The Associated Press http://wkar.org en Senator Levin Says Regional Office Got Suspicious Letter http://wkar.org/post/senator-levin-says-regional-office-got-suspicious-letter <p>Michigan Senator Carl Levin says his regional office in Saginaw received a suspicious letter and that authorities have been alerted.</p><p></p><p> Wed, 17 Apr 2013 19:25:46 +0000 The Associated Press 34443 at http://wkar.org Senator Levin Says Regional Office Got Suspicious Letter Heavy Rain Forecast Raises Michigan's Flood Risks http://wkar.org/post/heavy-rain-forecast-raises-michigans-flood-risks <p>Rising water is in the forecast along some already flooding Lower Peninsula rivers as rain falls on saturated watersheds.</p><p></p><p> Wed, 17 Apr 2013 19:00:50 +0000 The Associated Press 34442 at http://wkar.org Heavy Rain Forecast Raises Michigan's Flood Risks Michigan Jobless Rate Falls 0.3 points to 8.5% http://wkar.org/post/michigan-jobless-rate-falls-03-points-85 <p>The state says Michigan's unemployment rate fell 0.3 percentage points to 8.5 percent in the latest month, as number of people working rose while the number of jobless people shrank.</p><p></p><p> Wed, 17 Apr 2013 18:58:30 +0000 The Associated Press 34439 at http://wkar.org Michigan Jobless Rate Falls 0.3 points to 8.5% 19th Death Reported In Michigan Linked To Steroids http://wkar.org/post/19th-death-reported-michigan-linked-steroids <p>State health officials say an 87-year-old Livingston County man is the 19th person from Michigan to die as a result of contaminated steroids supplied by a Massachusetts pharmaceutical company.</p><p></p><p> Wed, 17 Apr 2013 18:55:54 +0000 The Associated Press 34438 at http://wkar.org 19th Death Reported In Michigan Linked To Steroids Michigan Agency Reverses Unemployment Fraud Decision http://wkar.org/post/michigan-agency-reverses-unemployment-fraud-decision <p>Michigan's Unemployment Insurance Agency is taking back its decision to only attend administrative insurance fraud hearings when large sums of money are at risk.</p><p></p><p> Wed, 17 Apr 2013 18:52:49 +0000 The Associated Press 34437 at http://wkar.org Michigan Agency Reverses Unemployment Fraud Decision Governments In Michigan Get Share Of Cleanup Funding http://wkar.org/post/governments-michigan-get-share-cleanup-funding <p>Officials say 20 governments around Michigan are getting a share of more than $39,000 to fund river, stream, and creek cleanup events.</p><p></p><p> Fri, 05 Apr 2013 19:45:22 +0000 The Associated Press 33863 at http://wkar.org Governments In Michigan Get Share Of Cleanup Funding Lawmaker Doubts Part Of Michigan School Takeover Bill http://wkar.org/post/lawmaker-doubts-part-michigan-school-takeover-bill <p>A lawmaker is skeptical of changes to legislation giving the state control over more of Michigan's worst schools.</p><p></p><p> Fri, 05 Apr 2013 19:41:35 +0000 The Associated Press 33862 at http://wkar.org Lawmaker Doubts Part Of Michigan School Takeover Bill US Gives $125M For Biofuel Work At MSU, Wisconsin http://wkar.org/post/us-gives-125m-biofuel-work-msu-wisconsin <p>Michigan State University says the U.S. Department of Energy has awarded $125 million to the East Lansing school and to the University of Wisconsin to continue their work on advanced biofuels.</p><p></p><p> Thu, 04 Apr 2013 19:46:49 +0000 The Associated Press 33793 at http://wkar.org US Gives $125M For Biofuel Work At MSU, Wisconsin Michigan Supreme Court To Consider City Marijuana Ban http://wkar.org/post/michigan-supreme-court-consider-city-marijuana-ban <p>The Michigan Supreme Court says it will consider the legality of a city's zoning ordinance that prohibits the use, manufacture or cultivation of medical marijuana.</p><p></p><p> Wed, 03 Apr 2013 21:39:36 +0000 The Associated Press 33748 at http://wkar.org Michigan Supreme Court To Consider City Marijuana Ban Mackinac Bridge Now Bathed In Blue For Autism http://wkar.org/post/mackinac-bridge-now-bathed-blue-autism <p>The Mackinac Bridge is being lit blue at night for the rest of April as part of an autism awareness campaign.</p><p></p><p> Wed, 03 Apr 2013 20:42:29 +0000 The Associated Press 33738 at http://wkar.org Mackinac Bridge Now Bathed In Blue For Autism Michigan Launches Concussion Awareness Site http://wkar.org/post/michigan-launches-concussion-awareness-site <p>Michigan has launched a new website to educate athletes, parents and coaches about the symptoms and consequences of sports concussions.</p><p></p><p> Wed, 03 Apr 2013 19:30:02 +0000 The Associated Press 33733 at http://wkar.org Michigan Launches Concussion Awareness Site Great Lakes Levels Below Normal Next 6 Months http://wkar.org/post/great-lakes-levels-below-normal-next-6-months <p>The U.S. Army Corps of Engineers says Great Lakes levels probably will remain below average for the next six months but won't set records unless the weather is unusually dry.</p><p></p><p> Wed, 03 Apr 2013 19:23:10 +0000 The Associated Press 33732 at http://wkar.org Great Lakes Levels Below Normal Next 6 Months Hazards Remain In Former Mining Area http://wkar.org/post/hazards-remain-former-mining-area <p>A state report says physical hazards remain in the former copper mining region of Michigan's western Upper Peninsula.</p><p></p><p> Tue, 02 Apr 2013 19:26:13 +0000 The Associated Press 33677 at http://wkar.org Hazards Remain In Former Mining Area Bills Spark Debate Over Paid Sick Time In Michigan http://wkar.org/post/bills-spark-debate-over-paid-sick-time-michigan <p>Some Republican Michigan lawmakers are seeking to ban local governments from putting in place paid sick leave mandates.</p><p></p><p> Tue, 02 Apr 2013 19:22:42 +0000 The Associated Press 33676 at http://wkar.org Bills Spark Debate Over Paid Sick Time In Michigan Oil Spill Leaves Sheen On Grand River In Lansing http://wkar.org/post/oil-spill-leaves-sheen-grand-river-lansing <p>Crews are working to contain about 300 to 500 gallons of hydraulic fluid that spilled into the Grand River in Lansing.</p><p></p><p> Tue, 02 Apr 2013 19:20:21 +0000 The Associated Press 33675 at http://wkar.org Oil Spill Leaves Sheen On Grand River In Lansing State Starts Autism Treatment Medicaid Coverage http://wkar.org/post/state-starts-autism-treatment-medicaid-coverage <p>Young children in Michigan with autism spectrum disorders are now able to receive treatment coverage through Medicaid.</p><p></p><p> Mon, 01 Apr 2013 20:37:10 +0000 The Associated Press 33619 at http://wkar.org State Starts Autism Treatment Medicaid Coverage 2 Michigan Residents Ill From E. Coli, Food Recalled http://wkar.org/post/2-michigan-residents-ill-e-coli-food-recalled <p><span id="_oneup" style="font-size: 11px;">Two people in Michigan have become sick from an outbreak of E. coli infections linked to frozen snack foods marketed to children.</span></p><p></p><p> Mon, 01 Apr 2013 20:24:47 +0000 The Associated Press 33618 at http://wkar.org 2 Michigan Residents Ill From E. Coli, Food Recalled GOP Group: Agema Should Resign For Facebook Post http://wkar.org/post/gop-group-agema-should-resign-facebook-post <p><span id="_oneup" style="font-size: 11px;">Twenty-one Michigan Republicans are calling on a state Republican national committeeman to resign after he posted part of an article critical of gay people on his Facebook page.</span></p><p></p><p> Thu, 28 Mar 2013 20:38:28 +0000 The Associated Press 33451 at http://wkar.org GOP Group: Agema Should Resign For Facebook Post Governor Snyder: Great Lakes Meeting Is Overdue http://wkar.org/post/governor-snyder-great-lakes-meeting-overdue <p><span id="_oneup" style="font-size: 11px;">Governor Rick Snyder says a meeting of Great Lakes governors and premiers planned for later this year is "way overdue."</span></p><p></p><p> Thu, 28 Mar 2013 20:27:21 +0000 The Associated Press 33450 at http://wkar.org Governor Snyder: Great Lakes Meeting Is Overdue Report: 745,000 In Michigan Could Get Health Subsidy http://wkar.org/post/report-745000-michigan-could-get-health-subsidy <p><span id="_oneup" style="font-size: 11px;">A health care advocacy group says about 745,000 Michigan adults and children would become eligible for the federal government's help to pay for health insurance beginning next year.</span></p><p></p><p> Thu, 28 Mar 2013 20:24:52 +0000 The Associated Press 33449 at http://wkar.org Report: 745,000 In Michigan Could Get Health Subsidy Group Protests Inside Detroit City Hall Lobby http://wkar.org/post/group-protests-inside-detroit-city-hall-lobby <p>A building official says a crowd of people who held a protest in the Detroit City Hall lobby temporarily disrupted services.</p><p></p><p> Thu, 28 Mar 2013 20:14:35 +0000 The Associated Press 33448 at http://wkar.org Group Protests Inside Detroit City Hall Lobby Michigan Secretary Of State Supports Election Change http://wkar.org/post/michigan-secretary-state-supports-election-change <p>Michigan Secretary of State Ruth Johnson says she supports changing the state's current winner-take-all system in presidential elections.</p><p></p><p> Fri, 22 Mar 2013 19:38:17 +0000 The Associated Press 33148 at http://wkar.org Michigan Secretary Of State Supports Election Change 6 Michigan Dam Projects Get Share Of $2.3M http://wkar.org/post/6-michigan-dam-projects-get-share-23m <p>The state says six Michigan dam removal or repair projects are getting a share of more than $2.3 million in funding.</p><p>The Department of Natural Resources on Friday announced it has approved six Dam Management Grant Program projects.</p><p>The program was started last year to support Governor Rick Snyder's infrastructure efforts.</p><p>Funding will support the second phase of the Boardman River dam removal project in Grand Traverse County; the Kalamazoo River and Otsego Township dam repair project; as well as the Ionia Conservation District's Lyons dam removal project.</p> Fri, 22 Mar 2013 18:55:12 +0000 The Associated Press 33144 at http://wkar.org 6 Michigan Dam Projects Get Share Of $2.3M Jobless Rates Rise In All Michigan Labor Markets http://wkar.org/post/jobless-rates-rise-all-michigan-labor-markets <p>Michigan says the state's seasonally unadjusted unemployment rate rose statewide and is up in all 17 major job markets, mainly because of the usual winter downturn.</p><p></p><p> Fri, 22 Mar 2013 18:50:31 +0000 The Associated Press 33143 at http://wkar.org Jobless Rates Rise In All Michigan Labor Markets Michigan Senate Rejects Partnering On Health Exchange http://wkar.org/post/michigan-senate-rejects-partnering-health-exchange <p>The federal government will fully control an online marketplace where Michigan residents can buy health insurance required under the federal health care law.</p><p></p><p> Thu, 21 Mar 2013 19:36:50 +0000 The Associated Press 33070 at http://wkar.org Michigan Senate Rejects Partnering On Health Exchange Michigan Bills Bar Minors From Using Tanning Salons http://wkar.org/post/michigan-bills-bar-minors-using-tanning-salons <p>Michigan doctors and cancer survivors are calling on the Legislature to prohibit minors from using tanning salons.</p><p></p><p> Thu, 21 Mar 2013 19:34:21 +0000 The Associated Press 33069 at http://wkar.org Michigan Bills Bar Minors From Using Tanning Salons Army Corps Commits $5.2M For Great Lakes Repairs http://wkar.org/post/army-corps-commits-52m-great-lakes-repairs <p>A top official of the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers says her agency will spend $5.2 million in Hurricane Sandy relief funds to repair 10 Great Lakes harbors.</p><p></p><p> Wed, 20 Mar 2013 19:29:31 +0000 The Associated Press 33010 at http://wkar.org Army Corps Commits $5.2M For Great Lakes Repairs Monitor turns in report on Michigan child welfare DETROIT (AP) — A federal judge says Michigan is http://wkar.org/post/monitor-turns-report-michigan-child-welfare-detroit-ap-federal-judge-says-michigan <p>A federal judge says Michigan is making progress but it would be "foolish" not to recognize that more needs to be done to improve foster care and child protection.</p><p></p><p> Wed, 20 Mar 2013 19:26:27 +0000 The Associated Press 33008 at http://wkar.org Monitor turns in report on Michigan child welfare DETROIT (AP) — A federal judge says Michigan is Michigan House Votes To Keep 0.08% Alcohol Law http://wkar.org/post/michigan-house-votes-keep-008-alcohol-law <p>The Michigan House has passed legislation that would prevent a scheduled rise in the state's blood-alcohol limit for drivers.</p><p></p><p> Wed, 20 Mar 2013 19:21:09 +0000 The Associated Press 33007 at http://wkar.org Michigan House Votes To Keep 0.08% Alcohol Law Michigan Lawmaker: Ban Openly Carried Guns In Schools http://wkar.org/post/michigan-lawmaker-ban-openly-carried-guns-schools <p><span id="_oneup" style="font-size: 11px;">A state lawmaker says Michigan should no longer let people openly carry guns into schools.</span></p><p></p><p> Thu, 14 Mar 2013 19:41:08 +0000 The Associated Press 32706 at http://wkar.org Michigan Lawmaker: Ban Openly Carried Guns In Schools