Rick Pluta http://wkar.org en Appeals Court Says No Drilling In Pigeon River Forest http://wkar.org/post/appeals-court-says-no-drilling-pigeon-river-forest <p>The Michigan Court of Appeals says state regulators were correct to deny a drilling permit to developers who want to put oil wells on private land surrounded by a state forest.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Wed, 02 Jul 2014 21:42:22 +0000 Rick Pluta 56134 at http://wkar.org Appeals Court Says No Drilling In Pigeon River Forest Snyder: Prison Food Contract Troubles Are “Unacceptable” http://wkar.org/post/snyder-prison-food-contract-troubles-are-unacceptable <p>Governor Rick Snyder says he’s about ready to call it quits on a privatized prison food services contract if there are more problems.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Tue, 01 Jul 2014 20:55:08 +0000 Rick Pluta 56075 at http://wkar.org Snyder: Prison Food Contract Troubles Are “Unacceptable” Snyder Signs Detroit Rescue Package, Stresses City’s Recovery http://wkar.org/post/snyder-signs-detroit-rescue-package-stresses-city-s-recovery <p>Governor Rick Snyder has signed the legislation that authorizes the state’s $195 million contribution to the Detroit bankruptcy settlement.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Fri, 20 Jun 2014 20:24:07 +0000 Rick Pluta 55538 at http://wkar.org Snyder Signs Detroit Rescue Package, Stresses City’s Recovery Snyder Skeptical Of E-Cigarette Bill http://wkar.org/post/snyder-skeptical-e-cigarette-bill <p>Governor Rick Snyder has got concerns about legislation headed his way to regulate nicotine vapor devices – or e-cigarettes.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Thu, 19 Jun 2014 21:37:56 +0000 Rick Pluta 55494 at http://wkar.org Snyder Skeptical Of E-Cigarette Bill Michigan Supreme Court Takes Two More Medical Marijuana Cases http://wkar.org/post/michigan-supreme-court-takes-two-more-medical-marijuana-cases <p>The state Supreme Court has agreed to hear two more medical marijuana cases.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Thu, 12 Jun 2014 21:10:37 +0000 Rick Pluta 55123 at http://wkar.org Michigan Supreme Court Takes Two More Medical Marijuana Cases After marathon session, MI senate takes final shot at road funding http://wkar.org/post/after-marathon-session-mi-senate-takes-final-shot-road-funding <p></p><p>The Michigan Senate struggled late into the night Wednesday, working on a comprehensive road funding measure. Thu, 12 Jun 2014 17:16:06 +0000 Mark Bashore & Rick Pluta 55092 at http://wkar.org After marathon session, MI senate takes final shot at road funding Snyder: Restoring MEAP Test Not His Preference http://wkar.org/post/snyder-restoring-meap-test-not-his-preference <p>Governor Rick Snyder says he won’t give up on switching Michigan to a new student test that’s aligned with the controversial “Common Core” education standards.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Wed, 11 Jun 2014 21:10:53 +0000 Rick Pluta 55061 at http://wkar.org Snyder: Restoring MEAP Test Not His Preference ‘Right To Work’ Part Of Discussions On Roads Package http://wkar.org/post/right-work-part-discussions-roads-package <p>Negotiations between Republicans and Democrats at the state Capitol over road funding may have resurrected the controversy over Michigan’s right-to-work law.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Tue, 10 Jun 2014 21:24:44 +0000 Rick Pluta 55000 at http://wkar.org ‘Right To Work’ Part Of Discussions On Roads Package Reform Group Calls For End To ‘Adult-Time-For-Adult-Crime’ http://wkar.org/post/reform-group-calls-end-adult-time-adult-crime <p>A new report by the Michigan Council on Crime and Delinquency is calling for an end to the state’s policy of automatically charging 17-year-olds as adults, and sending them to prison – even for non-violent offenses.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Mon, 09 Jun 2014 20:45:27 +0000 Rick Pluta 54927 at http://wkar.org Reform Group Calls For End To ‘Adult-Time-For-Adult-Crime’ Schuette Turns Up The Heat On Energy Company With Criminal Charges http://wkar.org/post/schuette-turns-heat-energy-company-criminal-charges <p>Michigan Attorney General Bill Schuette says an energy company cheated northern Michigan landowners out of oil and gas lease payments as part of a scheme to shut out its competitors.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Thu, 05 Jun 2014 21:12:29 +0000 Rick Pluta 54790 at http://wkar.org Schuette Turns Up The Heat On Energy Company With Criminal Charges Michigan Supreme Court Strikes Down “One Parent” Doctrine http://wkar.org/post/michigan-supreme-court-strikes-down-one-parent-doctrine <p>A Jackson County man will get a hearing on whether he gets to keep his kids after a ruling Tuesday by the Michigan Supreme Court.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Tue, 03 Jun 2014 20:55:05 +0000 Rick Pluta 54674 at http://wkar.org Michigan Supreme Court Strikes Down “One Parent” Doctrine MI Supreme Court Says Governor Cannot Un-Commute Life Sentence http://wkar.org/post/mi-supreme-court-says-governor-cannot-un-commute-life-sentence <p>The Michigan Supreme Court says a governor cannot reverse an official decision to commute a prison sentence.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Tue, 03 Jun 2014 19:53:40 +0000 Rick Pluta 54665 at http://wkar.org MI Supreme Court Says Governor Cannot Un-Commute Life Sentence DEQ Chief Wants Flexibility To Deal With EPA Carbon Standard http://wkar.org/post/deq-chief-wants-flexibility-deal-epa-carbon-standard <p>Governor Rick Snyder’s administration says it will ask for a lot of flexibility to meet new federal clean air goals. The federal government wants to cut carbon emissions by 30% over 15 years.</p><p></p><p></p><p>We have more from The Michigan Public Radio Network’s Rick Pluta.</p><p>Dan Wyant is the director of the state Department of Environmental Quality. He says the goal attainable if the federal government lets Michigan figure out how it’s going to get there.</p> Mon, 02 Jun 2014 21:37:35 +0000 Rick Pluta 54626 at http://wkar.org DEQ Chief Wants Flexibility To Deal With EPA Carbon Standard Land, Peters Disagree In First Appearance http://wkar.org/post/land-peters-disagree-first-appearance <p>The Republican and Democratic candidates for Michigan’s open US Senate seat pitched themselves to business people at a conference on Mackinac Island Wednesday.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p> Wed, 28 May 2014 21:12:26 +0000 Rick Pluta 54392 at http://wkar.org Land, Peters Disagree In First Appearance Hunters’ Group Files Petitions For New Hunting Law http://wkar.org/post/hunters-group-files-petitions-new-hunting-law <p>The controversy over wolf hunting in the Upper Peninsula is headed back to the Legislature.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Tue, 27 May 2014 18:18:37 +0000 Rick Pluta 54306 at http://wkar.org Hunters’ Group Files Petitions For New Hunting Law Detroit Bankruptcy Clears First Big Hurdle http://wkar.org/post/detroit-bankruptcy-clears-first-big-hurdle <p>The $195 million dollar state contribution to the Detroit bankruptcy settlement cleared its first major hurdle Thursday as the state House approved the payment by a wide margin.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Thu, 22 May 2014 21:17:35 +0000 Rick Pluta 54112 at http://wkar.org Detroit Bankruptcy Clears First Big Hurdle Committee Vote On Detroit Bailout Expected http://wkar.org/post/committee-vote-detroit-bailout-expected <p>A state House committee is expected to take up legislation tomorrow Wednesday to provide $195 million as the state’s part in the Detroit bankruptcy settlement.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Tue, 20 May 2014 21:21:43 +0000 Rick Pluta 53993 at http://wkar.org Committee Vote On Detroit Bailout Expected State Senate could Triple road funding increase passed by House http://wkar.org/post/state-senate-could-triple-road-funding-increase-passed-house <p>Republican leaders in the Michigan Senate have a plan to boost state road funding by up to $1.4 billion a year.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Mon, 19 May 2014 21:18:30 +0000 Rick Pluta & Jake Neher 53931 at http://wkar.org State Senate could Triple road funding increase passed by House Conyers Asks Secretary Of State To Put Him On Ballot http://wkar.org/post/conyers-asks-secretary-state-put-him-ballot <p>Congressman John Conyers is asking Secretary of State Ruth Johnson to put his name on the August Democratic primary ballot.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Fri, 16 May 2014 19:52:02 +0000 Rick Pluta 53806 at http://wkar.org Conyers Asks Secretary Of State To Put Him On Ballot Michigan’s Economy Improves, But At a Slower Pace http://wkar.org/post/michigan-s-economy-improves-slower-pace <p>The long, harsh winter slowed the state’s economic recovery.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Thu, 15 May 2014 21:23:44 +0000 Rick Pluta 53760 at http://wkar.org Michigan’s Economy Improves, But At a Slower Pace Capitol Update: Revenue, Detroit bankruptcy and minimum wage http://wkar.org/post/capitol-update-revenue-detroit-bankruptcy-and-minimum-wage <p></p><p></p><p>At the state capitol yesterday, Michigan’s latest set of revenue estimates were unveiled. It’s an important twice-a-year gathering with often serious implications for state government spending, budgets and taxes. Thu, 15 May 2014 17:39:11 +0000 Mark Bashore & Rick Pluta 53737 at http://wkar.org Capitol Update: Revenue, Detroit bankruptcy and minimum wage Minimum Wage Supporters Call Richardville Bill “Dirty Trick” http://wkar.org/post/minimum-wage-supporters-call-richardville-bill-dirty-trick <p>The petition campaign to raise Michigan’s minimum wage to $10.10 an hour says it won’t be thwarted by a Republican attempt to derail it.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Tue, 13 May 2014 21:23:22 +0000 Rick Pluta 53645 at http://wkar.org Minimum Wage Supporters Call Richardville Bill “Dirty Trick” Detroit Committee Opens Legislative Hearings On Bailout http://wkar.org/post/detroit-committee-opens-legislative-hearings-bailout <p>A state House committee is trying to decide if taxpayer dollars should be part of the solution to get Detroit out of bankruptcy.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Tue, 13 May 2014 21:13:57 +0000 Rick Pluta 53644 at http://wkar.org Detroit Committee Opens Legislative Hearings On Bailout Detroit Plan Would Put City’s Finances Under Board Supervision http://wkar.org/post/detroit-plan-would-put-city-s-finances-under-board-supervision <p>Detroit’s finances would be under the scrutiny of an appointed board for as long as 20 years after the city’s bankruptcy under a plan unveiled Thursday.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Thu, 08 May 2014 21:46:18 +0000 Rick Pluta 53409 at http://wkar.org Detroit Plan Would Put City’s Finances Under Board Supervision House Panel OKs First Parts Of Road Funding Plan http://wkar.org/post/house-panel-oks-first-parts-road-funding-plan <p>A pair of state House panels Wednesday voted on the first elements of a plan to raise more money for fixing roads.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Wed, 07 May 2014 21:13:52 +0000 Rick Pluta 53346 at http://wkar.org House Panel OKs First Parts Of Road Funding Plan Second Wolf Hunt Referendum Approved For November Ballot http://wkar.org/post/second-wolf-hunt-referendum-approved-november-ballot <p>A state elections panel has approved a second referendum on wolf hunting in Michigan for the November ballot.</p><p></p><p> Tue, 06 May 2014 19:35:09 +0000 Rick Pluta 53282 at http://wkar.org Second Wolf Hunt Referendum Approved For November Ballot Snyder Would Like Committee To Oversee Detroit Finances Post-Bankruptcy http://wkar.org/post/snyder-would-committee-oversee-detroit-finances-post-bankruptcy <p>Governor Rick Snyder says he thinks there’s progress in negotiations with the Legislature to put $350 million of state money toward Detroit’s bankruptcy settlement.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Wed, 30 Apr 2014 21:11:21 +0000 Rick Pluta 53012 at http://wkar.org Snyder Would Like Committee To Oversee Detroit Finances Post-Bankruptcy Detroit Emergency Manager Tries To Sell Bailout To Lawmakers http://wkar.org/post/detroit-emergency-manager-tries-sell-bailout-lawmakers <p>Detroit Emergency Manager Kevyn Orr is spending a couple of days in Lansing for closed-door meetings with state officials.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Tue, 29 Apr 2014 19:58:09 +0000 Rick Pluta 52940 at http://wkar.org Detroit Emergency Manager Tries To Sell Bailout To Lawmakers Snyder: Immigration Shakeup Include Ag Workers http://wkar.org/post/snyder-immigration-shakeup-include-ag-workers <p>Governor Rick Snyder says Michigan needs to do more to attract seasonal migrant laborers to work on farms this spring and summer.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Thu, 24 Apr 2014 21:25:25 +0000 Rick Pluta 52719 at http://wkar.org Snyder: Immigration Shakeup Include Ag Workers SCOTUS Upholds Michigan Affirmative Action amendment http://wkar.org/post/scotus-upholds-michigan-affirmative-action-amendment <p>The US Supreme Court has upheld Michigan’s ban on race- and gender-conscious admissions policies at public universities.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>The Michigan Public Radio Network’s Rick Pluta reports.</p><p>Michigan Attorney General Bill Schuette defended the amendment, approved by voters in 2006, that outlawed race- and gender-based affirmative action. He praised the Supreme Court decision as on target.</p><p style="margin-left:.5in;">&nbsp;“Michigan voters exercised their privilege to enact laws as a basic exercise of their democratic power,” he says.</p> Tue, 22 Apr 2014 18:44:09 +0000 Rick Pluta 52578 at http://wkar.org SCOTUS Upholds Michigan Affirmative Action amendment