Associated Press http://wkar.org en Taliban Suspends Talks On Prisoner Exchange http://wkar.org/post/taliban-suspends-talks-prisoner-exchange The Taliban has suspended talks over a possible exchange of Taliban and U.S. prisoners due to the "complexity" of the situation in Afghanistan, the militant group said on Sunday.<p>"Due to the political complexity of the current situation in the country, the leadership of the Islamic Emirate has decided to suspend the issue for some time," Taliban spokesman Zabihullah Mujahid said in an email to media organizations, using the name the Taliban gave their 1996-2001 government.<p>"Therefore, the prisoner exchange process has been delayed until further notice," Mujahid said. Sun, 23 Feb 2014 06:01:00 +0000 Associated Press 49762 at http://wkar.org One Dead, 28 Sickened By Carbon Monoxide At New York Mall http://wkar.org/post/restaurant-manager-dies-carbon-monoxide-new-york-mall A 55-year-old restaurant manager died and more than two dozen others were taken to hospitals Saturday after being overcome by carbon monoxide at a New York mall, police said.<p>Suffolk County police identified the man who died as Steven Nelson, a manager at the Legal Sea Foods restaurant at the Walt Whitman Shops in Huntington Station on Long Island.<p>Police said 28 others affected by carbon monoxide were taken to area hospitals.<p>Three officers were among those overcome by carbon monoxide at the mall, which is about 35 miles east of New York City, police said. Sun, 23 Feb 2014 05:40:00 +0000 Associated Press 49761 at http://wkar.org Boeing Machinists Approve Contract To Secure 777X Work http://wkar.org/post/boeing-machinists-approve-contract-secure-777x-work The stakes were high and the vote was close as Boeing production workers agreed to concede some benefits in order to secure assembly of the new 777X airplane for the Puget Sound region.<p>Washington Gov. Sat, 04 Jan 2014 12:08:00 +0000 Associated Press 47521 at http://wkar.org Boeing Machinists Approve Contract To Secure 777X Work 'Fast & Furious' Star Dies In Car Crash http://wkar.org/post/fast-furious-star-dies-car-crash Paul Walker, the star of the "Fast & Furious" movie series, died Saturday in a car crash that killed one other person north of Los Angeles, his publicist said. He was 40.<p>Walker died Saturday afternoon, Ame Van Iden told the Associated Press.<p>A statement on the actor's Facebook page said he was a passenger in a friend's car, and that Walker was in the area to attend a charity event for his organization Reach Out Worldwide.<p>"We ... Sun, 01 Dec 2013 05:52:00 +0000 Associated Press 46030 at http://wkar.org 'Fast & Furious' Star Dies In Car Crash Three U.S. Economists Win Nobel Prize http://wkar.org/post/three-us-economists-win-nobel-prize Americans Eugene Fama, Lars Peter Hansen and Robert Shiller won the Nobel prize for economics on Monday for developing new methods to study trends in asset markets.<p>The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences said the three had laid the foundation of the current understanding of asset prices.<p>While it's hard to predict whether stock or bond prices will go up or down in the short term, it's possible to foresee movements over periods of three years or longer, the academy said.<p>"These findings, which might seem surprising and contradictory, were made and analyzed by this year's laureates," the ac Mon, 14 Oct 2013 11:29:00 +0000 Associated Press 43734 at http://wkar.org State Troopers Armed With Tear Gas Guard Capitol http://wkar.org/post/state-troopers-armed-tear-gas-guard-capitol <p>LANSING, Mich. (AP) - State troopers armed with tear gas canisters, pepper spray and batons are among dozens of officers guarding the Capitol in Lansing as the right-to-work battle heats up in Michigan.</p><p></p><p> Tue, 11 Dec 2012 15:21:15 +0000 Associated Press 28115 at http://wkar.org State Troopers Armed With Tear Gas Guard Capitol Several Thousand Union Members March To Capitol http://wkar.org/post/several-thousand-union-members-march-capitol <p>LANSING, Mich. (AP) - Several thousand union members gathered to protest so-called right-to-work legislation in Michigan have begun a three-block walk to the state Capitol. Tue, 11 Dec 2012 14:28:40 +0000 Associated Press & ASS 28111 at http://wkar.org Protesters At Mich. Capitol Battle Right-To-Work http://wkar.org/post/protesters-mich-capitol-battle-right-work <p>LANSING, Mich. (AP) - Union demonstrators rallying against right-to-work legislation in Michigan have turned the front lawn of the state Capitol into an impromptu carnival that includes giant, inflatable rats representing Republicans supporting the divisive measure.</p><p> Tue, 11 Dec 2012 14:08:03 +0000 Associated Press 28109 at http://wkar.org Protesters At Mich. Capitol Battle Right-To-Work Former MI First Lady Helen Milliken Dies At 89 http://wkar.org/post/former-mi-first-lady-helen-milliken-dies-89 <p>TRAVERSE CITY, Mich. (AP) - Helen Wallbank Milliken, who was Michigan's longest-serving first lady and a staunch supporter of women's rights and the environment, has died. She was 89. WKAR-TV will air <strong><a href="http://wkar.org/post/wkar-remembers-helen-milliken-0">The Millikens</a>, a 2006 conversation with the former governor and first lady tonight at 9 p.m. on WKAR-TV.&nbsp;&nbsp; </strong></p><p></p><p> Fri, 16 Nov 2012 11:32:06 +0000 Associated Press 27013 at http://wkar.org Former MI First Lady Helen Milliken Dies At 89 Pridgeon, Former Michigan Ag Director and MSU Trustee, Dies http://wkar.org/post/pridgeon-former-michigan-ag-director-and-msu-trustee-dies <p>Dean Pridgeon, a former director of the Michigan Department of Agriculture who later served as a Michigan State University trustee, has died. He was 91. Tue, 28 Aug 2012 12:14:12 +0000 Associated Press 22985 at http://wkar.org Pridgeon, Former Michigan Ag Director and MSU Trustee, Dies Ex-MSU Med Student Pleads Guilty in Dog Killings http://wkar.org/post/ex-msu-med-student-pleads-guilty-dog-killings <p>An ex-Michigan State University medical student accused of killing at least 12 greyhound puppies has pleaded guilty to charges carrying a penalty of up to four years in prison.</p> Mon, 23 Apr 2012 22:22:08 +0000 Associated Press 16213 at http://wkar.org Ex-MSU Med Student Pleads Guilty in Dog Killings Snyder: Detroit consent agreement means 'positive opportunity' http://wkar.org/post/snyder-detroit-consent-agreement-means-positive-opportunity <p>Gov. Rick Snyder says the approval of a deal between the state and the city of Detroit is a &quot;positive opportunity&quot; for the city and the entire state of Michigan. Thu, 05 Apr 2012 10:30:31 +0000 Associated Press 15302 at http://wkar.org Snyder: Detroit consent agreement means 'positive opportunity' Detroit Council Seeks More Answers on Consent Deal http://wkar.org/post/detroit-council-seeks-more-answers-consent-deal <p>The Detroit City Council has put off a vote while continuing to debate a proposed consent agreement between the city and Gov. Rick Snyder.</p> Mon, 02 Apr 2012 22:38:23 +0000 Associated Press 15147 at http://wkar.org Detroit Council Seeks More Answers on Consent Deal Detroit Unions: Keep State Away from New Contracts http://wkar.org/post/detroit-unions-keep-state-away-new-contracts <p>A federal judge is telling lawyers to return to court Tuesday in a dispute over the state's likely veto of contract concessions approved by Detroit city workers.</p> Mon, 02 Apr 2012 22:21:18 +0000 Associated Press 15143 at http://wkar.org Detroit Unions: Keep State Away from New Contracts Prosecutor: US Didn't Mishandle Militia Case http://wkar.org/post/prosecutor-us-didnt-mishandle-militia-case <p>Detroit's chief federal prosecutor says her office wouldn't do anything differently in the investigation of a Michigan militia, despite losing virtually all of the case after a six-week trial.</p> Thu, 29 Mar 2012 22:33:57 +0000 Associated Press 14981 at http://wkar.org Prosecutor: US Didn't Mishandle Militia Case With Playoff Expansion, Baseball Goes Wilder http://wkar.org/post/playoff-expansion-baseball-goes-wilder Major League Baseball expanded its playoff format to 10 teams Friday, adding a second wild-card in each league.<p>The decision establishes a new one-game, wild-card round in each league between the teams with the best records who are not division winners, meaning a third-place team could win the World Series.<p>This is the only change in baseball's playoff structure since the 1995 season, when wild-card teams were first added.<p>"This change increases the rewards of a division championship and allows two additional markets to experience playoff baseball each year," Commissioner Bud Seli Fri, 02 Mar 2012 21:21:00 +0000 Associated Press 13481 at http://wkar.org With Playoff Expansion, Baseball Goes Wilder