Laura Weber http://wkar.org en The U.P. to The D: Political Allies from the Unlikeliest of Places http://wkar.org/post/d-political-allies-unlikeliest-places <p>A lawmaker from the Upper Peninsula says every region in the state could benefit from a strong and vibrant Detroit. Republican state Senator Tom Casperson has become an unlikely advocate for a regional transit system in southeast Michigan that would connect Wayne, Macomb, Oakland and Washtenaw counties.</p><p> Fri, 02 Mar 2012 11:22:49 +0000 Laura Weber 13434 at http://wkar.org The U.P. to The D: Political Allies from the Unlikeliest of Places Romney wins Michigan primary http://wkar.org/post/romney-wins-michigan-primary-0 <pre> Mitt Romney says his victory in Michigan&rsquo;s Republican presidential primary is particularly special to him because he was born and raised in the state. Romney won by a slim margin over his chief opponent Rick Santorum. </pre> <p> Wed, 29 Feb 2012 10:18:16 +0000 Laura Weber 13295 at http://wkar.org Romney wins Michigan primary Santorum Campaigns as Underdog One Day out from Primary http://wkar.org/post/santorum-campaigns-underdog-one-day-out-primary <p>Rick Santorum is making his final campaign stops across southern Michigan before the state’s Republican primary.</p> Mon, 27 Feb 2012 23:50:34 +0000 Laura Weber 13211 at http://wkar.org Santorum Campaigns as Underdog One Day out from Primary Romney Stops at Detroit Economic Club http://wkar.org/post/romney-stops-detroit-economic-club <p>Republican candidate for president Mitt Romney received a warm reception from the Detroit Economic Club Friday.</p> Fri, 24 Feb 2012 20:15:47 +0000 Laura Weber 13074 at http://wkar.org Romney Stops at Detroit Economic Club Legislature Prepares Highland Park Emergency Legislation http://wkar.org/post/legislature-prepares-highland-park-emergency-legislation <p>Lawmakers at the state Capitol have approved a proposal to make sure students from Highland Park schools are able to attend classes next week.</p> Thu, 23 Feb 2012 23:34:50 +0000 Laura Weber 13023 at http://wkar.org Legislature Prepares Highland Park Emergency Legislation Romney at Town Hall Meeting in Shelby Twp http://wkar.org/post/romney-town-hall-meeting-shelby-twp <p>Republican candidate for president Mitt Romney is campaigning in Michigan all week, with a brief trip to Arizona for a televised debate with his Republican rivals. Tue, 21 Feb 2012 23:24:48 +0000 Laura Weber 12888 at http://wkar.org Romney at Town Hall Meeting in Shelby Twp GOP Candidates for President Campaign Before MI Primary http://wkar.org/post/gop-candidates-president-campaign-mi-primary <p>Republican candidates for president Rick Santorum and Mitt Romney have a few campaign stops planned in Michigan this week, with the GOP primary just over a week away.</p> Mon, 20 Feb 2012 23:22:45 +0000 Laura Weber 12819 at http://wkar.org Santorum: Romney and Obama Have Similar Campaign Tactics http://wkar.org/post/santorum-romney-and-obama-have-similar-campaign-tactics <p>Republican candidate for president Rick Santorum says he thinks he would appeal to conservative, independent and Democratic voters in Michigan on the November ballot.</p> Fri, 17 Feb 2012 20:26:51 +0000 Laura Weber 12706 at http://wkar.org Santorum: Romney and Obama Have Similar Campaign Tactics Santorum: Autos Would Be Doing Better without Bailout http://wkar.org/post/santorum-autos-would-be-doing-better-without-bailout <p>Republican presidential candidate Rick Santorum told members of the Detroit Economic Club that he still thinks the federal bailout of the auto industry was the wrong move.</p> Thu, 16 Feb 2012 23:27:21 +0000 Laura Weber 12652 at http://wkar.org Santorum: Autos Would Be Doing Better without Bailout New MEAP Cut Scores Paint Unattractive Picture of College Readiness http://wkar.org/post/new-meap-cut-scores-paint-unattractive-picture-college-readiness <p>Twenty-nine percent of eighth graders in Michigan are proficient in math. That’s according to new test results from the Michigan Educational Assessment Program – or MEAP.</p> Wed, 15 Feb 2012 20:35:49 +0000 Laura Weber 12571 at http://wkar.org New MEAP Cut Scores Paint Unattractive Picture of College Readiness Schuette Still Pushing for 1000 New Cops http://wkar.org/post/schuette-still-pushing-1000-new-cops <p>Michigan Attorney General Bill Schuette says he still hopes the Legislature will approve his proposal for one thousand new police officers to be hired in the state. Tue, 14 Feb 2012 23:45:25 +0000 Laura Weber 12518 at http://wkar.org Schuette Still Pushing for 1000 New Cops Governor Snyder Says Michigan’s Rank Improving for Business http://wkar.org/post/governor-snyder-says-michigan%E2%80%99s-rank-improving-business <p>Governor Rick Snyder says Michigan’s national ranking for business climate is dramatically improved.</p> Tue, 14 Feb 2012 00:38:46 +0000 Laura Weber 12456 at http://wkar.org Governor Snyder Says Michigan’s Rank Improving for Business