Election 2012 http://wkar.org en Sen. Jones Discusses GOP Losses In Eaton County http://wkar.org/post/sen-jones-discusses-gop-losses-eaton-county <p>Before he was a state senator, Republican Rick Jones was Eaton County's state representative, and before that, sheriff. In November, the GOP lost both of those offices. Wed, 19 Dec 2012 05:00:01 +0000 Scott Pohl 28400 at http://wkar.org Sen. Jones Discusses GOP Losses In Eaton County Michigan’s 16 Electoral College Votes Officially Cast For Obama/Biden http://wkar.org/post/michigan-s-16-electoral-college-votes-officially-cast-obamabiden <p>Michigan’s delegates to the Electoral College have cast their 16 votes for President Barack Obama and Vice President Joe Biden.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p> Mon, 17 Dec 2012 22:16:23 +0000 Jake Neher 28406 at http://wkar.org Michigan’s 16 Electoral College Votes Officially Cast For Obama/Biden It’s Official: Obama Wins Michigan http://wkar.org/post/it-s-official-obama-wins-michigan <p>The Board of State Canvassers on Monday has officially adopted the vote totals for the November elections, including the presidential race. The official count is almost 2.6 million votes for President Obama; 2.1 million for Mitt Romney.&nbsp; Mon, 26 Nov 2012 23:11:56 +0000 Rick Pluta 27444 at http://wkar.org It’s Official: Obama Wins Michigan Off the Record | November 9, 2012 http://wkar.org/post/record-november-9-2012 <p>Correspondents Edition. The panel discusses the presidential race, ballot plans, and the Michigan Congressional and House races.<br><br>Zachary Gorchow, Rick Pluta, Susan Demas and Chad Livengood join senior capitol correspondent Tim Skubick.</p><p>http://video.wkar.org/video/2302197671</p> Thu, 08 Nov 2012 14:19:32 +0000 WebTeam 26627 at http://wkar.org Off the Record | November 9, 2012 MI First Election 2012 http://wkar.org/post/mi-first-election-2012 <p>TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 6: MI First Election is streaming full coverage of the election from WKAR studios throughout the day, at <a href="http://bit.ly/MIFIRSTELECTION">bit.ly/MIFIRSTELECTION</a></p><p>MI First Election is a project focusing on the viewpoints of college-age, first-time voters in Michigan.</p><p>Over 200 journalism students at Michigan State University provide MI First Election coverage online throughout election day. WKAR's evening PBS NewsHour broadcast will feature reporting from MI First Election, along with updates from the WKAR NewsRoom.<br><br>&nbsp;</p> Tue, 06 Nov 2012 15:07:20 +0000 Bill Richards 26487 at http://wkar.org MI First Election 2012 Candidates Make Final Push In Michigan Before Tuesday’s Election http://wkar.org/post/candidates-make-final-push-michigan-tuesday-s-election <p> With the 2012 campaign coming to an end, state-wide candidates are making one last push to get out the vote. Both parties held rallies across the state Monday. Mon, 05 Nov 2012 21:46:38 +0000 Jake Neher 26452 at http://wkar.org Voting advocate group helps MSU students cast ballots http://wkar.org/post/voting-advocate-group-helps-msu-students-cast-ballots <p>As the presidential election draws near, a voting advocacy group at Michigan State University is helping students prepare to cast their ballot. Mon, 05 Nov 2012 21:39:42 +0000 Kevin Lavery 26450 at http://wkar.org Voting advocate group helps MSU students cast ballots ELECTION 2012: MSU Trustees Ferguson, Foster Face Challengers Sakwa, Mosallam http://wkar.org/post/election-2012-msu-trustees-ferguson-foster-face-challengers-sakwa-mosallam <p>Voters will elect two people to the Michigan State University Board of Trustees on Tuesday. Mon, 05 Nov 2012 05:00:01 +0000 Scott Pohl 26320 at http://wkar.org ELECTION 2012: MSU Trustees Ferguson, Foster Face Challengers Sakwa, Mosallam Election 2012: Ballot Props Cover Wide Range Of Issues http://wkar.org/post/election-2012-ballot-props-cover-wide-range-issues <p>There are six statewide ballot proposals for Michigan voters to decide in the 2012 election. WKAR's Melissa Benmark spoke with the Michigan Public Radio Network’s State Capitol Bureau Chief, Rick Pluta about the ballot issues, starting with Proposal One. Mon, 05 Nov 2012 05:00:01 +0000 Melissa Benmark 26337 at http://wkar.org Election 2012: Ballot Props Cover Wide Range Of Issues Election 2012: Control of MI Supreme Court is On the Line http://wkar.org/post/election-2012-control-mi-supreme-court-line <p>There are three races this year for spots on the Michigan Supreme Court. Two incumbents are running, and there’s one open seat.</p><p>The Republican and Democratic parties spend millions of dollars to get their candidates elected to the state’s highest court – even though they are on the non-partisan part of the ballot. Fri, 02 Nov 2012 12:19:18 +0000 Rick Pluta 26317 at http://wkar.org Election 2012: Control of MI Supreme Court is On the Line In Michigan, A Contentious Battle Over A Bridge http://wkar.org/post/michigan-contentious-battle-over-bridge Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>On Election Day next week, Michigan voters will face a question about international bridges and tunnels. It's really a question about one bridge in particularly - a long-planned and highly-contested connection between Detroit and Windsor, Ontario.<p>As Michigan Radio's Sarah Cwiek reports, it's an electoral twist in a bitter struggle with Michigan's governor and Canada on one side, and a billionaire bridge owner on the other.<p>SARAH CWIEK, BYLINE: The ballot measure is Proposal Six. Fri, 02 Nov 2012 09:04:00 +0000 Michigan Radio: Sarah Cwiek 26312 at http://wkar.org ELECTION 2012: Eaton County Sheriff's Race Heats Up http://wkar.org/post/election-2012-eaton-county-sheriffs-race-heats <p>WKAR's Scott Pohl has a look at the race for Sheriff in Eaton County. Thu, 01 Nov 2012 04:00:01 +0000 Scott Pohl 26217 at http://wkar.org ELECTION 2012: Eaton County Sheriff's Race Heats Up Election 2012: 69th House Likely to Stay Blue http://wkar.org/post/election-2012-69th-house-likely-stay-blue <p>Two local public service veterans are competing to represent Michigan's 69th district in the state House.&nbsp; Democrat Sam Singh is a former East Lansing councilman and mayor.&nbsp; Republican Susan McGillicuddy is a former Meridian Township trustee who's served as the township's supervisor for the last 12 years. Thu, 01 Nov 2012 04:00:00 +0000 Kevin Lavery 26231 at http://wkar.org Election 2012: 69th House Likely to Stay Blue Dems Are In The (68th) House http://wkar.org/post/dems-are-68th-house <p>WKAR's Mark Bashore takes a look at the contest between Andy Schor (D) and Tim Moede (R) in Michigan's 68th House district. Wed, 31 Oct 2012 04:00:00 +0000 Mark Bashore 26167 at http://wkar.org Dems Are In The (68th) House Presidential Campaigns In Michigan Not Slowing Down For Sandy http://wkar.org/post/presidential-campaigns-michigan-not-slowing-down-sandy <p>President Obama's and Mitt Romney's campaigns say bad weather won't slow down their efforts in Michigan. Tue, 30 Oct 2012 22:12:33 +0000 Jake Neher 26184 at http://wkar.org Presidential Campaigns In Michigan Not Slowing Down For Sandy Cochran, Oesterle Both Predict Victory In Tight 67th House Contest http://wkar.org/post/cochran-oesterle-both-predict-victory-tight-67th-house-contest-0 <p>There's growing speculation that a Democratic Lansing-area House district could elect a Republican next week. Tue, 30 Oct 2012 04:00:00 +0000 Mark Bashore 26121 at http://wkar.org Cochran, Oesterle Both Predict Victory In Tight 67th House Contest Bill Clinton Endorses MI's Proposal 3 http://wkar.org/post/bill-clinton-endorses-mis-proposal-3 <p>Former President Bill Clinton is encouraging Michigan voters to approve Proposal Three on the November ballot. Mon, 29 Oct 2012 20:57:14 +0000 Jake Neher 26116 at http://wkar.org Bill Clinton Endorses MI's Proposal 3 Gov. Snyder Kicks Off Statewide Tour Opposing Proposed Amendments http://wkar.org/post/gov-snyder-kicks-statewide-tour-opposing-proposed-amendments <p>Governor Rick Snyder sets off on a statewide tour Monday to talk about the November ballot. He’ll be urging people to vote “yes” on Proposal One and “no” on the other five ballot questions. Mon, 29 Oct 2012 13:30:51 +0000 Melissa Benmark 26078 at http://wkar.org Gov. Snyder Kicks Off Statewide Tour Opposing Proposed Amendments Hoekstra: Energy Tax Credits A Waste Of Money http://wkar.org/post/hoekstra-energy-tax-credits-waste-money <p>Republican U.S. Senate candidate Pete Hoekstra says federal alternative energy business subsidies are a waste of money that he would end if given the chance. The former congressman appeared Friday on a statewide public radio call-in show. Fri, 26 Oct 2012 22:17:03 +0000 Rick Pluta 26006 at http://wkar.org Hoekstra: Energy Tax Credits A Waste Of Money "Off the Record" Hosts MSU Board of Trustees Candidates http://wkar.org/post/record-hosts-msu-board-trustees-candidates <p> <strong>Off the Record with Tim Skubick</strong> presents a debate between two candidates for the Michigan State University Board of Trustees in the October 26 episode of the weekly capitol affairs program from WKAR. Fri, 26 Oct 2012 12:00:12 +0000 Jeanie Croope 25588 at http://wkar.org "Off the Record" Hosts MSU Board of Trustees Candidates Election 2012: Four Seek Seats as Local Judges http://wkar.org/post/election-2012-four-seek-seats-local-judges <p></p><p>There are two contested races this year for judgeships in Ingham County.&nbsp; In the 30<sup>th</sup> circuit court, attorneys Jim Jamo and Ken Ross are each vying for the bench.&nbsp; State representative Mark Meadows is challenging attorney Andrea Larkin to become a judge in 54B district court.</p><p>WKAR's Kevin Lavery and WKAR's Mark Bashore report. Thu, 25 Oct 2012 15:26:02 +0000 Kevin Lavery 25926 at http://wkar.org Election 2012: Four Seek Seats as Local Judges Snyder: Rejection of Prop 2 Would Not Be A Green Light For Right-To-Work http://wkar.org/post/snyder-rejection-prop-2-would-not-be-green-light-right-work <p>Governor Rick Snyder says Proposal Two should not be viewed as a referendum on whether Michigan becomes a right-to-work state that outlaws compulsory union membership.</p> Wed, 24 Oct 2012 22:35:23 +0000 Rick Pluta 25908 at http://wkar.org Snyder: Rejection of Prop 2 Would Not Be A Green Light For Right-To-Work In Final Debate: Some Sparks, But Also Points Of Agreement http://wkar.org/post/live-blog-obama-romney-square-final-debate Foreign policy proved to be a subject that kept the tone mostly substantive tonight in the third and final debate between President Obama and Republican presidential nominee Mitt Romney before the Nov. 6 election.<p>While the president was the more aggressive of the two, sometimes interrupting his opponent and several times forcefully challenging things that Romney said, for the most part the discussion was tough but civil. Mon, 22 Oct 2012 23:16:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 25792 at http://wkar.org In Final Debate: Some Sparks, But Also Points Of Agreement Today - WKAR Election 2012 | Mon. 10/22 http://wkar.org/post/today-wkar-election-2012-mon-1022 <p><br>The focus today week is on the third and final presidential debate between Republican candidate Mitt Romney and President Barack Obama.<br><br>Listen during drivetime to All Things Considered on <a href="http://mozart.wkar.msu.edu:80/wkar-fm-mp3">90.5 FM</a> for preview coverage, and join the <a href="http://wkar.org/post/debate-live-chat-npr-oct-22">live NPR chat</a> online tonight beginning at 8:30.<br><br>Then, catch the PBS NewsHour special live broadcast of the debate on WKAR-TV or <a href="http://wkar.org/post/video-pbs-newshour-election-2012">online tonight at 9</a>.<br> Mon, 22 Oct 2012 18:48:03 +0000 25767 at http://wkar.org Today - WKAR Election 2012 | Mon. 10/22 Michigan Calling: The Senate Race http://wkar.org/post/michigan-calling-senate-race <p>Last week, Michigan citizens had the opportunity to question U.S. Senator Debbie Stabenow (D) on "Michigan Calling," a radio special airing on 90.5 WKAR.</p><p>This week, her challenger, former Representative Pete Hoekstra (R), will respond to listener questions during a "Michigan Calling" special on Friday, October 26, at 9 a.m.</p> Mon, 22 Oct 2012 18:33:38 +0000 Jeanie Croope 25762 at http://wkar.org Michigan Calling: The Senate Race Debate Live Chat from NPR | Oct. 22 http://wkar.org/post/debate-live-chat-npr-oct-22 <p>Monday's presidential debate live chat from NPR.<br>Live chat hosted by NPR's Frank James. Open for comments throughout the day, live beginning at 8:30 p.m. Mon, 22 Oct 2012 18:19:35 +0000 Bill Richards 25761 at http://wkar.org Debate Live Chat from NPR | Oct. 22 VIDEO: PBS NewsHour Election 2012 http://wkar.org/post/video-pbs-newshour-election-2012 <p>Live streaming of PBS Newshour&nbsp; Election 2012 coverage.</p><p> Mon, 22 Oct 2012 17:00:00 +0000 WebTeam 24854 at http://wkar.org VIDEO: PBS NewsHour Election 2012 Off the Record | October 19, 2012 http://wkar.org/post/record-october-19-2012 <p>The panel discusses the State Senate's approval of Blue Cross bill and how the second debate played in Michigan.<br><br>The guests are Mark Brewer, state Democratic chair and Bobby Schostak, state Republican chair.<br><br>Bill Ballenger, Kyle Melinn and Chad Livengood join senior capitol correspondent Tim Skubick.</p><p>http://video.wkar.org/video/2293786521/<br><br><br><strong><a href="http://red-cedar.wkar.msu.edu:8080/otr/otr-121019.mp4">Play/Download MP4</a></strong> | <a href="/terms-use">Terms of Use</a></p> Thu, 18 Oct 2012 19:40:29 +0000 Tim Skubick 25610 at http://wkar.org Off the Record | October 19, 2012 ELECTION 2012: In 71st, Abed Challenges Shaugnessy in Re-Match of 2010 Race http://wkar.org/post/election-2012-71st-abed-challenges-shaugnessy-re-match-2010-race <p>In Eaton County, the state House election is a re-match of the 2010 vote. Deb Shaugnessy (R) defeated Theresa Abed (D) by more than 6,000 votes two years ago. This time around, Abed feels things have changed enough to give her some optimism.</p> Thu, 18 Oct 2012 04:00:00 +0000 Scott Pohl 25529 at http://wkar.org ELECTION 2012: In 71st, Abed Challenges Shaugnessy in Re-Match of 2010 Race Debate Live Chat from NPR | Oct. 16 http://wkar.org/post/debate-live-chat-npr-oct-16 <p>Tuesday's presidential debate live chat from NPR. Tue, 16 Oct 2012 13:32:58 +0000 Bill Richards 25450 at http://wkar.org Debate Live Chat from NPR | Oct. 16