p><p>Twice in the past month, auditors have found serious problems at Michigan human services agencies. Last week, a report from the state auditor’s office found the <a href="http://michigan.gov/dhs/" target="_blank">Michigan Department of Human Services</a> has failed to investigate cases of suspected adult abuse and to adequately train its staff. Mon, 14 Jul 2014 16:53:59 +0000 Mark Bashore & Jake Neher 56664 at http://wkar.org Human services agencies pledge reforms in wake of scathing audits Medicaid Expansion Sign-Ups Hit 1-Year Target In Just 4 Months http://wkar.org/post/medicaid-expansion-sign-ups-hit-1-year-target-just-4-months <p>Michigan’s expanded Medicaid program has already hit its 2014 sign-up goal in less than four months.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Thu, 10 Jul 2014 21:11:55 +0000 Jake Neher 56529 at http://wkar.org Medicaid Expansion Sign-Ups Hit 1-Year Target In Just 4 Months Another Audit Says Michigan Has Failed To Protect Vulnerable Adults http://wkar.org/post/another-audit-says-michigan-has-failed-protect-vulnerable-adults <p>A new state audit is again calling into question how well the state protects vulnerable adults.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Wed, 09 Jul 2014 21:26:37 +0000 Jake Neher 56456 at http://wkar.org Another Audit Says Michigan Has Failed To Protect Vulnerable Adults Year-Round Schools Get More Money, But Future Of Program In Question http://wkar.org/post/year-round-schools-get-more-money-future-program-question <p>As most Michigan students enjoy their summer vacations, some schools are using new state funding to add air conditioning and other things so they can teach year-round.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Thu, 03 Jul 2014 19:22:38 +0000 Jake Neher 56181 at http://wkar.org Year-Round Schools Get More Money, But Future Of Program In Question Superintendents Blast Education Budget http://wkar.org/post/superintendents-blast-education-budget <p>Michigan schools begin their new budget year Tuesday.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Tue, 01 Jul 2014 21:39:32 +0000 Jake Neher 56076 at http://wkar.org Superintendents Blast Education Budget Background Checks Coming For Home-Aid Workers, State Can’t Exclude All Felons http://wkar.org/post/background-checks-coming-home-aid-workers-state-can-t-exclude-all-felons <p>Michigan cannot ban all felons from being caregivers in the state’s Medicaid in-home care program.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Mon, 30 Jun 2014 20:43:16 +0000 Jake Neher 56018 at http://wkar.org Background Checks Coming For Home-Aid Workers, State Can’t Exclude All Felons Michigan Welcomes Office To Help Skilled Immigrants Get Jobs http://wkar.org/post/michigan-welcomes-office-help-skilled-immigrants-get-jobs <p>There’s a new office in Michigan dedicated to helping highly skilled immigrants find jobs.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Mon, 23 Jun 2014 21:24:15 +0000 Jake Neher 55665 at http://wkar.org Michigan Welcomes Office To Help Skilled Immigrants Get Jobs Lawmakers Decide Against Docking MSU $500k For Labor Courses http://wkar.org/post/lawmakers-decide-against-docking-msu-500k-labor-courses <p>State lawmakers have backed down from penalizing Michigan State University over controversial courses about organized labor.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Fri, 13 Jun 2014 21:16:12 +0000 Jake Neher 55186 at http://wkar.org Lawmakers Decide Against Docking MSU $500k For Labor Courses Michigan Film Incentives To Stay At $50 million, Senate Leader Wants More http://wkar.org/post/michigan-film-incentives-stay-50-million-senate-leader-wants-more <p>State lawmakers are getting close to passing a state budget this week.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Tue, 10 Jun 2014 20:40:28 +0000 Jake Neher 54984 at http://wkar.org Michigan Film Incentives To Stay At $50 million, Senate Leader Wants More Gov. Snyder Eyes Road Funding Deal This Week http://wkar.org/post/gov-snyder-eyes-road-funding-deal-week <p>Governor Rick Snyder wants a road funding solution on his desk by the end of this week.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Mon, 09 Jun 2014 20:53:09 +0000 Jake Neher 54928 at http://wkar.org Gov. Snyder Eyes Road Funding Deal This Week Michigan Makes Strides In Calculating Dropout, Graduation Rates http://wkar.org/post/michigan-makes-strides-calculating-dropout-graduation-rates <p>Michigan’s auditor general says the state is doing a better job calculating high school graduation and drop-out rates.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Fri, 06 Jun 2014 21:13:27 +0000 Jake Neher 54845 at http://wkar.org Michigan Makes Strides In Calculating Dropout, Graduation Rates Michigan Schools’ Finances “Stabilizing,” Says State Superintendent http://wkar.org/post/michigan-schools-finances-stabilizing-says-state-superintendent <p>The number of school districts with budget deficits has dropped over the course of this school year.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Thu, 05 Jun 2014 19:40:02 +0000 Jake Neher 54776 at http://wkar.org Michigan Schools’ Finances “Stabilizing,” Says State Superintendent Snyder Defends “Pension Tax” In Special Message On Aging http://wkar.org/post/snyder-defends-pension-tax-special-message-aging <p>Governor Rick Snyder is firing back against critics of his so-called “pension tax”.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Mon, 02 Jun 2014 20:41:59 +0000 Jake Neher 54611 at http://wkar.org Snyder Defends “Pension Tax” In Special Message On Aging Campaign To Raise Minimum Wage To $10.10 Per Hour Turns In Petition Signatures http://wkar.org/post/campaign-raise-minimum-wage-1010-hour-turns-petition-signatures <p>Activists have turned in petition signatures to raise Michigan’s minimum wage to $10.10 an hour by 2017.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Wed, 28 May 2014 20:36:51 +0000 Jake Neher 54387 at http://wkar.org Campaign To Raise Minimum Wage To $10.10 Per Hour Turns In Petition Signatures Bill Boosting Minimum Wage To $9.20 An Hour To Get Hearing In State House http://wkar.org/post/bill-boosting-minimum-wage-920-hour-get-hearing-state-house <p>A bill that would boost Michigan’s minimum wage to $9.20 an hour will get a hearing Wednesday in the state House.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Tue, 20 May 2014 21:15:26 +0000 Jake Neher 53992 at http://wkar.org Bill Boosting Minimum Wage To $9.20 An Hour To Get Hearing In State House State Senate could Triple road funding increase passed by House http://wkar.org/post/state-senate-could-triple-road-funding-increase-passed-house <p>Republican leaders in the Michigan Senate have a plan to boost state road funding by up to $1.4 billion a year.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Mon, 19 May 2014 21:18:30 +0000 Rick Pluta & Jake Neher 53931 at http://wkar.org State Senate could Triple road funding increase passed by House State Senate Votes To Raise Michigan’s Minimum Wage To $9.20 An Hour http://wkar.org/post/state-senate-votes-raise-michigan-s-minimum-wage-920-hour <p>The state Senate has voted to raise Michigan’s minimum wage to $9.20 an hour by 2017.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Thu, 15 May 2014 21:15:49 +0000 Jake Neher 53759 at http://wkar.org State Senate Votes To Raise Michigan’s Minimum Wage To $9.20 An Hour State Senate Leader Plans To Up The Ante On Road Funding In Coming Weeks http://wkar.org/post/state-senate-leader-plans-ante-road-funding-coming-weeks <p>The debate over fixing Michigan’s crumbling roads moves to the state Senate this week.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Tue, 13 May 2014 20:41:43 +0000 Jake Neher 53636 at http://wkar.org State Senate Leader Plans To Up The Ante On Road Funding In Coming Weeks State Lawmakers Look To Expand Natural Gas In Rural Communities http://wkar.org/post/state-lawmakers-look-expand-natural-gas-rural-communities <p>New legislation in Lansing would make it easier for utilities to expand access to natural gas in rural Michigan.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Mon, 12 May 2014 20:44:27 +0000 Jake Neher 53578 at http://wkar.org State Lawmakers Look To Expand Natural Gas In Rural Communities Statewide Teacher Evaluations Move Forward In State Legislature http://wkar.org/post/statewide-teacher-evaluations-move-forward-state-legislature <p>Legislation that would create a statewide teacher evaluation system has cleared its first hurdle in the Michigan Legislature.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Tue, 06 May 2014 20:53:10 +0000 Jake Neher 53287 at http://wkar.org Statewide Teacher Evaluations Move Forward In State Legislature Have Lawmakers Waited Too Long To Approve New Standardized Test? http://wkar.org/post/have-lawmakers-waited-too-long-approve-new-standardized-test <p>Some state lawmakers say the Legislature needs to approve a new standardized test to replace the MEAP – and fast.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Fri, 02 May 2014 20:24:50 +0000 Jake Neher 53112 at http://wkar.org Have Lawmakers Waited Too Long To Approve New Standardized Test? Despite Calls From Businesses, GOP Leaders Still Lukewarm On LGBT Protections http://wkar.org/post/despite-calls-businesses-gop-leaders-still-lukewarm-lgbt-protections <p>Some major Michigan businesses are urging lawmakers to add protections for LGBT residents to the state’s civil rights law.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Thu, 01 May 2014 19:37:55 +0000 Jake Neher 53054 at http://wkar.org Despite Calls From Businesses, GOP Leaders Still Lukewarm On LGBT Protections Minimum Wage And Equal Pay Advocates Join Forces At State Capitol http://wkar.org/post/minimum-wage-and-equal-pay-advocates-join-forces-state-capitol <p>Women’s rights advocates say boosting the state’s minimum wage would be a big step toward equal pay in the workplace.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Tue, 29 Apr 2014 21:10:18 +0000 Jake Neher 52953 at http://wkar.org Minimum Wage And Equal Pay Advocates Join Forces At State Capitol Bill Would Define E-Cigarettes As Tobacco Products In Michigan http://wkar.org/post/bill-would-define-e-cigarettes-tobacco-products-michigan <p>Efforts to keep electronic cigarettes out of the hands of minors continue this week in Lansing.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Mon, 28 Apr 2014 20:40:48 +0000 Jake Neher 52898 at http://wkar.org Bill Would Define E-Cigarettes As Tobacco Products In Michigan Lawmakers Could Set Limit On Number Of Inmates In Michigan Prisons http://wkar.org/post/lawmakers-could-set-limit-number-inmates-michigan-prisons <p>One Michigan legislator wants to put a limit on the number of inmates in state-run prisons.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Fri, 25 Apr 2014 21:10:41 +0000 Jake Neher 52782 at http://wkar.org Lawmakers Could Set Limit On Number Of Inmates In Michigan Prisons